It’s Christmas Time Once Again . . .

Standard

It’s now past 12 here in Lower Alabama and Christmas morning has officially arrived. Alabama was the first state in the U.S. to make Christmas an official holiday. We have always loved our celebrations here–families gathering to feast from sideboards groaning from the number of dishes upon them, houses decked out festively, people decked out just as festively in their Christmas ties and appliqued cardigans. We like to do it up right!

Small town Christmas parades, folks getting out at night just to drive around and enjoy all those pretty lights . . . church pageants with children sporting tinsel halos and cardboard wings, bathrobes and yarn beards. Even if they fluff their lines, it doesn’t matter. They delight us.

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a blessed, happy, healthy, inspiring year to come. And Happy Hobbit-viewing to our friends Down Under as TH arrives in theatres for Boxing Day!

BeFunky_Image2-2-(2)angie

A1ED008B-4C2A-4E87-8513-B3553A4FB5BD

BeFunky_loonapix_13528821972407766668

loonapix_135288251127397322

cbeebies2_027snowman

Video6-07thorin

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

31 responses »

  1. Thank you for these lovely Christmas cards. Yes, do it up right and have a splendid time! Best wishes for a very merry Christmas from Lucky and me. (We just got treated to a natural fireworks display, massive lightning and thunder.) Lucky stuck his paw in the wine last night and licked some off before I could catch him. We had a dose of drunken pirate cat before he settled down to sleep, but he’s fine now, chasing his little ball all over the bedroom.

    • It’s been pouring down rain here with some fireworks on the side. Benny and I enjoyed a brunch of French toast with blueberry syrup and sausage patties. His new android tablet is charging and so is mine. Oh, poor little Lucky! I hope he didn’t have a little kitty hangover, bless his heart. 😉 Merry Christmas!

      • Your brunch sounds delightful. : ) I think I got most of the purple off his paws before he had very much. Lucky chased around, tackling boots and slippers, swinging on the drapes, and leaping over the bed, then onto me, talking a blue streak. Then he retreated under the covers and slept. As I said, he was fine in a little while, but I don’t think he’ll be trying that twice.

        • It was delicious. 😀 Bless Lucky’s little heart. I bet he was wondering what got into him. Live and learn. I am glad he’s fine.

          I remember when we had to sedate poor little Mary Ann to travel because of her motion sickness problems. When we let her out of the carrier at the hotel, she didn’t know where to put her feet and her eyes were glassy. It was certainly better for her than throwing up and having diarrhea for hours but it still made me cry. 😦

          • Poor Mary Ann! My beloved Ben-Calaf was a good traveler, once he figured out that going places could be fun, and he did much better without the meds. My friend’s cat meowed for all of 2,000 miles when we drove cross country, despite doses of Rescue Remedy. That cat still thinks of me as Evil Truck Woman, I’m certain. I hope Luckv will be a good traveler, but I also hope we won’t have any long journeys. Just into his carrier to go to the vet by train should be plenty.

            • Smokie wasn’t keen on traveling, but we found she’d simply burrow down in the back of the station wagon and then we’d we would stop, her head would pop up and she’d ask, “Are we there yet?” Ginger was really good about it. Once she nearly scared Benny to death while he was driving. She put her feet up on his headrest, stuck her cold nose in his ear and gave a loud “MEEROW!” We had one and two-day trips with the cats–have to say our little Cockapoo Terrier was a better traveler. Every time we stopped at a rest area, he was so excited to get out and smell the grass. He’d run and leap like a little gazelle. 😀

              • *giggle* I can just imagine Benny’s reaction to the feline back-seat driver. Ben-Calaf and I traveled often enough that when we got to our hotel room and I let him out of the carrier, he would look for the telephone because he knew that meant room service -> tasty treats for him! Normally, I could get tuna for him, but once to his delight, we shared a club sandwich. Lucky, too, would enjoy that; he likes turkey, bacon, lettuce and bread — just get rid of the tomato.

