There’s a glorious big cat on the prowl . . . his name is Richard Armitage

Standard

~Cats are glorious creatures, who must on no accounts be underestimated . . . their eyes are fathomless depths~ Lesley Anne Ivory

~Some animals are secretive; some are shy. A cat is private~Leonard Michaels

~The cat has been described as the most perfect animal, the acme of muscular perfection and the supreme example in the animal kingdom of the coordination of mind and muscle~Roseanne Ambrose Brown

~Which is more beautiful, feline movement or feline stillness?~Elizabeth Hamilton

 

 

 

 
~Everything that a cat is or does physically is to me beautiful, lovely, stimulating, soothing, attractive and an enchantment~Paul Gallico, from “An Honourable Cat

18 responses »

  1. I am not a cat person (sorry! *ducks* ) although I do enjoy the funny photos, but I really like the analogy here of the feline species and Richard. It’s great, angie! I especially like, with apologies for paraphrasing Gallico: “Everything that Richard is or does physically is to me beautiful, lovely, stimulating, soothing, attractive and an enchantment.”
    His eyes are fathomless depths too. *sigh*

    • thanks, Mezz (you just haven’t met the right cat yet ;)) I remember thinking that Guy was like a big black cat slinking down those castle corridors, and Lucas really could move with a cat-like stealth and grace. Portah, too. (John Standring, on the other hand, would be a big ol’ shaggy English sheepdog, I am thinking. πŸ˜‰ )

      I chose to call the highwayman character in my novel that is patterned after Guy “Panther” as his nickname, because panthers are described as powerful, intelligent, elusive and aggressive (and of course, he dresses in black from head to toe for his nocturnal activities). Also, there is a certain untamed quality to cats–who have only been domesticated for 5,000 vs. 50,000 years for dogs. And we can see hints of that in some of Richard’s performances.
      The fact he was once in Cats just seems to tie it all together. And my word, the way he moved . . . I get tingles down my spine just thinking about him dancing. The cat quotes–yes, I found Gallico’s quote (I loved his books, too) especially apt. *sigh*

  2. I am a cat person! Maybe that’s another reason why I’m so attracted to Richard;D He has so many catlike qualities!! I love his moves; so strong, graceful and sexy!!! He could slink on over to my house any day:D

  3. I’m definitely a cat person too! I love all types of felines, big cats, small cats… My favourite tennis player, Roger Federer moves around the court with the elegance, agility and grace of a panther..He’s the RA of the tennis world!And his Zodiac sign is Leo too. πŸ™‚

    • My favorite exhibit at the Omaha Zoo was their big cat exhibit. They had some rare snow leopards there and Mama Snow gave birth to several babies. You could visit the nursery and watch them playing. They were SOOOO cute.

      • Yes, big cat babies are so cute and cuddly! This reminds me, I should get hold of the Elsa the Lioness documentary narrated by Richard- haven’t got round to that one yet! πŸ™‚

  4. Yes the animal he always makes me think of is a cat. Whether a gentle and loving pet or an untamed, beautiful but potentially deadly panther.

    He’s got the feline grace and the desire for privacy too.

    • Yes, he’s a gorgeous, graceful, lithe feline. And I always imagine cats as philosophers of the animal world, very contemplative. I can see Richard in that respect, too.

Leave a Reply

