Another country walk with the “lads and lady.’ Can spring be far away?

Standard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The genuine Alabama Red Clay Road on which I live. Named after my dear old dad–well, the half that is in our county. The other half is named in honor of a man who passed away the day I was born.  The dogs and I took our walk today, another lovely day with gentler winds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMama Dawg was in fine form, her usual friendly, sunny-natured self.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the little guy is still just as adoring of Uncle Rascal as ever.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another gorgeous blue canopy overhead again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mama and son enjoy a bit of a cuddle together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is this farmhouse where I grew up. Yes, the bushes are in serious need of a good clipping.

Rascal on the side porch of the farmhouse. Such a handsome boy.

Rascal on the side porch of the farmhouse. Such a handsome boy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Elvis. No blue suede shoes, but a blue suede-ish collar. And look at the green grass sprouting!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jonquils picked from the farmhouse yard. Can Spring be too far away?

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

8 responses »

  1. Just keep telling self, Spring is coming soon. What lovely flowers you have Angie. No flowers here in the north, just snow. The weather is a bit warmer, in the 30’s with the wind. Hopefully the deep freeze is over for the winter. There is snow I guess in the southern part of the state, and since it is March soon there always seems to be at lest one more snow storm or two or more. Stop think of the flowers.

    • I look forward to the wild roses blooming along the road, and the tiger lilies and the sweet fragrance of the honeysuckle in late spring. It’s very cold tonight, but spring is on its way. 😀

  2. I’m really loving this series of articles Angie – it’s interesting to see a bit of the world i knew nothing about before i found you. It must be lovely to feel so grounded and connected to a place. My family always moved about as my father was in the Air Force (so you know all about that!) and i’ve moved about in my adult life too. And just this week i have started on my genealogy and found my fathers family were in the same village in the UK he was born in since as far back as we have managed to track so far, which is the 1690’s. I want to go and stand on that soil!

    It’s great to get daily updates on mama and her baby and to see more of Rascal and Elvis too. As a long time companion of various shepherd types, i have a particular soft spot for Rascal.

    • Thanks, Bolly, I am glad you are enjoying them. Yes, I do have a very deep roots in this area. My father lived here his entire life, except for the time he served during WW II. Home was never anywhere but here. I was gone for 13 years and lived in several other states and visted yet others, but this was always “home.”

      One day I would love to go to Killough in Northern Ireland and stand on the same soil as my paternal ancestors.

      There is something special about the shepherd breeds. We owned a previous Rascal (it’s been a name for dogs in our family for years) who was a shepherd/collie mix and what a sweet gentleman he was.

  3. These pics are so beautiful. What lovely country! Growing up there would have been amazing. The jonquils and the blue skies bode well for spring.

    I can’t get enough of the wonderful dogs. Rascal is right; he is as irresistible as Richard, just in a different way. Elvis is a handsome boy, too. Your guests seem very happy indeed. I suspect that they will become permanent residents. Wait until they meet the lads LOL

    • There were many good things about growing up here. I often give thanks we didn’t have 200 TV channels and computers and all the other things kids are now accustomed to having. I read a lot and drew and played a great deal of “Let’s Pretend.” Learned to entertain myself and stimulate my imagination.

      I do think I have a handsome group of animals on hand. 😉 What a lot of fun everyone could have together!

  4. What gorgeous pics the countryside is so pretty and the dogs, well what can I say I’ve fell for them in a big way lol. Spring seems to have come here in England we have had two beautiful sunny days and all the bulbs are breaking through.

Leave a Reply

