Decisions, decisions. My brain is tired.

Standard

In Zombie Mode at the moment. I spent the morning and early part of the afternoon visiting travel sites online and trying to find the best deal for a hotel and flight for Comic-Con in San Diego. No sleep last night and everything started jumbling together at a certain point, if you know what I mean. Passed out somewhere around 2 p.m. and woke up four hours later.  That was half-hour ago and I still don’t feel “all awake yet” so bear with me, Gentle Reader.  I am trying to sort out things in my muzzy head.

While my husband thinks I’m cute when I’m drowsy, I know I’m not nearly as adorable as Sleepy-Eyed Lucas.

I have several flight options–some better than others–and I am not too worrited about that.  The sticking point is there doesn’t appear to be a room to be had for July 11-July 16 at a hotel that is on the Comic-Con Shuttle route and within my budget. Benny found a deal with Hotels.com for a place about 10 miles away from the San Diego Convention Center that would save close to $500 off normal hotel rates.

Now I need to know how much a twice-daily cab ride from this Best Western Plus Otay Valley Hotel to SDCC and to and from the airport will cost.  Will it eat up what I’d save? Will my replacement PayPal debit card arrive in time for me to get this deal?  Should Benny go ahead and transfer the funds that have been donated thus far to our bank account, which would take three or four business days? Will that be too late to buy a ticket and make a deposit on the hotel?

Decisions,, decisions.  I know I can get in. But  will I ever really get there?  I feel as if the prize is just beyond my reach. Are my nerves getting to me? Would I benefit from a some restful, restorative sleep? As the folks in South Dakota used to say, “You betcha.”

I feel just a bit like this guy. I wonder if he also really needed a good night’s sleep?

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 25 years and I live here in a country home we currently share with one cat, three dogs and four lively foster puppies (I am crazy about critters). My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, started in April 2013 and growing every day. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes are eclectic.

7 responses »

  1. Sleep that “knits up the ravelled sleeve of care” — sounds exactly what you need right now. Look at sleepy Lucas; he’s telling you that sleep is good, give in and rest, he’ll be waiting. And take your top-secret vitamin. Can’t jeopardize the mission, you know.

    I know that the travel hunt is a nightmare, but persevere. It will work. We just don’t have the details yet.

  2. Oh my, that hotel is in Chula Vista. Ten miles may not sound like a lot but from downtown to there it is horrible traffic in the morning and from 3-6 or 7 in the afternoon/evening. If you can find something even on the San DIego Trolley route, the trolley stops right across the street from the convention center. If you use the trolley, plan on finding out what a sardine feels like, the closer you get to the convention center. :)

    Here is a route map for the trolley: http://www.sdmts.com/trolley/Trolley.asp

    I Googled this taxi fare finder but cannot vouch for its accuracy: http://www.taxifarefinder.com/main.php?city=SD&from=San+Diego+Convention+Center&to=Chula+Vista%2C+CA
    Maybe the taxi would be worth it? Hugs to you, you have so much to decide. Maybe Sir Guy could give you a scalp massage, help you relax?

    • That’s what I was afraid of re the traffic. I may live in the boonies, but I’ve been to the big cities, too. ;) Benny mentioned something about the trolley earlier but I was too brain dead to take much in. I mean, the price for this hotel is great compared to some of the other places, but–I don’t know. That’s the sticking point. The amount for the plane ticket is more than covered. It’s finding a convenient and affordable hotel I can afford. I’ve been on the Tube and Metro during peak times so I am familiar with the sardine syndrome. ;) If I can just get some sleep I will tackle it all again tomorrow. Between the lack of sleep and my FMS, the difficulty concentrating, focusing, the confusion and pain are all much too high right now. Thanks for the info, much appreciated.

      • Sleep sounds like an excellent plan. I hope you can get some rest. At least you have this hotel as a starting point. And morning traffic shouldn’t be such a problem on Saturday, if that is indeed when The Hobbit panel will be scheduled. Sleep now, sleeeeeep! Tomorrow is another day. :)

Leave a Reply

