OT: S-A-T-U-R-D-A-Y Night . . . Beauties and the Battle against Cancer

Standard

I should be asleep. I didn’t get any sleep last night nor did I get a nap today. I’ve been charging batteries, clearing camera cards, preparing signs, and trying to gear myself up for a very long night tomorrow. It will start shortly after 4 p.m. for setting up the audio/video equipment and end sometime after 92 contestants of varying ages take the stage of the dear old Ritz once the curtain goes up at 6 p.m.

The Miss Relay Pageant is a fundraiser for our county’s annual Relay For Life for the American Cancer Society, an event for which I served as publicity chair for a number of years. We do love our beauty queens here in the South, as witnessed by the number of contestants.

official logo of the American Cancer Society R...

official logo of the American Cancer Society Relay For Life (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Teams are busy this time of year holding bake sales and car washes and raffles and cook-offs and various other ways to raise monies for the event, with the actual Relay always set for a Friday night in mid-May at our local YMCA football field. It’s a night filled with live entertainment,  competitions, food and lots of fun for all ages, a night to “Celebrate, Remember and Fight Back.”

Those who have fought the battle and survived are celebrated with a victory march around a track created on the field, throngs of people applauding and cheering them on.

Those who have lost their cancer fight are remembered in a special Luminaria ceremony during which the stadium lights are extinguished. The ceremony is lit by the flickering lights of hundred of candles as loved ones’ names are read aloud, their photos appearing on the giant screens. It is a part of the event that never fails to move me.  I lost my dear grandmother to cancer; my mother-in-law lost an eye to the disease but lived many years afterwards cancer-free. My brother-in-law and both of his daughters are all cancer survivors.

I missed last year’s event, but I hope to attend this year’s. A portion of each DVD sale we make tomorrow night will go to the Relay.  We hope it shall be a win-win situation . . .

Here are a few photos from the 2011 event, which, as you might guess from the young rodeo riders who led the opening ceremony, had a Western theme:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

7 responses »

  1. I hope it goes well, too!!! Sounds like a fantastic way to help the Relay for Life and those fighting cancer 🙂 It always warms my heart in a kind of bittersweet way when these kinds of things are held. Prayers and good thoughts for it to go flawlessly. ❤

  2. I do hope you have a chance to get some rest before you have to leave this afternoon–I fear you have a very long night ahead of you, and I know you’ve missed a large amount of sleep the last few nights. Good luck with it all.

  3. Wishing you and Bennie good luck, good weather, and good stamina for this event. I, meanwhile, have been strolling through my collected photos of RA and cracking up at your bubbles and captions. Great medicine!

  4. Thanks, ladies, for all your good wishes. I finally fell asleep rather late and then got caught up in very vivid dreams–couldn’t seem to wake up after that, they kept pulling me back in! As a result, feel a bit hung over again this afternoon.

    Benny’s trying to catch a nap B4 our long night. He’s already been by theatre and set up some things to save us a little time 2 night. Two thumbs up! We are going to try to grab a bite at Mickey D’s before we get started so we won’t be starving before we get out of there later.

    My hair is clean and drying now and I have my new turquoise spring tote with the polka dot straps (some peeps are into shoes, I am a sucker for handbags) packed with my necessary stuff for the evening. It’ll soon be time to paint and spackle the face for the evening. LOL

    Catch you all later!!

Leave a Reply

