“Old soul” Richard: “Grittier” Armitage fanart

Standard

Inspired by FAULT magazine photographer Ms. Parrish’s amazing textured image for the special limited edition Richard Armitage cover (yes, the issue I and some of you paid a ridiculous amount of money to have as our own), I have been experimenting with some photo editing tools to make my own considerably less impressive and less labor-intensive “gritty” images of Mr. A.

Here’s that original image that inspired me:

FAULT magazine cover courtesy of Richard Armitage Net

FAULT magazine cover courtesy of Richard Armitage Net

We have discussed this cover at Me+Richard Armitage in Guyity’s recent post (analyzing this “ooof” moment)  which I highly recommend:  http://meandrichard.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/ooof-alienated-richard/

Richard has a timeless quality about him. Part of it is his looks. The strength and structure of his features. He’s not “cute” or bland pretty boy flavor of the month.  There’s the way he carries himself. And there’s something else, something in his character, his personality, something–innate.

He’s an old soul who looks no less out of place in medieval chain mail than he does dressed in tee-shirt and jeans. It’s a quality that is not shared by all actors–have you ever noticed how some look like fish out of water in period costume?– but it’s certainly an advantageous one. especially when coupled with that prodigious talent of his.It’s why he’s so believable and authentic in roles that span centuries.

Take another look at Richard in the FAULT cover. It’s been suggested he might be an anguished soldier from WW II or one of the subjects of Dorothea Lange‘s famous Depression-era portraits as seen in the FAULT cover. It’s definitely an arresting and memorable image of an arresting and memorable human being.  Like Guyity, I am not certain Parrish’s striking fine art photography is quite what most magazine fashion editors would choose to show off the clothing being worn by the subject, but I like it and appreciate the time and effort it took to create the final product.

I wish that I had higher-quality images than the screencaps with which to work for my own efforts, but you gotta work with what you’ve got.

BeFunky_FAULT_201212_00003

BeFunky_VintageColors_7cc

BeFunky_FAULT_201212_00017

BeFunky_ViewFinder_3

15 responses »

  1. The first image looks like a WWII image. Say post-Normandy, the day after. It moves me enormously.

    And Prosit Neujahr, Prosit 1013, dear Angie! 😀

    • It’s pretty amazing, certainly not what you expect in a fashion-type layout. I find myself going back and studying it often. And thank you, Nietzsche, Happy New Year to you, too!

  2. I basically had to sit on my hands so that I wasn’t tempted to order that magazine as well. 🙂 And I told myself “you’ll be able to see it on the internet because there will be many people who will upload scans”.
    Funny that you’ve mentioned that some actors look like fish out of water in period costumes because I’ve re-wached “Sense & Sensibility” with Emma Thompson the other day and thought yet again that Hugh Grant (while I love his performance and the film very much) looked extremely uncomfortable in his costume. Richard inhabits his role and the costume – whether it’s John Porter, John Thornton or Thorin. That is a very rare ability.
    I love what you have done with the images!
    Cheers, Steph

    • I told myself I really shouldn’t and then I caved in and did it re ordering the mag. Thanks for the kind words re the pics. 😀
      Someone that I really couldn’t buy in a period role (and the truth is she was miscast in the first place) was Billie Piper in Mansfield Park. She wasn’t right at all as Fanny Price, and the costuming and incongruity between the dark brows and bottle blonde hair made her look more like a serving wench than a demure young gentlewoman.

  3. Love what you did with the pictures Angie, good quality screencaps or not! 🙂 Can’t wait to get my hands on The Most Expensive Magazine ever! Because he’s worth it! 🙂

    • Thanks a lot. The original image just starts to degrade the more you play with it. I know, I want my magazine NOW but I don’t know how long it will take to get to me in North America. NOT as long as Plush Thorin, I hope!

  4. I never even realized before reading Guylty’s post that Fault was a fashion magazine. I thought it was an artsy-fartsy type of highbrow publication.. 🙂

  5. Great stuff, Fedora – RA is such a brilliant subject. He manages to look different and yet the same in all the photos. I particularly like your edit #1 – it’s probably about the colours for me, spartan b/w lover that I am. Thanks for the pingback 🙂

    • Thank YOU, Guyity. 😀 He is a marvelous subject. He is certainly handsome, but it’s not a bland cookie cutter sort of good looks (those bore me, frankly). I love the fact his face is clearly not symmetrical.
      I like to flip the pic sometimes and look at him from a different perspective. There is so much character there, great mobility and expressiveness–also he can also speak volumes with those eyes
      alone. He surely is a heck of a lot more than just a “pretty face.”

      I have a fondness for classic B&W, too, as well as sepia. Something timeless about them.
      Thanks again for inspiring me!

Leave a Reply

