It’s happening at the right time for Richard.

Standard

I have this notion that events in our lives happen when they happen for good reasons, even if we don’t know those reasons at the time.

“If this opportunity had come to me ten years ago, I would not have survived,” Armitage says. “I wouldn’t have known what to do with it. Now I feel I’ve got an opinion to bring to it, my own interpretation of the character in the book, but other things as well, attitudes that I think we can make resonate with a contemporary audience:honor, loyalty, nobility,corruption.”

a “wilier, more aerodynamic Hugh Jackman,” Richard Armitage, quoted in “Force of Hobbit,” Nylon Guys magazine, Stefan Marolachakis. Courtesy of RAnet. Read complete interview at www.richardarmitagenet.com

Hooray for the opportunity of a lifetime happening in the right place at the right time for our favorite actor. He’s mature, seasoned, savvy, confident. Ready to take on the world!

 

Top to bottom, original photo by Ben Rayner; original photo by unknown;  original photo by Magnus Sundholm. All courtesy of RANet.

BeFunky_NylonGuys-picture

BeFunky_Tokyo-03

BeFunky_OrtonStyle_1

23 responses »

  1. And more photo’s i hadn’t seen! Thanks again.

    Love the second and third but what is he wearing in the first picture? His stylist surely didn’t choose that horrible jacket?

          • I adore the middle picture – Tokyo (i think). He really shone in Japan – i felt he was very comfortable there.

              • I’ve got a really cute photo of him posing with a fan for a photo I will be sharing soon, too. He was enjoying all that enthusiasm. I heard him say, “Thank you so much for coming out tonight.” He’s so darned sweet.

              • He is, isn’t he? My heart swells a little bit when i hear stories like that. The Japanese i know are all very polite – i would imagine Richard would appeal to them and they would appeal to him.

              • The crowds there were very enthusiastic and excited, but also remembered their manners. I liked that and yes, no doubt Richard liked that, too. He just seemed to blossom and shine throughout the whole junket. Even when he was sitting quietly, not being asked questions, he appeared contented and attentive. And I am guessing when the second film’s promotion comes around, there are going to be a LOT of questions for RA. 😉

  2. My favourite part of the Tokyo red carpet was when he was signing autographs and a young lass at the front, standing before him, was being swamped by posters being waved over her head. Richard leant down and lifted the paper over her head saying something along the lines of “hello under there.” I melted on the spot. He was so sweet.
    I too believe that things often happen for a reason. This is certainly Richard’s time and place, the role of Thorin was meant to be.

    • He is just precious–really considerate of his fans. Endears him to me all the more.

      I am so glad this time has come for him and that I have been able to see it happen.

  3. I’m so glad that all this has come now for Richard he is so much more confident than he was back in the N&S & RH days. Way to go Richard. Glad to see your Plush Thorin arrived Angie he is adorable isn’t he?

    • Exactly. As he said, he wouldn’t have known what to do with it all–it would have been overwhelming for him. Now he’s got it going on!! Oh, yes, Plush Thorin is just adorable and the perfect size to clutch to one’s heart. I like to imagine it’s baby Thorin before his hair and nose grew to their majestic proportions. 😉

  4. I like the idea of the fleece lining on the jacket, it looks very cozy. Sometimes I thnk he layers his clothing against feeling the cold he has little body fat and I like to think he tries to keep warm to avoid shivering and perhaps appear nervous when he’s not. (Even in warm climates he is photgraphed with tee-shirt under shirts.)

    • For some reason I am freezing today (and I have way too much body fat LOL) and that lining is looking very cozy indeed. Good point about the low amount of body fat. He does look very good in those layered clothes, too. Although it tends to make one ponder removing them, layer by layer . . . 😉

      • If you feel cold, Angie, it may not just be the temperature. Slight anemia will make you feel cold, too. Rx = eggs, raisins (well chewed), spinach, chocolate, red wine, and red meat.

        Richard does do the layered look so well. And like you, I have fantasies (ski lodge at the moment) of somewhere nice and warm to remove the layers one at a time…

        • I haven’t been to the doctor in so long I have no idea what might be going on. It’s been a damp cold here for the last several days and that always gets to me. I wore my faux fur and gloves tonight for the family get-together and it felt awfully good.

    • I’m not sure about the body fat/ cold connection either as i feel the cold and definitely have a layer of fat to keep me warm. Low blood pressure seems to be linked to feeling the cold though (my doctor says i have the BP of an athlete, which causes virtually everyone i know to almost split their sides laughing) so he might fall into that category.

      Naughty Sapphire – you’ve got me thinking how good he’d be at spooning. He’d stay there all night to stay warm.

      Thud.

Leave a Reply

