Thorin & Company’s third straight week at #1 . . .

Standard

I saw that The Hobbit was number one at the box office for the third straight week, earning $32.9 million, bringing its totals to $222.7 million domestically and $600 million worldwide.

As I have said before, I do believe this film has “legs” and that word of mouth ultimately beats out mixed reviews. I believe it will continue to do well at the box office in the coming weeks, even when it drops from first place.  A bomb, it isn’t, in spite of what some people seem to think.

Runners-up were Django Unchained, $30.7 million, Les Miserables, $28 million, Parental Guidance, $14.8 million and Jack Reacher, $14 million.

In honor of the occasion, my two Thorin videos (I really need to make a new one–)

.)

At any rate, it’s good news with which to bid farewell to the old year and welcome the new.

Happy New Year’s Eve/New Year, everyone!!

22 responses »

  1. I had no doubt that The Hobbit would be a big box office hit, but that doesn’t mean to me that it is necessarily a great movie. I still feel the same way about it that I did after seeing it. It was destined to be a box office hit because of LOTR and Peter Jackson’s Hobbit promotions during filming. There are aspects of the movie that are great but overall I thought the movie was okay. For the sake of everyone who was involved in The Hobbit I am happy that it is number one. I have a feeling that I am going to like Black Sky more than The Hobbit.

    • I think I have clearly stated my case here that I think the film is far from flawless. I haven’t seen it a second time yet but I suspect I will still think it’s too long and could have benefitted from some judicious editing. However, there are other fans who think it wasn’t long enough, so—?? I freely admit I am a Tolkien fan but not a FAN, so this may color things to a certain degree. 😉

      TH definitely has many who absolutely adore it and have gone back multiple times. In particular, Richard’s performance as Thorin is bringing a brand-new group of fans, some of whom I’ve gotten to “meet” and I am ALL for that. Hooray for RA!!

      I have only to look at the search engine topics in my stats to know Richard and Thorin (and the film itself) are on a lot of people’s radars and this really makes me happy–as it does for all involved in its making. And newly minted RA fans from TH could provide a bigger fanbase for Black Sky . . . so it’s all good. 😉

      • Yes, Thorin, in particular, is a BIG ONE in my stats too. 🙂 I don’t see TH at all on my stats but there is Thorin, Thorin Oakenshield and Richard Armitage. Those three word combinations people are typing into search a lot.

        I cannot wait to see Black Sky and hope that we get some word soon on when it will be released.

        • I get a few Fili and Kili inquiries, too, and since I have reblogged pieces about them and have done some fanart with Thorin and his sister-sons, that’s logical. I’ve been away from Twitter for a few days so I don’t know if Todd Garner has tweeted anything new about the film. Maybe I will get on for a while tomorrow.

  2. I saw it again yesterday with my 75 year old Dad and my 14 old nephew. I have to say I loved it more than the first viewing. I saw more things than the first time. I never thought to look at my watch because the time flew by! My nephew, who knew nothing about TH, thought it was weird…all of the creatures and no people. But he’s not a reader and knows nothing about the genre. My dad, who read it a loooong time ago, loved it! He said that because of the reviews, he wasn’t expecting to but he thought it was great. The Radagast thing was too long, but upon reflection during this viewing, I realized they were setting us up for the fact that evil is spreading though the land. It was the same with the council meeting in Rivendale. In the next
    film we will see more of that evil. I know that many folks who watch the movie, like my nephew, and one of my friends don’t “get” it because they haven’t read or don’t like the genre.

    • Well I press the button too early, I hate typing on this phone. As I was saying, if you’re not a fan of the genre it will be hard to like it. I know Richard is a huge fan. I think that he absolutely gave his all to it. Watching him again just reinforced what a wonderful and thoughtful actor he is. I look forward to the next movie. I think that Peter and Co. Will have more time to get the kinks out. (Like those Elven blade that were suppose to glow blue…Thorins and Gandalfs, too.)

      • Thorin’s and Gandalf’s… BTW, I’m sooooo proud of Richard. I love it that he’s a fellow Ringer! We both loved it as kids and were brought back to it as adults through the films!

      • That’s why I stick with a regular keyboard. My stumpy fingers would make all sorts of mistakes trying to type on a phone. 😉 I have no doubt Richard put his all–heart, soul, mind and body–into this performance. I am so pleased every time I read comments by Tolkien fans who never heard of him before all of this and now they are RA fans, too. 😀 It’s great to see his fanbase grow and diversify.

    • As I said, a lot of people are thrilled with the film just as it is and I do think it’s likely one of those movies that takes time to totally sink in–and probably needs repeat viewings. Which means more box office, hooray!! 😉

      And we must remember I went with non-fan spouse the first time out. I haven’t had my second viewing yet due to weather and health issues, but I hope to see it again this week by myself and with just 2D.

      I don’t think there will be as much to distract me, if you know what I mean (trying to take in the whole HFR 3D and OMG! THORIN and hoping Benny wasn’t bored or impatient or . . . well, you know). Though I think even he liked it better than he thought he might–he’d read a lot of reviews, too. 😉 And he hasn’t read any Tolkien or seen the films, either.

      Glad your dad enjoyed it. 😀

      • I think your right. The first time I was exhausted and upset about the massacre. I spent a lot of the time worried about my friend and if she was bored to tears. This time, I really focused on it. And I’ve only seen it in 2D…no 3D for me. I may go by myself to a 3D…or maybe not.

        • We do tend to get caught up worrying if our companions are having a good time–guess it’s only natural with our friends and loved ones. I felt as if I was under an assault to my senses in certain ways between the technology and the worry LOL

  3. I’m going to see it on Wednesday with my friend another RA fan I’m so excited. Happy New Year Angie really looking forward to keeping in touch with you in 2013. Happy New Year to all in Armitageworld.xx

  4. This is good news going into the new year. A toast to you and yours, to all readers and followers of good will, to all those who created TH, and especially to Richard. May all of us enjoy tranquility, health, happiness, serenity, and prosperity through out 2013.

  5. Maybe I should go and see The Hobbit again during a weekday matinee since I am now unemployed. Can you believe that I forgot to file for unemployment? I just remembered as I am typing this comment.

    • Oh, heavens, get to it, girl. I forgot one week after having established my claim and had to go through all sorts of hoops to get back into the system. I am guessing you can file online, too?

      • Yes, I can file online and took care of it yesterday. I embraced being laid off with joy and I think that is why I forgot to file a claim…LOL I will enjoy not having to go to work with it so cold outside. I think around spring time I will be ready to return to the workforce…LOL I am going to take my time finding another job. It has to feel just right. I am not taking the first thing that comes up just to have another job. I prefer to work from me now too so that is what I will be looking for.

  6. Happy New Year to you((( Angie ))) and to All Armitage Afficionados!
    PS: I spent New Year’s Eve in the cinema with my hubby and Thorin(*swoon*) and we had a great time!

Leave a Reply

