Give me an Armitage hero

Standard

2-09_phixr

I am still in a heroic mode. Well, I am not a hero. But I want to pay tribute to Mr. Armitage, a personal hero of mine, and his wonderful characters, with all their flaws and inner conflicts, their ambiguities, who become our heroes. I prefer them to the guys in the capes and tights with the super powers. Give me an Armitage hero.

 

vlcsnap-00148

 

 

12_052

 

BeFunky_Impressionist_1thorincolg

 

ep8_118

 

BeFunky_OrtonStyle_1thornton

 

SH3_024

 

 

 

27 responses »

  1. As much as I love the baddies, I must admit that I am a total sucker for the Armitage heroes (John Porter is my favorite!) I read the title of your post and it put that Bonnie Tyler song from Footloose in my head…”I’m holdin’ out for a hero….” I know what I’ll be humming today πŸ™‚

    • Richard makes such a great hero–flawed and complex and someone you really believe in, root for and would follow to the ends of the earth *sigh* Kinda love John Porter myself. After all, I did write a novel-length fanfic about him πŸ˜‰ “I’m holding out for a hero . . . he’s gotta be quick and he’s gotta be strong and he’s gotta be larger than life” (or something like that) . . . LOL

      • I have caught the fan fic writing bug. It started with one little. Porter story…now there is a much longer sequel buzzing around in my head πŸ™‚

        • Heehee. And then you’ll start making vids, and doing fanart, and . . . oh, it’s a slippery slope, my darling. Once upon a time, if anyone had ever told me that I’d have done all the RA-related creative stuff I have since–let’s see, posted first piece of fiction five years ago in Dec.–I would have been astonished and incredulous. But I certainly have enjoyed it all. πŸ˜€

          • I’ve been searching for a creative outlet for a long time…writing never occurred to me. The added benefit is that writing fiction seems to be unlocking my academic writing…I’ve been blocked on my doctoral dissertation forever…research and analysis done, just couldn’t get anything on paper. Enter Armitage muse… πŸ™‚

            • I found that after years of writing non-fiction for the newspaper, writing fiction really gave me a wonderful opportunity to flex my creative muscles in fresh new way. πŸ˜€ And I have to give RA the credit.

              • They’ll need to make room in the Museion for the 10th Muse πŸ™‚ (for some reason this one seems to attract many more female followers than the other nine combined πŸ˜‰ )

  2. This is interesting about RichardΒ΄s characters, the flawed heroes… this conflict between good and bad at the same time brings his characters closer to reality, it makes them plausible. I love that!
    I really enjoyed your artwork, by the way… πŸ˜€

    • Yes, that’s what makes them so compelling and allows us to relate to them on a human level. Whereas a comic book superhero is something a bit harder to think of as plausible, isn’t it? Thanks!

      • In so many of his characters, that teetering between hero/anti-hero is so finely crafted. (I’m inclined to believe that it is usually much more his interpretation of the character than what the writers have often given him to work with – seriously, some of those scripts – oy vey!)

        • Well, judging by some of the scripts, I can only agree. I think he took what he was given by the scriptwriters in RH and fine-tuned it in his performance in such a way they finally woke up and realized, hey, this guy is good. Let’s expand his role! And he just took it and ran with it.

  3. Richard’s ability to portray multi-faceted characters is what grabbed me from the beginning! He makes them very real seeming to me.

      • Sorry it took me so long to join ya’ll here! I have missed you!!!

        I’ll admit to having a bit of anxiety about the battle toward the end of The Hobbit. Do I have it in me to make it through? I still can’t rewatch the end of season 3 of Robin Hood…

        • We’ve missed you, too, Becks! Great to see you here. I am already trying to steel myself up for something that won’t happen for a year and a half. I can’t re-watch the end of RH either. Even if Richard does die beautifully onscreen, darn it. *sniff*

  4. Give me an Armitage bad boy any day- have been watching robing hood again and on my! But I love his portrayal of Thorin the most. Although he’s a hero he has a bad attitude!😍

    • Oh, he was delicious as Sir Guy. I cannot truly see Guy as bad. He’s my hero or anti-hero if you will. So much more compelling and interesting for me than Robin was in the series. Thorin is magnificent. He’s a bad-ass, kick-ass dwarf hero!

      • Totally delicious! My husband has left the room in disgust on more than one occasion due to my sighs of delight. But Thorin is, as you say, a total bad-ass kick-ass hero. I’m currently planning my second trip to the cinema so I can actually watch the movie this time. Was so caught up the 1st time with Thorin gorgeousness!
        πŸ’œ

  5. WOW Angie just got back from seeingThe Hobbit. I’m still buzzing. It was wonderful and Richard was absolutley AMAZING what an actor. On the shallow side What a HOT dwarf **sigh – thud**

    • So glad you got to see it and enjoyed it, my girl. He gives an amazing, nuanced performance, you can’t take your eyes off of him. And yeah–he is seriously HOT. πŸ˜‰

    • I find the flawed heroes (and remember, for me Guy is a hero and he had plenty of flaws) are more compelling and draw my respect and admiration all the more, because they have more to overcome than the “perfect” heroes.

Leave a Reply

