My other favorite hottie dwarf . . . and GOT.

Standard

The "dreamy" Jon Snow of GOT.

I am currently watching Game of ThronesI have not read George R.R. Martin‘s books, and so at times I confess I feel slightly overwhelmed by the myriad of characters in this alternate world. I find myself re-watching the episodes just to try to keep it all sorted out.

But I also watch for the strong performances within the show. Lots of good actors, lots of attractive actors.  Handsome young Kit Harington, who plays Jon Snow, has a strong fan ollowing.

And then there’s Nikolaj Coster-Waldau who plays the Kingslayer, Jaime Lannister, a bad guy who is quite the looker.  I have a certain fondness for bad boys who know how to smoulder.

The villianous but foxy Jaime Lannister.

But my personal favorite is a small actor with a big talent, Peter Dinklage, who plays Tyrion Lannister, Jaime’s brother.  Tyrion may be a dwarf often referred to in a derisive manner as “the imp,” but he’s quick-witted and witty and he knows how to play the game. He’s my favorite character played by one of my favorite actors.

Peter Dinklage as the quick-witted "imp" Tyrion Lannister.

GOT was not my introduction to Dinklage as an actor. I  discovered Peter in a wonderful film called The Station Agent which I highly recommend to all.  Later he had me laughing aloud as the would-be blackmailer and former lover of the dearly departed in both the UK and US versions of Death at a Funeral.   In real life he seems like a cool guy, with a certain dry sense of humor not unlike Tyrion’s.

Peter Dinklage: my second most-favorite hottie dwarf.  My first is, of course, the fellow below:

Dinklage with his Best Actor Emmy for Game of Thrones.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

15 responses »

  1. I haven’t read or seen Game of Thrones, but have recently added it to my Quickflix queue. It’s rated R18+ here, so I gather it’s quite violent, but I’m used to watching icky bits with my eyes half closed!
    I enjoyed Peter Dinklage’s performance in Death at a Funeral (UK version)so will be interested to see him in GoT.
    BTW Angie, I started reading Rhett Butler’s People by Donald McCaig, but am having trouble getting into it, even though it is setting up Rhett’s background very well. I rather think it has something to do with coming off the back of nine Bernard Cornwell books, having just finished the Arthur trilogy, and being right into his writing style. 🙂

  2. I have never watched GoT, but my nephews are crazy about it. I don’t know why, it just doesn’t appeal to me. Btw, I noticed a strange thing. I’ve been watching The Tudors and there are lots of good looking actors in it (Henry Cavill is quite beautiful) and yet, they just leave me cold! Could it be down to the Armitage Effect I wonder?

      • For some reason I find myself immune to anybody else’s (meaning: any other actor’s)charms these days.:) JRM- good actor, but for me he’s weird looking. A friend of mine said he looks a bit like an alien! 🙂

        • I’ve always thought he looked sort of pervy–JRM, that is. Maybe it was seeing him in Velvet Goldmine LOL I could never buy him as Henry. I guess because he looked nothing whatsoever like the real Henry.

          • Have never seen Velvet Goldmine, so that didn’t affect me..:) Yes, JRM looks nothing like the real Henry. I read that the producers of the show wanted a Henry who’d comply (not sure it’s the right word?) with “modern perceptions of male beauty”. They didn’t think a more realistic Henry would appeal to wide audiences. I thought he did a good job with the role. Btw, Charles Brandon did not look remotely like Henry Cavill either… 🙂 But I suppose not a lot of people knew of him (myself included), whereas Henry VIII’s portraits are so well known and almost iconic, it’s understandable that a lot of viewers were bothered by the huge physical difference between the portraits of the King and the actor who played him.

            • The Tudors was the first time I had seen Henry Cavill in anything and I enjoyed his work, he certainly is gorgeous, but he doesn’t affect me like Richard affects me. No one does!!
              I have always been keen to watch anything that involves the Tudors, and can remember the 1972 BBC Six Wives of Henry VIII, starring Keith Michel, who really did look like the original Henry.

              • And there was a film about Henry VIII starring Ray Winstone as well, I haven’t seen it but read some good reviews. Winstone has a physical resemblance to the original Henry VIII too. Btw, speaking of that era they there wasn’t a lot of variety as far as first names were concerned, at one time I counted 4 Thomases running around at court: More, Cromwell, Boleyn, Cranmer (although Cranmer may have arrived after More was executed, not sure..). Or maybe it was just a coincidence. 🙂

              • Didn’t Henry marry two Annes and three Catherines (although spelled differently)? Must have had a shortage of women’s names, too.

              • Mezz, it was the BBC production featuring Keith Michel as Henry that really introduced me to all of those historical characters and Keith was a very, very convincing Henry both as a handsome, fit, active young man and later as the overweight monarch we recall from his portraits. I think that performance with such a good match in appearance, made such an indelible mark that I compared JRM’s performance to it and found it wanting.

              • Yes, and Brandon’s wife was called Catherine too! Seems like in Tudor times you were either called Catherine, Anne, Elizabeth, or Mary if you were a lady! I may have seen the 1972 BBC version but I can’t remember it..Maybe that’s why I can put up with JRM as Henry. Plus I like a lot of the other actors in the cast. And the costumes were absolutely divine. Just breathtaking.

              • Judit, for me that’s one of the joys of watching period drama, especially of the Tudor age, the costumes are so sumptuous.

              • I love the period costumes, too. I am enjoying The Borgias for the gorgeous costumes and sets. Holliday Grainger looks like a Botticelli angel with her flowing blonde locks and those gorgeous gowns.

  3. I didn’t mean to say I don’t know why my nephews are crazy about it, I meant I don’t know the reason why it doesn’t appeal to ME.Sorry! 🙂

    • Understood. 😀 TBH, I didn’t really know that I would care for it. I didn’t know much of anything about it beforehand other than it was in the fantasy genre, which is not always my cup of tea. But I started watching it last season and just found myself drawn into the story. The eps go by so fast. And I like a lot of the actors, as I said.

Leave a Reply

