It’s going to be a barrel of fun: RA’s thoughts on TDOS *spoilers*

Standard

http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/news.html#mar16

Richard Armitage Net has the one-page Q&A interview with Richard from Total Film‘s May 2013 issue in its news for today. RA talks about the intensity of working with Sir Peter–a director who “throws down the gauntlet” to everyone working with him, it seems–and some of what we can expect in The Desolation of Smaug. Yes, there is a bit of a spoiler in it, so be forewarned before you read.

What was delightful for me was reading how much of a thrill ride Richard expects the dwarves in barrels scene–orginally meant to be the finale of the first movie–to be. From his description, it does sound pretty exciting and it’s what he’s most looking forward to seeing in the film. And think about it. Wet. Roaring. Thorin. *thud* Works for me!

Click on GIF to see wet, roaring Thorin in action

http___makeagif.com_media_10-04-2012_1jgLBw

Reading Richard’s responses makes me happy once more that he got this role and seems so very satisfied with the experience of working with Peter Jackson and making these films. It’s really been a dream come true for him, and possibly “the most important piece of work I will ever do.”

And now I am all the more ready to see the second film. And wet, roaring Thorin. Oh, yeah. Dry is good, too, of course.

thehobbit-p1_1274

In the meantime, RA, I’ll be thinking about you as you get back into fighting shape to film the Battle of Five Armies scene for the final film. Oh, the places you are taking us . . . I truly hope you are enjoying the journey. You deserve it!

7 responses »

  1. I bet he’s pleased that he conquered his fear of water once again! I’ll be thinking of that through the entire sequence! (While drooling, of course!)

  2. Giggles about the barrel “thrill ride”. It is great that RA is having such a wonderful experience with making this film. I can’t envision anyone else would have “become” the character of Thorin as RA does.

    And another giggle, your Thorin portrait above with RA as Thorin smouldering in the doorway has been my desktop image for a few weeks now. Every time I turn off my computer–and the desktop icons go away–this beautiful image vividly pops out on the computer screen. And I say to myself his line, “Gandalf”. Ha!

  3. That caption for the (dry) picture is the best. Caption. Ever. In the history of the world. 😀 He would leave one rather shaken and stirred, wouldn’t he? 😉 I just can’t get over his voice!!!

Leave a Reply