          • Buddy has taken six eight hour trips now and has proven to be a good traveler. I purchased an extra large carrier from Amazon after Thanksgiving brcause he’s been growing sooo fast. He is not yet seven months old and eleven pounds! He seems to like it. He does like playing with Uncle Beau, my parents cat. They are getting along very well, thank goodness. (That’s always a worry when one of us gets a new friend. But they are both sweetie pies.)

              • That’s for sure. I took a while to find just the right kitten. After several visits to various Humane Shelters, I found my little darling. He’s a real blessing!

              • Good for you for finding the right match. I wish everyone would make the same effort. And I agree–the right pet is a true blessing in our lives.

              • Amen to that. Who would have guessed that Lucky and I would be such a great fit? But we were both lucky that way.

              • The gentleman in question is now 14 inches (36 cm) nose to base of tail, and maybe 7.6 lb ( ~3 kg) — amazing in the seven weeks since I adopted him. He’s still growing into his paws and he is definitely boy-shaped. He’s now taking a break from playing, watching the frost melt off the windows in the morning light. That study that said cats sleep 74% of the time clearly did not include someone like Lucky.

              • Oh he is really sprouting up, isn’t he? You are obviously taking wonderful care of the lad. Lucky is a livewire! Miss Callie is propped on my side. She will suddenly take off and then just as suddenly shoot back in, talking (she is quite gabby at time) and pausing to groom herself. Although she is no longer a young cat, she still reminds me of a coltish adolescent.

              • Callie sounds like such a flighty little sweetie. I’m glad she’s a talker and she takes good care of you. I suspect that she and Thumpie tag-team for cuddles.

              • She is. A bit spoiled, but not a brat. I brought Thumper in for a while earlier as it’s rather chilly tonight, but I think she’s back near the tree again LOL Callie isn’t going to stay out there in the cold for long. She’s snug up against me again. 😉

              • Have you ever seen the children’s book “The Pussycat’s Christmas”? There’s a recorded reading with pictures on YT, although I liked the one I heard as a child (a man reading on a 78 rpm record) better. It reminded me of Thumper.

              • I don’t think I ‘ve see it. I tried to get good photos of her with the flash off as she explored under the tree, but I couldn’t really get what I wanted.

  2. Merry Christmas to you and your family Angie. Merry Christmas to all of you!!! I just woke up to a white Christmas. It has not snowed here at all and we have been having mild temperatures, but during the night Mother nature decided to bless us with a white Christmas. It is a light snow that is softly covering everything outside. Later on I will be heading out for Christmas dinner with loved ones. Everyone enjoy your day!!!

    • Merry Christmas, Xenia. How lovely that you got some snow for Christmas–Just enough to add some beauty to the winter landscape. We just have dreary old rain here and it came earlier than expected. The kids will have to play indoors, it seems.

        • Benny brought up that subject. He said the racks at Wal-Mart looked pretty empty when he went by there, so he figured a lot of kids did get bikes. The rain wasn’t supposed to move in until later, so it sort of messed up any outdoor plans for this morning.

          • I hope it clears enough that they can be out this afternoon. Here, of course, it’s nighttime, and we have had intermittent storms since early this morning. (The FMS is objecting strenuously.) The people doing the tableau vivant up in the village won’t have had an easy time of it.

  3. A very merry ChRistmAs to you and your family, dear Angie. Even on Christmas Day you give us a great post with delicious pictures, you’re the best! I love the one “Santa – we likee”, that picture of Richard… he is so breathtakingly gorgeous… I fall in love with him all over again and ten times stronger every time I see that picture ❤
    Thanks again and have a bRilliAnt day! x

    • Couldn’t let Christmas come and go without a post. 😉 That is one of my absolute favorite photos of Richard. Full of delicious beardy goodness. Merry Christmas, my dear! 😀

  4. Merry Christmas, Sis! You play a leading role in many cherished Yuletide memories. Love you lots! P.S. That pic of you is one of my faves.

Leave a Reply

