Armitage: So Expressive

Standard

After a long, gloomy, sleepy sort of winterish spring Friday I succumbed well before my normal bedtime, only to wake up between 2 and 3 a.m. The weather is shifting again–more rain and thunderstorms on their way, with 70 to 80 percent chance of the wet stuff all day and into the night and to a lesser extent, into Sunday & Sunday night. I’d say that was perfect movie-watching weather. A repeat engagement with TH, only this time in Blu-ray, perhaps?

thehobbit-p1_1277ddThorin thinks a rewatch of The Hobbit is a grand idea.

I’ve been reading a weighty tome (or it would be if it weren’t on my Kindle Fire), a sort of family biography of the Brontes, beginning with papa Patrick and his years at Cambridge. Lots of fascinating historical details, including the mention of a manorial house owned by a certain baronet named Armitage.  A mention which naturally led my thoughts to an Armitage of much more recent vintage . . .

Last night before falling asleep I worked a while on editing some photos I had snaffled from the wonderful Russian RA website http://armitage-online.ru

(If you’ve never visited, they have a terrific collection of Richard photos from various media events, photo shoots and more from over the years,  and always seem to come up with some shots I’ve never seen anywhere else.)

I really love how expressive our Richard is when engaged in an interview (or even when forced to shill for WB in those little videos) and it’s nice when that emotiveness is also seen in a photo shoot, thus offering us higher-quality images with which to work (versus video screencaps).

That mobile face with its crinkled brow, querying eyebrows, expressive mouth. those elegant masculine hands with their ever-present need to also talk; the intelligence, thoughtfulness and humor seen in his beautiful eyes: all this and more adds up to images I return to again and again.

39205572

152032807

166628205

765593188

350295866

 

 

 

447526545dd

 

 

 

 

 

172056552

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

7 responses »

  1. Thanks, Angie, you always seem to find the best pictures, and a lot of ones I haven’t seen before. Nice way to start out the day, especially since it now seems like I’m fighting a nasty sore throat which has appeared out of nowhere with the attendant case of laryngitis. Bring on the herbal tea–thank God I have a whole kitchen cabinet of it!

    • Glad you liked. I give credit to those determined Russian fans and others who ferret out so much we wouldn’t have otherwise and then share with us. 😀 Sorry to hear about the sore throat. I have dealt with chronic laryngitis over the years, which was frustrating when trying to teach and then work at the newspaper and do interviews. Hope you feel better soon! ((hugs))

      • Thanks again, Angie–I, too, have had many more bouts of laryngitis over the years than I care to remember (it’s one of the reasons I don’t sing anymore, my throat was so damaged between recurring bouts of bronchitis, pneumonia and the aforementioned laryngitis). Luckily, I shouldn’t have to do much talking the next few days–guess I’ll limit myself to sighing over our guy. At least that doesn’t hurt and no one notices if I sound awful.

    • Feel better soon, Stephanie. Not “out of nowhere” — children in winter are very generous, as you know. My daughter swears by “Mandarin Spice” tea when she gets hit. Good luck!

      • Thanks, Leigh–should have known something was going on the last two nights, but it didn’t really hit until sometime in the wee hours of this morning. I also have good luck with hot orange Tang, but for now guess I’ll just have to bite the bullet and wait until it passes.

  2. Mmmmm. Pictures *purring now* Still cold and rainy; river still running high, fast, and muddy; still inwardly yowling at the fibro, currently at 6+; one eye on what I’m reading, one eye on the river.

  3. There are some actors who have absolutely no emotion in their work (won’t name them but they exist), but RA is just so believable, he doesn’t overdo it but he doesn’t slack, either. If only everyone had his work ethic. *sigh* He is so expressive and beautiful… in a manly way, of course.

Leave a Reply

