Mr. Vincent & I see eye to eye.

Standard

 But even with McKellen and the other returning cast members of Lord of the Rings, in the end it’s Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield who steals the film. Here again Jackson knows where to butter his bread — Armitage is simply wonderful as the grim dwarven king trying to do the impossible. Armitage shoulders most of the load — in the end it’s his movie — and that’s a good thing.

Quote by John Vincent at Airlock Alpha blog site from his review of “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.” Bold type is my own.   Read the entire review here:  http://www.airlockalpha.com/node/9484/the-hobbit-an-unexpected-journey.html

I saw this quote at Richard Armitage Net and of course, it delighted me. I suspected others would see Richard as THE star of the film–after all, as PJ himself said, you can’t take your eyes away from RA when he’s up there on the screen. Seeing more praise heaped upon this modest-and-oh-so-deserving man’s broad shoulders just makes me wear the biggest, silliest ol’ grin.

And it’s good when it comes from someone I assume was not an RA fan (at least, not until he saw this movie) and someone who doesn’t see Sir Peter as a sort of infallible genius.  Vincent was candid in his thoughts about The Return of the King and The Lovely Bones. Somehow, that makes his words of praise for the film, and particularly for Richard, mean more to me.

I am so glad Sir Peter’s latest effort exceeded his expectations–and that this new face in the Jackson fantasy universe totally wowed him.

I'd say he's in the center of this composite pic for a very good reason--he is the soul of the film.

I’d say he’s in the center of this composite pic for a very good reason–he is the soul of the film.

15 responses »

    • She did a fantastic job. Haven’t seen the other nominated films, but can’t imagine their work could be better than hers. And look at how long that shoot was and the importance of getting the identical look day after day after day. Go, Tami!!

  1. It’s nice to read a review where the reviewer hasn’t decided to not like the movie before he even saw the movie. It is also nice to see a critic who is objective in his his criticism and doesn’t bash PJ just because he didn’t like ROTK or King Kong. And Richard definitely is the soul of the movie. I’m going to see TH tomorrow for the second time!! Go me.

    • Yes, he didn’t automatically bring any anti-PJ or blockbuster prejudices to the table when he saw it. Willing to give the benefit of the doubt and be fair about it all, which is refreshing compared to so many other criticisms of the film. And of course, the fact he had such particular high praise for our RA made me really like him! 😉 I had wanted to go back yesterday or today to see it but my knees said “No way are you sitting through a three-hour movie, kiddo.” 😦

      • Many of the reviews I’ve read (English and German) seemed to have been of the prejudiced variety. Damning the movie as rubbish because how could PJ make three movies out of this rather thin book and not stay true to the book. *rolls eyes* In a German review/blog someone actually complained about the terrible dialogue in the movie. He complained about the line “out of the frying pan, into the fire.” I gently told him that he shouldn’t be writing about things he knows nothing of and should spend some money on the book because the terrible dialogue he quoted as “typically bad PJ dialogue” was, in fact, genuine Tolkien.
        So sorry to hear that your knees are not cooperating in letting you see Richard on the big screen yet again. I hope that they’ll behave and you feel better real soon.

        • I think you have to take the appendices and other writings of Tolkien into account–that is where so much of the additional story is coming from. LOL about the critic’s comment. Bet he felt silly after that! 😉

          The knees were feeling better earlier but they’ve started twinging again. There are things I need to do but haven’t gotten to yet, not wishing to flare them up again. Ah well . . .

          • And the so-called critics should have known that PJ and his team took material from the appendices and other Tolkien books. I always thought that to be able to review something you should inform yourself prior to that review. Easy to find that information if you want to find it. I certainly wanted to find the information. And I’m glad that PJ looked beyond The Hobbit because I doubt he will get another chance to revisit ME.
            Take it easy. I hope that resting will help to ease the pain.

            • That’s why I slogged my way through all three books of 50 SoG, as big of a headache as it was beginning to give me, before writing a review. Didn’t think it would be fair until and unless I had a complete view of the trilogy. That’s the journalistic background in me. However, as someone stated somewhere online, anybody who has a blog can call themselves a film critic, whether or not they really have the necessary knowledge and know-how to do so. 😉 Thanks, I think I am going to heat up my rice pad and put it across the knees again.

              • LOL! A good one, Nietzsche. I used to work for a publisher who in THEORY could lay out a page using a computer program, take photographs with a digital camera and so forth. Unfortunately, when it came to putting it into practice . . . he could blather away at us, but that’s about all he accomplished.

              • Thank you, Nietzsche! And then they get paid to display their inability in public. I recall one opera critic slamming a singer for her “terrible accent” in German, when in fact the singer was a native speaker and the critic wasn’t. LOL, except I hate how the public hands the critics the power to hurt.

              • Everything that goes into print –hard copy or online–isn’t necessarily the gospel truth that it is written in stone we must accept/believe. I think of the insurance commercials where the young woman believes such and such must be true because it’s on the internet, and they couldn’t put it on the internet if it wasn’t true, right?? Sadly, her hair color is also–blonde. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

