We interrupt regularly scheduled GuyDay for–PUPPY! (And Mama).

Standard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s Jack, a cracker Jack of a grand little dog.   Those eyes get me. And the floppy ears. And the freckles on his legs. And . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The lovely Seabee and her baby boy’s cute little freckled butt.

Mama Seabee is set to be spayed on April 24th through the Alabama Animal Alliance in Montgomery. We’ll have to have her at my cousin’s house at 5:30 a.m. that day (yawn!) and she should be back at Rock and Kandys’s house by 4:30 p.m. assuming all goes well.  It will cost us considerably less to go through AAA and they have an excellent reputation.

(I should add we have a wonderful vet here who does a certain number of free and low-cost spay and neuters for pet owners in need of assistance. He’s also my former pupil and as nice a young man as you could hope to know.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

27 responses »

  1. What a sweetie–I miss having a dog, although I certainly adore my feline herd (don’t know if only six qualifies as a herd any more–we used to have 11). He’s adorable.

    • I am glad we can have both. Cats are the animal kingdom’s philosophers and dogs, their class clowns. All lovely and special in their own ways. Jack has a lot of personality. He was attempting to untie my shoes earlier LOL

          • My best friend in Tennessee and her husband adopted a pit bill mix a few months ago, and when they did, the people at the shelter told them he was probably about three years old (he’s adorable, by the way). They have since discovered that he’s maybe 1 1/2 to two years old, and still has a great deal of puppy in him–he loves to play and chase things and land his whole 50 pounds in her lap in one bound. Also quite a character!

            • Sounds like a wonderful dog. I really believe in giving homes to shelter pets and rescue animals. I would never encourage anyone to buy from a pet shop–too often they get animals from puppy mills, where there is overbreeding, lack of socialization for the animals and a general neglect of their welfare. Reputable, responsible breeders are , of course, another matter.

              • My friend still lives on Signal Mountain, which is also where I lived when I was down there–Crossville was right up the road. Still can’t believe I never got over there in 9 years!

              • Signal Mountain–ah, it used to terrify me as a child, taking the drive on the edge on that precipice–chilling! So many memories of trips there and back and the fun times we had during visits to Mama’s family. It’s sort of like when we lived in SD and never drove over to Devil’s Tower in Wyoming. Did make it to Mt. Rushmore many times.

  2. I’m sure Guy won’t mind sharing his day with such great dogs. So very sweet! I’m glad you can go to the Alabama Animal Alliance for Seabee’s spay surgery this month, even if you have to be up really early. Then it will be little Jack’s turn soon.

    I hope to get Lucky in to be neutered this month, too. He hasn’t sprayed or anything yet, except for a little nocturnal emission.

    • Yeah, she’s worth it. 😀 Well, you know Guy had a puppy Allan gave him in “Lost and Found” and was very, very fond of it (even if he didn’t want to admit it). Yeah, we’ll probably get Jack in sometime in May.

    • I was just out there again with the BPs (Bottomless Pits) Jack is all boisterous puppy tonight but Seabee is pretty mellow. Those dark chocolate eyes of hers positively melt you.

  3. so cute! And wee Jack with his freckles! They are lovely – and I totally agree about always getting a rescue dog. We are planning to get one soon (still trying to make my husband say the final YES)

  4. You know me, it’s all about rescue and adoption. 😉 Seriously, this is how you find your new best friend, or how you get found.

  5. They’re both so sweet. I know you guys are enjoying them, and they, of course, are “lucky dogs” to have found a welcomung home.

Leave a Reply

