FanstRAvaganza 3 Day 5: (Freeform) What are your dream RA audiobooks? With Poll

Standard

So many books, such a wonderful, rich, deep, marvelously expressive voice. So hard to choose which ones you’d would most like to have Richard record as an audiobook . . . but here are some suggestions from fellow bloggers and readers for books they would like to see (or should I say, hear) receiving Mr. Honey Tongue’s treatment. Vote for your top picks in our poll that will be up for one week and check out some comments on why these and other books were chosen. Please feel free to share your own choices that aren’t on this list. Enjoy “browsing” through the books!

Sorry, I know there are some goofs in the poll in spellings but it won’t allow me to go in and change anything in the poll without starting all over again and this was the third time I did this . . . let’s say I haven’t been my best lately in terms of getting restorative sleep. Anyway, the names of authors are correct in the body copy here and on the book covers. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the heads up, KG. Don’t forget to vote!
Not too surprisingly The Hobbit and North & South appeared on more than one wish list. Another novel that made it to multiple lists was The Sunne in Splendour. This Sharon Kay Penman book chronicles the life of Richard III, the focus of RA’s dream project and a thread here for F3.
“I’m desperate for him to play Richard III and not the Shakespeare/Tudor travesty version!,” says Vicki.
“But if that can’t happen, his narration of the book would be the next best thing.”

Richard’s narration of Bernard Cornwell’s Lords of the North has some readers wanting more from the RA/BC team.
“I would love Death of Kings because Richard has already done Uthred and he was fab,” says Debbie.
Carla wants to hear Cornwell’s Excalibur: A Story of Arthur. Carla’s also pining for Austen’s Emma and Hardy’s Far from the Madding Crowd. “Historical and romantic novels” are what she prefers to hear Mr. A do.

Debbie would like to hear Mr. A’s golden tongue wrap around Richard Llewellyn‘s 1939 bestseller How Green Was My Valley.
“Can you just imagine That Voice reading that book?” she says with a sigh.

Two classic novels on Vicki’s wish list includes Tolstoy’s War & Peace and Lawrence’s Lady Chatterley’s Lover.

“I have War & Peace sitting on my shelf and I confess I have never gotten more than a few chapters in before giving up. I think Richard might just be the incentive I need to get to the end! It’s a very long book–and I would want it unabridged–and we would get the chocolate velvet voice treat for longer. Plus, I am sure he’d need to do more Lucas-esque Russian words/accents.”

As for the Lawrence book–Vicki says she doesn’t think that one needs any explanation.

Amanda would love for RA to continue his Heyer tradition and read Sprig Muslin. “It’s a great story, there’s a wide range of male and female characters of all ages–and on a shallow note, there is a character named Amanda.” She also pines for John Milton’s “breathtakingly beautiful poetry,” Paradise Lost  and any of Lisa Kleypas’s Hathaway series, particularly Mine ‘Til Midnight.

Laurie admits she has a hard time narrowing down her choices. “I would love to hear him read Diana Gabaldon‘s Outlander series and the Thomas Pitt and William Monk mystery novels by Anne Perry. All these books have wonderful stories and rich characters . . . I could go on and on.”

Judit is looking for laughs with one of her dream audiobooks: Leave it to Psmith by PG Wodehouse. “Richard would be absolutely hilarious as Lord Emsworth, Freddie Threepwood and, of course, Psmith.” She would also like to hear him take on a contemporary work, Nick Hornsby’s About a Boy, a novel she describes as “funny, moving and one of my all-time favourites.” Iz4blue is in a classic mood with her choice of Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence.

Nadia would love to hear Richard narrating Alexander Dumas’s The Count of Monte Cristo. “It’s an amazing story of betrayal and revenge . . . complex, epic, heartbreaking, sorrowful. Richard would make a wonderful Comte de Monte Cristo–romantic, handsome, mysterious. At more than 1300 pages, sweet Richard’s mouth would be dry!” (There definitely seemed to be a trend towards unabridged books–and lengthy ones.)

