Sunday RA SmoRgAsbord: Memes!

Standard

pizap.com13635199164991

pizap.com13635408732221

pizap.com13635446132921

pizap.com13635451372801

pizap.com13635416919072fff

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

21 responses »

  1. Loving the beautiful beard and enigmatic eyes! 😀 So blue… make a girl weak in the knees, they will. You’re so talented with this, it makes the RA experience even more wonderful!

  2. So nice! My fave is the Lucas’ one… never accepted what writers did in 9th Season 😦
    Thank you, these memes are really funny and great 😀

      • Many of us abjure and utterly reject Spooks S9. So wrong in so many ways. Lucas North is, was, and now shall be SND Lucas North, heroic, loyal, and very sexy spy.

            • Actually, I do write some myself and have come up with one or two other scenarios–just makes me mad when I think about how badly they destroyed his character by concocting that ludicrous back story that just came out of nowhere. Lucas was conflicted and heroic, but he was always Lucas and I still see him that way.

              • There was no good reason for the blatant character assassination of a character that had been well established and so carefully crafted by this gifted actor. It was, frankly, a load of hogwash of the first order. We all knew Lucas was damaged to some degree from what he had suffered–who wouldn’t be?–but the core of the man, a brave, honorable, good man, remained intact. John Bateman and his fluid morality would never have made it through those eight years of deprivation and torture, he’d have spilled every secret he knew and then some.

                That’s why, as good as Richard’s performance was in S9 and as good as he looked, I just can’t bring myself to get those DVDs and rewatch it all. It’s akin to torturing myself. I am no glutton for punishment, quite frankly.

              • I do have them and I did watch it, but it was truly painful–almost as difficult as watching Guy lose his life at the end of “Robin Hood”, which, incidentally, I have not been able to watch again since the first viewing. I am no glutton for punishment, either–had I known beforehand how it all ended, I’m not sure I would have gotten it. Not sorry I did, mainly due to Richard’s performance, but it was very tough.

              • I have seen all of series 9, saw it shortly after each ep aired, but not quite by legitimate channels. Enough said. I had fully expected to purchase the set as I had all others, but just couldn’t bring myself to do it. No can’t rewatch Guy’s passing, either. Too hard. Cried liked buckets after watching on TV. I am glad I watched in support of RA, but not really for any other reason. I came to dread and fear each week’s ep instead of looking forward to it as I had in S7 and to a lesser degree, in S8.

  3. I cried like a baby after watching Guy’s death, and when Lucas went off the building, I almost had to turn it off. Granted, he dies beautifully–but I will also not be watching the second series of “Strike Back”, since I already know what happens in the first episode. What infuriates me there is that they are hawking season 2 as season 1 on this side of the pond–as soon as I saw that on Amazon, I wrote a review of Series 1 and made sure to explain that Richard was only really in that first season and was the main reason to watch.

    • Good for you about the review. As far as I am concerned, there is only *one* true Strike Back, and that’s the one starring John Porter, not those other two muscleheads.

  4. Absolutely–I didn’t really bring series 2 into my review much since I hadn’t watched any of it, except to say that for me, there was only one “Strike Back” and that was the original starring Richard Armitage. I also went so far as to say that if you could only get it in Region 2, it was still worth purchasing and treating yourself to a regionless dvd player. For shame, HBO!

    • I think they only offered it in Blu-ray in our region. Why not the regular DVD, too? Didn’t make sense. I have a regionless player, a great investment. I agree, shame on HBO and Cinemax!!

      • Everyone should have a regionless–when I think of how many things I would not have seen without one (most of which involved Richard), or would have had to wait forever to get hold of, it was one of the best things I ever did for myself. By the by, I found something the other day I thought you might be interested in–do you have a private email address I can where i can contact you?

        • Sure, I will email you. 😉

          Yes, the regionless player (and they really are quite affordable) is a great investment. I’ve not only enjoyed many of RA’s works on it, I’ve also found period and contemporary dramas at Amazon UK for much less than what I’d pay here, even factoring in free shipping versus paying for overseas shipping (which is kind of ridiculous, too).

Leave a Reply

