Tornado warnings all around us.

Standard

Just discovered we are surrounded by tornado warnings. There is evidence of several tornadoes in surrounding counties and one has definitely touched down in Mobile to our south and caused some damage. Huge system moving in from Mississippi to our west. The weather map is lit up in green, red and yellow, but it’s not a festive sight. I hear the rumble of thunder in the distance. We may be evacuating the house for the farmhouse down below soon. Keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

28 responses »

    • As the meteorologist said, it’s not the news you want to hear on Christmas night, but you want to be safe. Right now it’s fairly calm here, but we trying to be prepared. I fear it’s going to be a long night.

    • Thank you, dear. The cats are relaxed and calm which is good in case we have to grab them and toss them into the carrier. It does appear as if tornado threat is diminishing a little. Damage down in Patsburg which is half-way between here and Troy, where we attended college (37 miles away).

      • So relieved to hear that! I was checking on the forecast for Lower Alabama before I went to bed in the early hours and there was no mention of damage where you live. It’s hard to sleep when it is too quiet isn’t it? I always have a fan going when I sleep (not blowing on me in the winter of course) as I find I need the “white noise”! If the power goes off the deafening quiet wakens me!! 🙂

        • BTW – this evening I’m off to see The Hobbit for the second time with one of my granddaughters and her boyfriend. Maybe just in 2D this time but I will watch it in any form. 😉 Have to wear my Thorin t-shirt again, not that I mind of course! 😀

        • Exactly, there is such a thing as TOO quiet. I live in the country, of course, where it’s generally pretty quiet, but really I miss my “white noise”–and after all the wind, rain and thunder it was almost anti-climactic for it to be that still. And I found myself wondering about family to the north. They missed it. It’s bitterly cold in Birmingham and my sister said there were a few snowflakes dancing around earlier. It’s supposed to drop into the 20s here tonight and then finally some sunshine tomorrow, but still cooler than it has been.

Leave a Reply

