Guess who showed up on our doorstep?

Standard

BeFunky_P2255355.jpg

Over the weekend, this Mama Dawg and her little one appeared in our yard. Poor things were awfully hungry. And awfully sweet.

Where did they come from? Were they lost?Abandoned? They’d obviously been somebody’s pets at some point.

BeFunky_P2255360.png

And this little fellow simply stole my heart. I discovered he’d let me hold him in my lap. And he liked it, tucking his noce beneath my arm with a contented little grunt. Mama seems to understand I mean nothing but kindness and trusts me with her little one.

This all happened on a weekend when the weather kept Benny at home and away from the usual food-shopping excursion to Wal-Mart.  We were running out of dog food and suddenly had two new and very eager mouths to feed.

Yesterday, during a break from the rains, I started opening up cans of expired food and raiding the pantry, dishing out everything from tamales and pasta and bean soup to field peas and pretzel sticks. Even the “sawdust” left over from the Frosted Mini-Wheats box went out. They gulped it down as if it was ambrosia.  Puppy ended up with tamale sauce all over his lovely face. I wet a paper towel, scooped him up and gave his face a good washing.

Benny brought home canned and dry dog food so they had proper kibble last night.

BeFunky_P2255356.png

I have to call the animal shelter today to see if anyone has enquired there about a lost dog and puppy. I know if my Rascal or Elvis were lost I’d want to know someone was trying to reconnect them with me. I would also like to think someone was trying them with loving kindness.

Because sometimes in life we really do have to depend upon the kindness of strangers.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

24 responses »

  1. Oh, the poor sweethearts! I hope they have people looking for them, that they are lost and not abandoned. I’m so glad they showed up on your doorstep, even though they had to settle for an unorthodox dinner the first night. (Tamale sauce, LOL) If they are abanoned, how would Rascal and Elvis feel about a larger family? You and Benny are the best pet parents.

    • I am a little mystified. They are in overall good condition but obviously had missed quite a few regular meals as their sides were sunken in. 😦 Mama looks like a hunting dog; however, dogs are no longer allowed during the current hunting season here. They are very socialized–trusting of both of us and trying to engage Rascal in play (Elvis has always been a bit moodier LOL). If no one claims them, I am sure we’ll probably keep them, as the shelter has too many animals to deal with as it is. Our humane society does work closely with animal rescue groups to our north and many homeless pets have been driven and even flown (Paws and Pilots) to new homes where there are many wanting to adopt homeless animals but there is (blessedly) a shortage of such.

  2. They are adorable!

    If they aren’t claimed, i guess you have a difficult decision to make. Two more mouths to feed is a commitment but, OTOH, it seems like they chose you and you can’t argue with fate!

    • Those eyes. No wonder we talk about the effect of Guy’s puppy dog eyes. One’s heart just melts. I think he’s a smart little fellow, too. We will see to their welfare, however things may turn out.

  3. OMG they’re sooooo cute! Lucky little dogs for showing up at your doorstep too & being sheltered with such kindness. Hope things will work out for the best & thanks for sharing this wonderful story with us – it really cheered my heart!

  4. Soon cute! They look a bit like the RCA dogs :). Good luck finding them a new home, but it sounds like you’ve already decided on Plan B.

    Just curious…does Alabama have a low cost spay/ neuter program? In Wisconsin, if you get them to the veterinary college (transport is available for a reasonable fee), the procedure is free, or at a very reduced rate, plus they include the first round of vaccines. I think that there are income qualifications, but it is a great program.

    Ahhh, puppy eyes and puppy kisses – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