So, would  you put some of these titles on your own audio book wish lists? Or do you have some entirely different reads in mind for RA? Do tell!

If you missed yesterday’s posts in the free form thread, visit Gratiana at  http://gratianads90@wordpress.com ,   Jas Rangoon at http://memythoughtsandwhoknows@wordpress.com   and Itsjsforme at http://doIhaveablog@wordpress.com.  Today, head over to JT’s Blog at http://mrjthornton@blogspot.com  and to Agzy at http://iwanttobeapinup@wordpress.com  Tomorrow’s freeform tagteamers will be Fabo at http://whiterosewritings@blogspot.com, Cat Winchester at http://cswinchester@blogspot.com and Gratiana at http://gratianads90@wordpress.com.

Check out all these fab posts! Hope you are having a fantRAstic time at FanstRAvaganza.

And please considering supporting worthwhile charities, including animal welfare groups in your area. Adopt a shelter pet, donate food and supplies to your local shelter, volunteer your time.  Please have your pets spayed and neutered in order for them to lead happier, healthier lives and to help reduce the pet over-population problem.

35 responses »

  1. My dear Angie,

    There are a couple of mistakes in the names of authors in your poll:

    Bernard CORNWELL

    Elizabeth GASKELL

    Best wishes,

    Kathryn

    I wanted to vote for 5 readings (I’m just greedy!!) but I settled on:

    other “Lords of the North” books

    “North & South”

    “The Sunne in Splendour”

    If I could, I would have also chosen “Excalibur” and “Sprig Muslin”!!!!

    • thanks, Kathryn, you will see I added a note. I have to get in the shower and wash my hair before I topple over. It’s all really catching up with me. I decided three would be a nice, round number but I know it is hard. πŸ˜‰ We’d probably want him to narrate every book ever written if we had our way! πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: F3, Day Five! One voice to thrill them all, and Armitage to bind them! « Me + Richard Armitage

  3. Since I adore Richard’s Uthred of Lord of the North, I had to choose the remaining books of Cornwell’s Saxon Chronicles, unabridged of course, and there are five of them, so plenty to listen to! Sunne in Splendour, because it’s a subject close to his heart, and I enjoyed the book. Thirdly, I voted other, because I would like more of Georgette Heyer, but there are books I would rather hear than Sprig Muslin, such as Devil’s Cub.
    I’m reading the Arthur trilogy of which Excalibur is one and really enjoying it, so would like to have voted for that too!

    • We’d keep that man busy 24/7 with all our dream projects, wouldn’t we? But no, he needs his rest. And we all know how pretty he looks when he’s sleeping . . . *sigh*

  4. Cornwell’s Saxon Chronicles is my choice, hands down! I left The Lords of the North for last, as I didn’t expect to like it much, apart from the obvious reason πŸ˜‰
    What can I say! During the 12 hours I laughed, I cried, cringed and giggled. Cornwell and RA is a perfect combination!

  5. I’ve been enjoying a number of excellent audio narrations lately. I’d love to hear RA narrate Sunne in Splendour. Can I be greedy and vote for a few? If so, North and South would have to come second, and of course, The Hobbit. (Although it might be hard to equal Rob Inglis’ fabulous narration).

    • Mulubinba,

      You can share as many choices as you’d like. πŸ™‚ I figured many people would want to hear him read North and South and The Hobbitand with his Richard III dream project, The Sunne in Splendour seemed a good choice, too.

  6. Vicki, I read “War and Peace” for my world literature course at University (you could choose between Anna Karenina and War and Peace and I was the only one who picked W&P…) and I have to say it was hard, hard work… Basically, there is no plot in the last 300 pages or so, it is a seemingly endless philosophical dissertation, and it is very, VERY dry. At least, it was for me. As good as Richard is, I doubt even he could make it any more enjoyable. For me, that is one book where I’d definitely prefer an abridged version!

