Yet another Hobbity must-have for me.

Standard

 

Just when I thought I’d stopped buying anything Hobbit-related, Cathy at Twitter alerted me to the latest book offered by Weta. It won’t release til next spring, but you can now pre-order it at Amazon. Which I just did. *sigh* Resistance is futile . . . and look at the pretty blue cover on this one, with Thorin’s lovely mug on it, too!

 

Courtesy of Weta

Courtesy of Weta

Here’s what the folks at Weta have to say about it:

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Chronicles, Creatures & Characters

“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Chronicles, Creatures & Characters explores the amazing cast of heroes and villains, beasts and beings that populate Middle-earth in the first chapter of Peter Jackson’s film adaptations of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. Richly illustrated with behind-the-scenes photographs, digital renders and film stills, this comprehensive book goes species by species, character by character, through the film’s huge ensemble of characters and bustling menagerie of creatures, both physical and digital, telling the stories of how each came to be realized for the film.

In first-hand quotes from the actors, make-up artists, digital effects artists, dialect coaches, prosthetics technicians, movement coach and many other crew, the stories of the production unfold, processes are described and insights into characters shared.

As a bonus feature, unique to this book, there is a special fold-out Character Size Chart, which compares all the major creatures and characters of the film, from Radagast’s hedgehog friend to the towering Stone Giants!

Compiled by Weta Workshop designer Daniel Falconer, and featuring a wealth of stunning imagery, this book puts the reader face to face with the Dwarf heroes of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, the dark denizens of Middle-earth, such as Orcs, Goblins, Trolls and Wargs, and of course, the hobbit himself, Bilbo Baggins.”

 

I already own the wonderful first book in this series, Chronicles: Art & Design, now available through Amazon and carrying a well-deserved five-star rating. I have read more of it since seeing the film, and it makes me want to see the film again (as if I didn’t want to already) to take closer note of some of the details mapped out in the volume.  I never feel guilty about investing in books. Like Richard, they are the gift that keeping on giving.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

10 responses »

Leave a Reply

