More Fun with Country Canines, Signs of Spring, and some Blonde Chick

Standard

BeFunky_P3105880.jpg

 

BeFunky_Watercolor_1puppybone.jpg

 

BeFunky_P3105888.jpg

 

BeFunky_Watercolor_1rascaladjack.jpg

 

BeFunky_Watercolor_jackandmom.jpg

 

BeFunky_Watercolor_mamama.jpg

 

BeFunky_P3095579.jpg

Trying to decide if I should ditch the bangs. Wore it like this Saturday and no one screamed in horror. No one recognised me either, come to think of it. Still trying to decide what to do re color. Interested in your opinions. Just want to change up things a bit, I reckon.Ā  Maybe I am having a mid-life crisis . .. šŸ˜‰

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

28 responses »

  1. Great pictures! That little puppy is sure growing well. He’s now Jack, right? And Mama Dawg? Are the flowers wild azaleas or? They look beautiful in the sun.

    You look great in this photo. (Check your e-mail in a bit for comments, ‘cuz I don’t want to plug products on your blog. ; ) )

    • I know, I don’t realize just how much he has grown until I look back over the photos from earlier on. Yes, he’s Jack. Mama Dawg is now SeaBee or SuSeaBee, she gets called both LOL Those are some azaleas Benny planted a while back before the land on the other side of the road was sold. Wasn’t sure they were going to ever bloom but spotted the color from the front deck today and went to investigate.

      And thanks! šŸ˜€

    • Thank you for the comment, I really appreciate it. I’ve worn bangs for years because of several scars left by a car accident in college, but thankfully they have faded quite a bit. Just getting frustrated with the bangs at present. šŸ˜‰ Ready for a change, I think.

      • I couldn’t see any of that! Bangs often look better longer, as yours did when you swept them aside. I go through stages where I get bored. Then BAD things happen šŸ™‚ I admire your restraint. Usually I go to the beauty supply place and experiment at 2 am. Not good!

        • As I said, they have faded, and I didn’t have anything out of the ordinary in terms of makeup covering them. I let my hair grow from just beyond chin length and very layered to several inches beyond my shoulders after being laid off from work back in 2011. I was injured in another car accident a couple of months later. I broke my tailbone which prevented me from going to the hairdresser’s for quite a while . . . so grow it did. šŸ˜‰ I have been trying to suppress any wild hairs (pun fully intended) I might get to do something drastic.

          • I’m sorry for your accidents! The scars must be very faded for them not to show up because the picture is very clear. Your hair looks pretty, I wouldn’t mess with it. Maybe for a change all you need is to wear an updo every once in a while to give you variety, especially now that it’s past your shoulders. I’m jealous! My hair is short now and I’m trying to grow it out.

            • Thank you, that last one was really a freak accident. My tires hit some gravel on a curve and suddenly it felt as if I was driving on ball bearings–I was sliding all over the place– and I couldn’t keep the darned thing on the road. I jumped a very deep ditch. before plowing through trees and brush in a large field. Comical when I look back and remember my hat and containers of yogurt and other groceries flying around the interior of the car as I jolted along.

              This was a sedan NOT designed for off-roading, if you know what I mean. The ditch jump is what did me in. And you just can’t put certain bones in a cast. šŸ˜‰

              I am sure when the warmer weather gets here I will be wearing my hair up more often to help me stay cool, along with wearing my hats.

              • That is horrible! You could have been killed. I’m glad you’re okay and that you can laugh about it! Then when it’s warm you can put your hair up and know that I’m green with envy that you can wear a ponytail and I can’t šŸ™‚ I’ll be back later to check out more of your blog. Have great day fedoralady!

              • I’ve decided in life you have to be willing to laugh at alot or you’d be crying far too much. You have a wonderful day also, and come back whenever you can. šŸ˜€

  2. The canine baby is adorable! I need my bangs to cover my forehead wrinkles and age spots, but you look great sans bangs. And the color is very close to what it was when you were little, so I love it, too. Spring has sprung here, too- azaleas in bloom all over the place.

    • Oh sis you would love Jack, he’s such a cutie. And his mom is so sweet, too. Yeah I once was golden-haired without needing any help from L’Oreal et al. šŸ˜‰ I bet it’s really beautiful down there now. We had buckets of rain today and turned much cooler.

      • Yes, we had a lot of rain yesterday followed by a cool-down here, too. But it’s supposed to be sunny and mild the rest of the week. Great for the spring-breakers who are here.

        • Weather can be so iffy during spring break time, can’t it? Hope the rest of their time is nice. We had a lovely, mild day today. Doggies didn’t have to hole up to stay out of rain!

  3. I’ve always had bangs, because I have such a high forehead (looks like acreage without the bangs!), but it looks to me like you could go either way. I also like the color–I have to do mine soon, but only because I’ve always hated having brown hair, so I dye it a dark auburn. You might try a lighter red if you really want a change, or go for a strawberry blond. That would be glorious with your skin tone.

    The puppies are adorable–and my best friend, who lives in Tennessee, also has a dog named Rascal. They just got him about six weeks ago, he was a rescue and he’s about two years old.

    • I have a rather high forehead, too, in addition to the old scars, which led me to cling to bangs for so long. I tried reddish highlights once but it came out all stripey. Just don’t want to be one of those people with the same hair style for 40 years. šŸ˜‰ I think the rescue programs for animals are so great. It has saved many a wonderful pet’s life. šŸ˜€

  4. Common wisdom says after a certain age a lady needs bangs to cover her forehead, but you certainly don’t. (I do, and I ignore the rule.)

    • Hmm. I hadn’t heard that. I have normally worn my hair off my face for years, except when my daughter gave me a Meg-Ryan-style fringe once. She is normally excellent, but that time Grrr! I gelled and used a headband to get the bangs slicked back and out of my eyes, until they finally grew out.

  5. More adorable doggie pictures! Thank you! I love your hair like that, Angie. šŸ™‚ It reveals a lot more of your face and also shows your lovely blue eyes to great advantage!

    • II am glad you enjoyed the doggy photos!

      have to tell you what my sweet husband said when I told him I was going to wear my bangs swept back that day. He looked at me and said, “Well, there’s just more beauty to behold.” I laughed and said he was teasing me, and he replied softly, “Only a little.” Awwww. He’s definitely a keeper. šŸ˜€

  6. I’m finally getting a chance to catch up – i worked the last five days and other than popping in to DF to straighten the cushions and make sure Leigh is behaving herself, i haven’t done much in Armitage world! In the wee hours of Sunday my quality time with my younger daughter involved learning how to manage my Pinterest; somehow i had managed to have 54 follows and 3 following despite only having been on once and not doing anything to my knowledge. I was convinced my account had been hacked until daughter pointed out the pictures i had were of George Clooney, RA and a sign saying ‘I love my men like my tea, hot and British’ which kind of suggested i may have set that up after a couple of tequila’s and then wiped it from the memory bank!

    The puppy is looking great – i love his fat little tummy!

    As for your hair – contrary to your comments about having a high forehead i think you have a perfectly balanced face and could go with or without bangs (weird word – i’m a Brit and i want to say ‘fringe’). I have a chin length messy bob and get my fringe cut so at first it drapes softly over one side of my forehead but then can be pushed back as it grows. It’s a bit more forgiving than no fringe and if i am really tired and pale i can hide behind it! As for the colour – it’s lovely. As your sister says, it’s what you were born with so it suits your skin tone (although that doesn’t follow for me – i was born with jet black hair and now have to lighten it so as not to frighten small children- and so the streak of white doesn’t make me look like i’m wearing a skunk on my head!)

Leave a Reply

