Blue Skies, Spectacular Sunsets, Sweet Canines. Life is (mostly) good.

Standard

BeFunky_P2265366.jpg

Either someone has played a nasty trick on me and hidden a large quantity of Limburger cheese somewhere in the vicinity, or something has turned up its toes in the crawl space under the house.  I’ve a raspberry Renuzit which is supposed to neutralize odors and freshen the air right beside me. I think I need a couple more.  Ah, well.

Nonetheless, it’s been a beautiful day. No rain, the sky the most amazingly vibrant shade of blue with shifting white clouds. The winds were high, as if March had arrived a little early.  And our guests were still here. And with hearty appetites!

BeFunky_P2265375.jpg

BeFunky_P2265370.png

After  chowing down heartily (with Elvis being far too stroppy about having to share) Mama Dawg and her little boy decided to accompany me on a walk. The next thing I knew, Elvis had joined us, with Rascal quickly bringing up the rear. I kept a close eye on the smallest member of our group, and when I heard a car coming, raised a warning hand as if to say, “Slow. Puppy Crossing.”

The wind was colder than I realized and I should have worn a jacket, but it felt so bracing. Just to get out of the house! And the dogs seemed to enjoy our ramble together. When the puppy took off into the brambles along the road side, I called to him and he gave me a look over his shoulder.

“Oh, excuse me. You need to do your business,” I murmured with a nod.

We cavorted a bit in the yard upon our return. Mama Dawg likes to play (and how those dark eyes sparkle when she does!) and the other dogs are still being a tad stand-offish. And then everyone seems ready for a nap–at least all the canines do . . . this one had to get his beauty sleep.

BeFunky_P2265376.jpg

I went back and spent some time on the computer, visiting with the cats so they wouldn’t feel neglected. They do worry about me spending too much time with those inferior creatures.

When I later check on those canines, my little friend is ready to romp a bit with his Uncle Rascal. Rascal is even-tempered and handsome and puppies are always drawn to him.  Our bachelor dog is never quite sure what to think of it all.

BeFunky_BeFunky_P2265379.jpg

As night drew near, I put out more food and took note of a marvelous sunset. Time to grab the camera again.

BeFunky_P2265392.jpg

BeFunky_P2265399.jpg

And then I turned around and found this little fellow watching me, as if to say,”Why are you taking pictures of the sky when you could be taking my photograph?”

And so I did.

BeFunky_P2265402.jpg

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

12 responses »

  1. Lovely canines, fabulous sunsets, life is indeed good.

    Except that I think with the recent rains, you may have a dead rat in the crawl space. I experienced that twice, once in a rental when the landlord refused to deal with it and I had to wait for the scavengers to take care of it (ugh!) and again in an office building where I worked, when the elevator maintenance people were called to remove the decaying rat from the bottom of the shaft. I’m not sure that air freshener is going to do it…

    • That’s what I fear, too. Man, I remember when Benny had to go under the farmhouse when there was a horrible odor going on down there a number of years ago. He was decked out in his fatigue pants and jacket and had a bandana tied over his face and looked like a gang banger. He came out a little later with the corpse of large black and white tom cat that had appeared once or twice in the yard–not one of ours, thankfully. I thought I was gonna pass out from the stench and I wasn’t the one who had to drag the poor thing out from under the house. 😦 The air freshener helps some, but it’s still THERE.

  2. We had a dead possum inside the wall once so we couldn’t get it out- my daughter had to move out of the room for about a week, it was foul! Changing the subject, that sunset is amazing!

  3. That little walk with dogs and camera sounds great,Angie. Are you planning to turn those cute visitors into residents?;)
    PS: IMO,uncle Rascal is very handsome

  4. Two years ago I returned from Christmas to a foul odor coming from my fireplace. A squirrel fell down and died. I had flies all over the house. My kind, wonderful neighbor came over and removed it for me (thank the Lord!). YUCK! I feel your pain!

  5. Just catching up…The house we rented when we first moved to Oz used to get things dying in the cavities. It was one of the many things i learned – Australians are very laid back about the wildlife and just accept there will be a smell for a few days. It hasn’t really happened in our house although we did detect a smell a couple of weeks ago but concluded that was actually the very expensive French cheese we had sitting in the fridge. So we just ate it quickly!

    Wonderful pictures – a walk in a beautiful landscape with canine companions – what could be better for the soul?

Leave a Reply

