The Hobbit 3 release date moved to Dec. 2014: Thoughts?

Standard

From Deadline.com

EXCLUSIVE: Warner Bros has pushed the release date for The Hobbit: There And Back Again to December 17, 2014 from its original date of July 18, 2014. This is the final film in Peter Jackson’s trilogy adaptation of the JRR Tolkien novel. Hobbit 3 now avoids going up against X-Men: Days Of Future Past and so far is solo in the December 17th spot. The first film in the trilogy, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey has pulled in $300.9M domestically and $979.9M worldwide since it was released on December 14, 2012. The second installment in the franchise, The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug, will be released on December 13th.

BCO1eRNCIAAJQtL

“So–I will be sticking around a bit longer than expected . . .”

My first reaction to this news was, “Oh no. I’ve got to wait another six months to see the final installment of the trilogy.”

And then I thought, “Well, that’s six months more that I will have before being forced to say farewell to a beloved character *sniff*

*sob* NOT, of course, that Thorin will actually be dead. He’s already proactively been granted So Not Dead status.

Some are saving up funds hoping to travel to the final Hobbit premiere and this will give them extra time. And as someone at Twitter pointed out, July would have been in the middle of winter in NZ–perhaps not the best time for a premiere.

So–what’s YOUR reaction? Thought?

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

10 responses »

  1. Mmmmh, I like it because for me it is tradition to ‘go’ to Middleearth in December and I think it would feel wrong to do so in June….sounds a little bit crazy but that’s how I feel πŸ™‚

  2. Works for me. Gives me time to plan a Christmas excursion to Sevilla to see it. Sevilla in July can be excruciatingly hot and expensive. And maybe we’ll get to see more of Thorin in the second film, fingers crossed. You don’t suppose that Sir Peter could be persuaded to go contrary to Tolkien and let Thorin live, do you? Nah, thought not.

    • Of course, I am hoping for lots of Thorin in both the remaining films. I feel as if people (critics. maybe??) will really sit up and take notice in that final film, because it is going to be so darned angsty. Losing not only Thorin, but his *SPOILERS* nephews, too.

  3. When I read this, I wondered if they had decided after this year’s Oscar season that they weren’t going to get any awards bliss from this particular project, and so decided to go for the money instead. That is an uninformed comment, obviously. I’m sure someone knows better than I.

    • Someone–Mr. LDC?–mentioned that summer movies typically do better than Christmas ones (in terms of “blockbusters”) so I am not sure it’s the money angle. Now I haven’t researched that. Some think it’s to put extra work into the final film and aim for perfection in hopes of getting some awards. Others to keep it in line with all the LOTR films debuting in December. And by moving back premiere of final film, it also gives the franchise one more shot at Comic-Con and stirring up further interest. ??

      • I figured that the primary motivator would be something in terms of the industry (money, recognition) as opposed to an artistic concern. But I just don’t know enough about how movie distribution works (and admittedly don’t care all that much, lol).

        • I am currently reading both Alfred Hitchcock’s and Georgette Heyer’s bios (now there’s an odd couple LOL) and Hitch’s bio really provides an interesting look into how movies get made (including some of the roadblocks). It looks like Warner’s didn’t want the X-Men movie going up against Hobbit 2, either. Possibly felt each would dilute the other’s box office somewhat?

  4. So glad you know the story already-relief! I was going to say in one of my early comments how I wasn’t going to be able to bear it when his character died, but I didn’t want to completely ruin ANYone’s day πŸ˜₯ Having read the book, I cannot guarantee that I will not sob uncontrollably when Tolkien’s words actually come to pass on the silver screen. But I take comfort in the fact that we will all collectively agree that he is, as you say, SO NOT DEAD! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