  7. I have to agree with Mulubinba about Rob Inglis’ narration of “The Hobbit” – it’s wonderful. I’m almost halfway through my 7th listen at the moment! As much as I love listening to Richard read, I don’t know that he could do a better job than Rob Inglis. I’ve downloaded Rob’s narration of the 1st book of LOTR from YouTube and will transfer it onto CD tomorrow.

    What about “Crime and Punishment”? Richard has mentioned it a couple of times. I attempted to read it recently but only managed a few chapters as I am so enamoured of audiobooks that actually reading 600 pages of something I wasn’t excited about seemed a little daunting. However, I know I could easily manage to listen to a recording of “Crime and Punishment” if Richard was the narrator!

  8. Snap! I was just about to suggest Crime and Punishment a very long book I believe RA once said he would like to play the central character but ‘it has been done to death’ is this really the case I vaugely remember John Simm but nothing else.

  9. If I were going to suggest a Russian novel, I would suggest something like Brothers Karamazov (not a favorite of mine, but lots of great characters). I’d also, on the line of contemporary novels, suggest David Mitchell’s Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet.

  10. Brothers Karamazov too was really hard work for me, I preferred Crime and Punishment. These long classic Russian novels are all fairly heavy reads, they’re very slow moving, requiring a lot of patience from the reader. I used to enjoy the short stories by Chekhov, Gogol, even Tolstoy much more. If I had to suggest a Russian novel for Richard it would be Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov.

    • It does constitute a fourth choice. And I think we’ve discussed before how much I also like William Monk as a potential character (audio book and/or film role) for Richard. The role is practically tailor-made for him.

  11. I Would vote for more of the Saxon Stories novels by Bernard Cornwell. How about Possession by A.S. Byatt, he could easily navigate between modern times and the Victorian age, or Madame Bovary by Flaubert.

    Maybe a collection of love poems as well, like 100 Love Sonnets by Pablo Neruda or Shakespeare’s Sonnets.

    Great poll and great choices also.

    • I agree, Possession by A.S. Byatt would be fantastic! I also voted for The Count of Monte Cristo, the unabridged version in a good translation (Penguin published a decent one). There’s a wealth of characters and huge dramatic scope. Yet it is so long, Richard would have to do it over time, perhaps when he has a month or two between location shoots. Dumas first published it as a serial, and it’s got everything: love, revenge, deception, drugs, vampires, (implied) sex, even a bit of slash.
      I’d love Richard to read The Thirteen Clocks by James Thurber. It’s full of alliteration and word play, a delicious fable to read aloud, for children of all ages. Why not some other children’s or young adult books? I know, I’m greedy.

      • Oh, I did love reading Thurber in my lit classes. And you know me and my love of alliteration. Thanks for reminding me of his wonderful work. Knowing how fantastic he was doing the Cbeebies stories, I know he would be great doing kid’s stories, too. Actually, I’d like to see him read The Velveteen Rabbit. πŸ˜€

    • Thank you to everyone who has voted and/or commented, much appreciated! It was fun seeing which books the ladies that assisted me picked and now, to see the suggestions of everyone else. πŸ˜€ I am still not feeling great but I HAVE to get better as I am going out to eat and do some much-needed shopping tomorrow night (since the car accident, I haven’t exactly been a social butterfly, so I am eager to get out). I will respond to everyone if this headache lifts. Thanks again. πŸ˜€

      • Yes Angie. North and South was at the top of my list. War and Peace too. I would have mentionned an other great russian novel “And quiet flows the Don” by Mikhail Sholokhov.
        It presents the tragic history of the Don Cossaks and their struggle against the Reds during the civil war. It has been compared to War and Peace.This book is closed to my heart because my father was a Don Cossack.At this moment my sister is making the ebook because it doesn’t exist a Kindle edition.

Leave a Reply

