Are You Ready for the Sneak Preview?: Thoughts

Standard

As I am sure everyone knows by now, Sir Peter is bringing us a Q&A session and live sneak preview of the second installment of The Hobbit trilogy, Desolation of Smaug (or is that “Schmaug?” 😉 ) this afternoon at 3 p.m. EST today.

If you are planning to participate and haven’t already, I suggest you take a look at this post at TORn, There’s some good info here:

http://www.theonering.net/torwp/2013/03/24/70167-the-hobbit-desolation-of-smaug-live-event-today-heres-what-you-need-to-know/

hobbitauj-0191500629ff

I have mixed feelings about this event. As much as I am eager for any little morsel I can obtain about the next movie(dare I hope for wet roaring Thorin in a barrel??) , it bothers me it is more or less limited to fans here in North America. And since the box office for THAUJ was actually larger overseas than domestically, it seems more than a little unfair. Since I tend to be a champion of inclusivity rather than exclusivity, it dampens some of my enthusiasm. I have already been hacked off about all these “exclusive” extras on the various editions of TH DVD.  I mean, we are loyal and enthusiastic fans, but we ain’t made of money, folks!

Then, of course, there is the ever-present issue of my not-so-high-speed internet. Who knows how it will behave? I can only hope for the best and not stress out over it, as life will go on.  Starting to wax more and more philosophical in my mature years.

Finally, there is the matter of the fact something unpleasant going on in the region of my previously fractured tailbone. We had storms all night long and between arthritis and FMS, this surely played a factor in the pain reaching out to bite me in the–well, you get the idea.

Simply leaning down to pick up a 2-liter bottle from the floor in the kitchen this morning set it off. I hobbled back to the bedroom and my heating pad and popped an aspirin and Aleve. Hoping it eases off soon. 😦

So, are you planning to watch? Thoughts? Rants? Hopes?

(I will be back later, assuming all goes well and I do see it, to talk about the event.)

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

33 responses »

  1. I am of two minds–part of me wants to wait and be enthralled as I was when seeing “The Hobbit” for the first time (although I was the same last night when watching it again, even as rotten as I’m feeling at the moment). Actually, a BIG part of me feels that way, so I’m thinking I probably won’t watch–plus, we only have one laptop, which makes it difficult for both of us to watch something at the same time. I will probably content myself with watching the background information and films on the second disc for now. There’s something to be said for blissful anticipation–although I will be most interested to see the insights from others who do watch. Enjoy!

    Also–hope you’re feeling better soon, Angie. Sounds like you’re having a rough time, and I’m sorry.

  2. Oh, I agree about the exclusivity of all of these Hobbitty extras. I can’t see my special extras on my version because I don’t have Bluray! I am planning on seeing it though. Hope you’re feeling better soon. We’re having rain/sleet/snow mix, so my hip is saying “Hello!”

  3. Hope you feel better, Angie! And {fingers crossed} that your internet behaves itself!!!

    I’ll be there. I admit it, I’m the sucker they’re always talking about. I’m really interested in what Sir Peter has to say. And I’m an information junkie. 😉

  4. I’m in Europe, so no hope for me. Meanwhile, I, too, am disturbed by WB’s efforts to keep extracting money from fans. Isn’t it enough to go see the movie (sometimes several times), buy the books, buy figures and Legos, buy the DVDs and Blu-ray editions, and so on? Some of us are tapped out, facing expenses that would daunt even someone with deep pockets. Does WB only want rich fans? I think what WB is doing is poor practice. I’ll be lucky to see The Desolation of Smaug when it opens in cinemas here. Meanwhile, if I had any discretionary funds, I’d be spending them on Amazon via RAnet, so some of it would go to Richard’s preferred charities.

  5. Apparently the first part of my comment got eaten by the WP dragon. I wanted to tell you I’m sorry you’re having such a rough time. Sending tender virtual hugs, healing thoughts, and wishes for respite from the pain. May the kitties apply their version of feline healing. It must get better, yes?

  6. Well you know my thoughts on the matter! I won’t harp on about it as I have already had a rant on Twitter about it all. I just think that in this day and age where the world is really a smaller place thanks to technology it’s a shame that everyone is still rewarded (or penalised) for living in certain counties. And the fact that PJ is from NZ but – and I believe this is all purely about money -still chooses USA to not only have this event but release the DVD before anywhere else is greedy and selfish. Oh, look at that I am having a rant! I will climb down off my soap box now.
    All that aside, I’m really glad that you DO get to take part Angie and I’m reying on you to let us all know how it went and if you did in fact get to see our wet, roaring dwarf (ohhh there’s my happy place)

Leave a Reply

