Marvelously Mellifluous Mr. Armitage: TAE Word of the Day

Standard

This is one of those words that I love to say: mellifluous. It flows so beautifully.

And I love its meaning and how I connect it to Richard Armitage. Mellifluous (adjective): pleasant to hear, pleasant and soothing to listen to, and sweet and rich in tone. Oh, my–isn’t he just??

Synonyms for mellifluous includeย smooth, flowing, melodious, honeyed, silky, mellow, dulcet, soothing.

So, let’s listen to a little of Mr. A’s honeyed, melodious, mellifluous voice.


16 responses »

  1. You hit the nail on the head with this word! Richard’s voice is certainly mellifluous!!! I could listen to him read the phone book!

    • I have thought of it before and tonight I said it’s time to use it. I think it was Obscura that said she’d like to hear him read the dictionary so she could pick out all her favorite words for a special recording. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • That was indeed me ๐Ÿ™‚ (although I confess, my splicing ideas may not have been wholly pure :”> ) I love this word….there’s a certain onomatopoetic quality to it. The etymology comes from the Latin and Greek words for honey. I have a friend whose partner always calls her Meli as and endearment…it always makes me smile. Definitely a great word to describe RA vocalizations.

          • Thanks! Decided it was time for a change. I did play around with an entirely new theme altogether, but decided to stick with this one for the time being. My one-year blogoversary is coming up in a few weeks, and I might spring for a complete overhaul then. Or not. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • It’s simply a beautiful word in and of itself, outside of being so suitable for Mr. A’s voice. I love that as a term of endearment! ๐Ÿ˜€ Oh, I would never question slightly (or not so slightly) impure motives for splicing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Describes Richard’s voice to a T! I have been trying to “convert” a friend of mine to my way of thinking – you know what I mean! ๐Ÿ™‚ It isn’t working (is she crazy or what?) but she does admit to loving his voice! I’m thinking positively on this – it’s a start. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. oh absolutley!! This word sums up his voice perfectly! i could listen to him talk all day – and as for when he sings in THe Hobbit… *THUD*

  4. I think I may have mentioned this before but I have listened to Richard’s voice so much over the years that I can actually recognize his groans, grunts and other sounds he makes in films or on TV even if he is off camera. I know that may sound weird but somehow my ears pick up his voice just like they pick up the sound of one particular instrument while listening to a piece of music.

  5. I first must confess that I am a sucker for the male british accent, and have been for a very long time. Now I can say that Richards voice is awesome. I like the range that he gives and I think that the audio books are a great example of how talented he is. I have said it before, that voice is wonderful. I could just keep going on and on. Angie I really like the new look.

    • What amazes is not just the beauty in that voice, but the versatility. Think of all the characters he has created for the various audiobooks and the charming Cbeebies. Young, old, male, female, upper class, lower class . . . dramatic, comedic. I think he must take great delight and joy in creating and performing them as we do listening. And thanks. Thought I’d give place bit of a makeover. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

