A certain magic

Standard

Remember that song Rio by Duran Duran (one of my favorite 80s bands; I think I’ve done vids to at least three of their songs)? At one point, the lyrics say, “You make me feel alive, alive, alive!” I can say the same is true about Richard’s effect on me. He makes me feel alive.

Through Richard I see things through different eyes,  hear through different ears, as I take a journey with his characters. I get the opportunity to walk in someone else’s shoes. I cheer his characters on, I fear for them and I weep for them and I want to tell them, “No, don’t do that!”

It tears me up so much when one of RA’s characters meets a terrible fate (needless to say, Guy, Lucas and Porter led to a great deal of grief).

It seems as I am losing someone I know and it’s painful.  I have invested not only my time, but my intellect, my heart and my soul into those performances, which seem so real to me.

Richard has great talent, there is not doubt about it. And he’s worked hard to hone his craft, to put all that he was taught in his drama classes to good use. Method acting definitely works for him. He builds a history for his characters (which the scriptwriters occasionally throw major curveballs into) and I believe in each one, in their reality.

But I think Richard has something else, something almost–indefinable.  Call it that divine spark. It’s the difference between a person who is technically proficient in the arts and someone who brings something extra to a performance, who makes the music, the dance, the painting, the story come to life so that it touches us in an unforgettable way.  He uses every fiber of his physical being–face, body and voice–to craft his characters.

There are actors who are primarily “celebrities,” who more or less play themselves over and over again and are known more for what they wear and who they are dating.

Richard is a true artist.  He also happens to be exceptionally beautiful and charismatic with a mystique about him that continues to intrigue. And he’s such a sweetheart, it seems, this grounded, down-to-earth regular guy who is anything but “average.”

I think he’s simply got a certain magic.  And many of us have fallen under his beautiful and benign spell.

 

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 25 years and I live here in a country home we currently share with one cat, three dogs and four lively foster puppies (I am crazy about critters). My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, started in April 2013 and growing every day. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes are eclectic.

24 responses »

  1. That was beautifully stated. He does have that extra something that makes his performances memorable! I’m glad that he didn’t become famous before he’d honed his talents. If he would have become famous for being cute, etc. like so many actors, he might have not been the wonderfully skilled and nuanced actor he is today.

  2. This is perfect Angie!! There definitely is something incredibly unique about him – one of a kind! To my mind no other actor begins to compare to him nor does any other actor have the same effect on me! ;) Magic indeed!!

  3. The first image is so beautiful. Lucas is at his sensitive best here, in the discussion with the Sanskrit scholar (compare Ros’s attitude!), and before that he was sweet to poor Tariq, still reeling from causing the death of the Hindu terrorist! And don’t get me started on the Porter muscles beneath that royal blue sweater ;-)!

    • Actually, Gandalf’s voice is not that bad in the French version,but Thorin’s..I agree,it’s horrible, not even remotely similar to RA’s own voice (they did not get it right in the German or Italian versions either). I’m stunned because I remember reading that before Titanic came out, voice samples of the possible candidates (Hungarian actors) to dub the stars were sent to the production team and they chose the ones that were closest to the voices of di Caprio and Winslet etc (I still thought the end result was awful but that’s another matter). Don’t they do that anymore?
      I will not watch the Hungarian version that’s for dead sure.

      • The voices used for the early trailers are usually not the same voices as used for the movie, so there is hope the final version will be more suitable. This is definetely not an excerpt from the finish dubbed movie, as there is no movie to work with right now. It may also be that PJ has some say in the choice of voices, I read he did choose the German Aragorn personally.

  4. I don’t know why they dub it into any language, don’t they see how much it takes away from the magic of the original, the beauty of the English text? I guess people are way too lazy to read subtitles these days. Sad, really.

    • 99% of the audience would regard it as an impertinence if they were forced to listen to a language they don’t understand and read subtitles when watching a major movie. The only movies that don’t get dubbed are very small ones from exotic counties only shown in a few art-house cinemas. You only get original versions in cities like Hamburg or Berlin (or some university towns) anyway. I personally don’t expect the voices to sound like the original ones – why would I, I don’t know them, so I won’t find it odd that they are different or find them lacking. I only expect the dubbed version to sound like natural speech, not forced or artificial, so that I’m not constantly reminded that I watch a dubbed version.

      • Ok I understand you completely BUT did you notice that Angie’s blog is a place for RA admirers and anglophiles ! Sorry but the dubbing in the German trailer sounds very bad. Excuse my poor english but I’m not English speaker.

      • Yes, I suppose we’re part of the 1 % here! :) You may not miss the original voices when you don’t know the original voices but once you DO know them, an unsuitable dubbing voice can put you off the whole movie and ruin it entirely. And I do believe that the general public in whichever country would benefit greatly from reading more – even from reading the subtitles of a movie. :) But that’s just my opinion.

        • Exactly, Judit. If you do know what you’re missing, you definitely miss it and it can foul up your entire experience as an audience member. I am a strong advocate for reading–whether it’s graphic novels, subtitles or something else–just getting people to read more is important. And as a lefty, I am used to being in the minority so I might as well be in the one percent. :D

Leave a Reply

