There’s a reason I am not around a lot lately . . .

Standard

PicMonkey Collagebehindscenes

 

After a long drought, Pecan Ridge is very busy right now. This week our arts council’s annual musical fundraiser takes place Thursday through Saturday. Last night was the dress rehearsal, but we’ve been going to rehearsals for weeks now. I am putting together a behind-the-scenes featurette to add to the footage we will shoot tonight at the second dress rehearsal and Benny will edit tomorrow (he’s taking a vacation day).

BeFunkpoppy2.jpg

I did five on-camera interviews with key people tied to production, and did some acting hamming it up for a pre-show video that will be displayed on the big screen with 70’s music clips and our sponsors’ names. One of my two alter egos, Poppy Moonchild, is depicted above.  Below is disco diva Cassandra Devereaux (the theme is “The Magic of the 70s” so we have a mixture of hippy-dippy stuff and protest songs with disco hits).

I’ve been shooting and editing photos and video and I love it, I really do, but I am tired with “miles to go before I sleep,” and I ache in assorted and sundry places. Tomorrow is my only day off this week (in the sense I won’t be going to town) but I will be working here at home. Benny and Harry are also shooting our alma mater’s beauty pageant and the elementary school’s musical “Peter Pan” this week while I focus on selling DVDs at the show and assisting behind the scenes.

 

BeFunky_bwcassandra.jpg

PicMonkey Collagemagictodo

Now, we are a little town of approximately 8,000 people in a largely rural south Alabama county–but I have to say we have some phenomenally talented folks who can sing, dance, and sew beautiful costumes (one lady does all three). So proud of them and all their hard work! The monies raised through sponsorships and ticket sales for the show will go to pay the artistic fees for professional productions such as touring Broadway musicals, concerts and plays–the same productions you normally have to travel to a much larger city to see. Yeah, I am proud–can you tell? 😀

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

BeFunky_signspoter.jpg

BeFunky_jeremiahpptr.jpg

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

BeFunky_grandejete.jpg
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

3 responses »

  1. Does sound like you’re incredibly busy, but also sounds like it’s all good. Hey, we miss you but you gotta do what you gotta do! We’ll be here when you get back.

  2. You should be proud! For a town of 8,000 people, you have more going on than places with five times that or more. Clearly, Greenville is a hotbed of talent that ought to put you on the map. I’ve missed you, but I am so glad PRP is taking off like this. Now, if only there were a couple of weddings booked for June…

Leave a comment