Bakin’ Cookies & Cookin’ Up Vids: Mmm-mmm good.

Standard

Last night I baked a batch of fruitcake cookies. First dozen over-browned in spite of my setting timer at lowest suggested time. Ah, well, I can attest they still taste fine. I just won’t be taking them with us tomorrow to my sister’s house in Birmingham.  For special occasions, they need to look pretty AND taste good.

Tonight I made a new Christmas vid. Lots of festive RA and his ChaRActers.  Too late to even considering uploading it; maybe I will do that in Birmingham borrowing my sister’s wi-fi.  Anyway, here’s a little taste of what’s in it.

4C068A19-E7ED-4DC9-85EB-506EB7BCF1B3sssss

Not sure how much time I will have to post anything tomorrow as I bustle about getting ready to hit the road. We will be back Sunday evening. Just a quick trip to celebrate Christmas with my side of the family. MIddle Sis is already up there with her hubby. Here’s the menu for the weekend my sister emailed to me. I admit I got a bit hungry after reading it.

Friday night supper

Asian Chicken Soup and /or Steak Chili

Chicken salad croissants and grilled cheese

Apple cake

 

Saturday Brunch

Nephew’s Famous French Toast( it has to go some to beat Aunt S) with real maple syrup and bacon

Niece H’s sausage crescent roll casserole

Hot fruit compote

 

Appetizer/snacks

Humus with pita chips and veggies

Pigs in the blanket

Sausage with cheese in won ton wraps( recipe from Chef Sh)

 

Afternoon meal-time to be determined by group

 

Niece Sh’s wonderful pork tenderloin

Green bean bundles-these are great-when we use to have covered dish lunches at work, one wife always sent these by request. Yum!

Lima beans or as we all called then butter beans

Sweet potatoes     5 cup fruit salad

Sister Schubert rolls-one of these days, I will make Mama’s but not this time, sadly.

 

Dessert

Buttermilk Chocolate Cake

Cupcakes from Nashville Bakery-the Best!

Turtles by S

(add to this Fedoralady’s Fruitcake Cookies and Mr. FL’s Splendid Sausage Balls)

Thumper has been spending lots of time beneath the Christmas tree. She doesn’t bother anything; just sniffs a bit, studies the lights and chills. Pretty adorable. I tried to get a photo of her; then my card reader died. Hopefully the new one will arrive Monday.  Here’s some other art I did from the Homey, Homely Christmas Tree.

This is Benny’s favorite.

BeFunky_PC205066xmastree

But I do like my Blue Santa, too.

BeFunky_Cyanotype_6santaddd

And this is one of my favorite ornaments. A sweet little angel.

BeFunky_PC205080angel

Catch up with y’all when I can. Have a wonderful weekend!

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

3 responses »

  1. Lovely Christmas photos! It sounds like you’ll be eating well with all those Southern-style treats. Have a wonderful time! I look forward to the vid when you get a chance to upload.

    I’m baking today, and while I watch the tempermental oven, I’ll make some chicken salad with almonds and scallions to fill half baguettes, some “Welsh rabbit”, and herbed spinach soup — just a little treat to share with friends. We just might get a white Christmas — it’s cold enough, but it’s sunny and clear today. (Santa Guy can expect some shortbread “petticoat tails” to go with the mulled wine. ; ) )

Leave a Reply

