Help keep America beautiful.

Standard

photomania_8706456vv

I am all for beautification projects, aren’t you?

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

19 responses »

  1. I’d love to see this! The only issue would be the impact on traffic, as everyone, drivers and pedestrians alike, would stop to look.

  2. That would be so cool! I’m very excited to be going to New York in March…and then I found out yesterday that the musical adaptation of *Kinky Boots* will be in preview performances while I’m there – I am so going to that! Who knows who I’ll run into 😉

      • No names that I recognize, but I’m not really up on who’s who in musical theater either…(http://www.kinkybootsthemusical.com/cast.html) Cyndi Lauper did the music and lyrics. I was going to go to something off, off Broadway, but how can I resist this? Celeb encounter…maybe in the lobby 🙂 I have a feeling I’ll be sitting in the nosebleed seats!

        • Well, I’m not either, up on musical theatre stars, that is. Ah, Cindy! Brings back memories. 😀 Since it’s a preview, I am guessing the tickets will be a bit more affordable. So maybe you’ll be in the LOWER nosebleed seats! 😉

          • They’re not to bad, so maybe…I have a *little* problem with heights (those theater upper decks can be really steep)…the celeb encounter I definitely don’t want to have is falling out of the mezzanine or fainting on someone 🙂 I’m investigating purse sized telescopes 😉

            • I understand what you mean about heights. We used to go to events at Garrett Coliseum in Montgomery and we’d be pretty high up and at a steep angle– and it always made me a bit dizzy. Go for the telescope, kiddo! 😉

              • I think for me, it’s a combination of the heights and a falling phobia…when I went to Rome, we went up the cupola of St. Peter’s Basilica, and I was absolutely fine looking out over the vistas of the city from the top, but OMG, the stairs coming back down…big problem…kept getting a flash of falling ass over teakettle down and taking out everyone in my path like dominoes! My friends still tease me about scooting down about the last 1/4 of them on my bum 🙂

              • Yes, the falling fear is something I share with you. Stairs have become a real nemesis for me in recent years, too, and after almost falling down an escalator when my knee went out on me, I am very cautious in general, whether the stairs are moving or stationary. 😉 One of the reasons I wait for a theatre to empty out before I try to exit so I don’t slow up everyone else.

              • That’s something else we have in common, Angie. I have to hang onto the handrail and take them one at a time, so I typically wait for everyone else to leave first. I can understand why certain historic buildings can’t be modified, but enough stairs and I just can’t go.

              • Yep, we’re in the same boat, sister. If Benny is with me, I will sometimes take his arm for assistance if the stairs are wide enough. But in many cases, I just have to do the bent leg, straight leg method, and hang on to the rail and pray I stay upright.

              • I’m with you there – I really dislike escalators (honestly, I’m surprised I ever leave the house!) I’ll ride them, but it’s kind of like getting in on the double jump ropes when I was a kid…I sort of wait for my window 🙂 I haven’t ever fallen, but I begin to wonder if the sensation of it is a balance issue or some sort of inner ear thing.

                The way I always like to introduce myself to people – especially celebs – is to do a face plant right in front of them! The horror 🙂

              • I do have some balance issues. In the time after I had my car accident, I experienced some vertigo which really is not something I enjoy at all. Some of my problem is tied to the FMS. There’s a sort of drunken stagger jokingly referred to as the Fibromyalgia Waltz. My husband asked me last night if I’d been drinking or smoking (obviously not cigarettes). LOL

                No, as sweet as Richard would be if you accidentally took a spill in front of him, it’s not really the impression you want to make on him! 😉

Leave a Reply

