Holey-moley, He’s a Lollapalooza!: TAE Word for the Day

Standard

lollapalooza (noun): an extraordinary or unusual thing, person or event; an exceptional example or circumstance.

(Also the name of a certain giant rock tour here in the United States.)

Really, can we say Richard, our extraordinarily talented, unusually attractive, amazingly charismatic and exceptionally gentlemanly fellow, is truly a lollapalooza of a guy? I think so.

BeFunky_London-06dd

75325DDD-EA36-46E0-B1AB-06DFA9708A4D

As a lollapalooza, Richard, you really do ROCK.

photomania_3322859

8 responses »

  1. He’s certainly way out there on the high end of the curve, although I doubt I’d use “lollapalooza” in normal conversation. People would look at me strangely if I did.

    • It’s also very much an Americanism, although its actual origin is a bit misty (very early 20th century), so I doubt you’d bet much opportunity to use it in Spain, anyway. 😉 My great-niece asked for a Lala Loopsy doll for Christmas, which Benny and I kept calling Lallapalooza LOL So I laughed when I saw this word in my email the other day.

  2. Doesn’t that last pic make you want him to just grab a mike and belt out a good old rock song? 😉

    My 2 little grandies have La La Loopsy dolls (or whatever they’re called)! 🙂

    • I know he was talking to the audience in Tokyo but it just looks like he COULD be belting out a rocking tune (and we know he could if he wanted to)! And a little play on the fact the rock tour is called Lallapalooza. 😉

      Apparently there are a bunch of different La La Loopsy dolls, she’s got three or four of them. She’s also into Monster High Dolls (fashion dolls who are vamps, zombies, werewolves, etc.) I learned a lot about latest girlie toys from shopping for Christmas. 😉

      • My niece is into those Monster High Dolls! They are very strange. I don’t know about fangs on dolls for little girls. (Creepy!) Both sets of Grandparents refuse to buy them for her. However, my Brother and Sister-in-law must have purchased about 25 of them (with accessories of course)!

        • I saw those strange little dolls in Toys R Us when I was in CA last November and then in our Toys R Us after I came home – they are so weird!! My kids and I have decided our little girls aren’t getting those particular dollies (they’re 5 and 4). – well, not yet anyway! Hehe 😀

          Talking of Lallapalooza…wasn’t there an American boxer called Joe Palooza back in the 1940s or 1950s?

  3. Oh, blimey…just realized that I still haven’t changed my avi! Angie, do you have a really clear pic of Richard in his “Cats” days, by any chance? I know you’ve photoshop-elemented one!!

  4. He definately does rock. Thanks for these pics Angie needing warming up again. Sorry to sound like an old record but it’s snowing really hard again arghh!!!

Leave a Reply

