Ascroft’s “Adam”: A beautiful photo of a beautiful man

Standard

RobertAscroft-05

So much to love in this Ascroft photo, courtesy of Richard Armitage Net.

There’s the way the light accentuates the planes of Richard Armitage’s face, its strong features softened by that smile, and the radiance further highlights those fine fair hairs on his forearm and the architectural beauty of his hand. I see strength and grace and hope in this image. And a great deal of true masculine beauty.

What an amazing man. And how happy am I that I discovered him back in 2007.

thCA6UJTR5

And God looked at his creation, and it was very good indeed.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

24 responses »

  1. Dear Lord, I love, love, LOVE this photo-the light is so perfect and he looks so wonderful in his casual clothes. Would love to have this framed on my wall (like I don’t already have enough framed pix of Richard!)–my housemate calls it “the shrine”. Very tired from almost no sleep last night, so this was the first thing I saw today when I opened the computer and it was a real pick-me-up. Not that I didn’t already know this–but I think he really must be the most beautiful man on earth. Thank you, thank you.

  2. This is the comparison I thought of, too, when I saw this shot. “Strength and grace and hope” — exactly! And as long as we’re doing art-history stuff, I like the RA image better because his hand reaches out with energy and purpose, while Michelangelo’s Adam is much more passive. Richard’s hand on his thigh, and his overall posture is stronger, more engaged. Even fully clothed, one can see that Richard has a better build and his pose results in a better composition (as analyzed by Guylty and Serv). In Michelangelo’s fresco, the Almighty’s touch seems almost a casual after thought. Yet Ashcroft shoots Richard prepared to grasp the light when it is offered.

    • I agree–there is an active response with RA here–he is eager, whereas Adam looks a bit “meh” about the whole thing, doesn’t he? Somehow it is a very hopeful and invigorating image, aside from the obvious beauty of this subject.

  3. This picture overwhelmed me from the first time I saw it – even in the grainy newspaper one! Seeing this sharp image literally took my breath away! He is one beautiful human being and the pose, the clothes and the lighting seem to emphasize that fact. Robert Ascroft has somehow captured the essence of Richard Armitage in this shot. *melts*

  4. He just keeps getting better looking with age. Love this new photo, but I keep saying that with ever new photo we see.

  5. Oh oh oh my! *rubs eyes in disbelief* he is just so perfect. That smirk, the strong pose, the light, his arm, his leg, his hand on his leg… I can’t cope, must lie down…

Leave a Reply

