My kingdom for a remote!

Standard

We have a plethora of remote control devices in this house. Remotes for various appliances, electronics, a ceiling fan. Enough remote controls for every human and animal member of the household with extras to spare.

I have a remote control for this DVD player. I have one–but I don’t know where in the %$#@# it is. Right now I have the satellite remote, and the regionless DVD player (not hooked up at moment) and the one that switches the air conditioner on and off, which I mistook for the DVD remote. I just don’t have the one I actually need.

I am trying to watch my DVD of The Hobbit (saving the Blu-ray for when I can wrest the PSP from spouse to hook up to the bigger flat screen with the Surround Sound). And I am slightly frustrated.

thCAJC93YU

Ever tried to watch a film on disc without the remote control? It’s like being back in the archaic days of my childhood. There’s no rewinding, fast forwarding or pausing (except by pushing the “pause” button on the player itself). No scene selection. Thus, when you accidentally push the “Open/Close” button instead of “Pause/Play” on the player, intending to go act as Dishwasher Fairy, you find yourself back at the beginning of the film again instead of the campfire scene with Balin speaking to the Company. *sigh*

Well, Dishwasher Fairy has come and gone, that appliance chugging away now, and I’ve started over again watching the film.  Spouse is singularly unsympathetic to my plight.

“What did you do with the remote control?”

Snort. If I knew that, I’d have it in my hand, wouldn’t I?

Enough of my troubles. I’ve got the DVDs in my hands, which is more than many people do. And I will find the remote at some point. Actually, my husband will likely stroll in and lay his hands right on it.

Richard looks and sounds a right treat, I must say, his soulful eyes expressing a myriad of emotions, those deep, roughened velvet tones rumbling through the Surround Sound beautifully. *sigh* And that smile when he’s still in the burlap sack. My gosh, but he’s gorgeous!

And now–how about a pair of hot hairy dudes to make you smile?  😀

BeFunky_untitled-181.jpg

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

10 responses »

  1. I can relate–when we first moved here, one of our dvd remotes disappeared for several months, and we still haven’t figured out how it got where we found it when it finally resurfaced. Personally, I think those things have lives of their own.

      • Thumper understands, really she does. She may even try to find the remote for you. As for washing machines, do you recall the brilliant cartoon by Jules Feiffer (?sp) where a man tries to outwit the washing machine, only to receive a message in the last panel “Stop fighting and bring the machine more socks”?

  2. See, I always know where to look for missing socks or mittens–BJ thinks they’re cat toys and makes off with them if I leave them lying around. He stole one pair of socks I got as a Christmas gift before I ever got them on my feet.

    • Lucky has done the same thing with a pair of wonderful merino wool socks I got for Christmas. I just fished them out of his treasure stash.

  3. My DVD arrived today too so naturally I HAD to watch it! My TV isn’t huge but it didn’t stop me enjoying every last second of it. I even watched right to the end of all the credits. After seeing all the amazing people who worked on this movie I felt I owed it to them to do so. Of course I fell in love all over again with a certain King of the Dwarves. 😉 Those eyes still get to me! *melts*

  4. Thanks for the smiles. I have sympathy for the remote problem. I have an old television and a (borrowed) DVD player; neither has a remote. When my DVD arrives next week, if I don’t have trouble with customs, I’ll see if it will play on the supposedly region-free player. Otherwise, I’ll watch on my laptop.

  5. What a disaster!!! No rewinding or pausing!? Have you found it yet? When I watched my digital copy the 1st time it took me 3 hours. “Thats the length of the film!” I hear you say – well I only got up to the part with the Troll King!!!! (rewind, pause, rewimd, pause…)

  6. When I visit my parents: they have a DVD player attached to their TV, for which they do not have a remote, and a remote for the cable that also controls the TV. I have asked them so many times if I couldn’t combine all three, or get the cable person to do it, and they always refuse. It means, for instance, that they can’t ever use the subtitles in a movie that’s hard for them to hear or understand … but heaven forbid we change this ramshackle system to something that might work … grr …

Leave a Reply

