Tah-dah moments, footie fun & that blasted elephant in the room.

Standard

I am late to the party and I apologize. After an extraordinarily tiring Saturday and a largely lethargic Sunday, I couldn’t get inspired or motivated to do much more than catch up on some comments, wash a load of clothes and do a bit of work for the next DVD project, the Relay For Life Pageant.

As I was doing some photo editing, this particular pic really made me smile. I like the sort of “ta-dah!” moment with the one little red-haired girl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The contestants ranged in age from four months to, shall we say, “of a certain age.” Many are not normally pageant contestants; they participate in events like this to raise funds and awareness.  An oncology nurse from Mobile came to be one of the adult contestants; she walked in honor of all patients battling cancer. Everyone took the stage in honor and/or memory of a loved one, friend, neighbor or classmate with the disease.

Take a look at this “tomboy” named Sydney:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She is the young teenage daughter of a long-time friend who works at our bank. Marie, was diagnosed with a very rare form of lung cancer several years ago. I am happy to say this lovely young wife and mother of two beat it and has gone on to be a very active part of the Relay For Life Board every year. Sydney has been a helpmate to her mom all along the way, a really good kid.

Is it any wonder the two pageants this normally jeans-and-t-shirt kind of girl has participated in– her middle school’s (a requirement by event sponsor for its female yearbook editors) and in this ACS fundraiser, Sydney was chosen first runner-up?  I find it perfectly reasonable. I can’t wait to show some of the pix to her mom.  Sydney is a beautiful young lady both inside and out.

And now, on to some Richarding!

531976_439153266177657_2017111501_n                                   Richard with Jamie Edwards of Magic FM.

I read through the transcript of Richard’s radio interview with Rick Astley (and NOW I can’t get “Never Gonna Give You Up” out of my head) and saw Astley brought up “that old chestnut,” yes, the story of young Richie running off to Budapest to toss batons and perhaps, perform a bit of mime (or is that “meme”?).  I think Richard should just start mock-strangling chat show hosts with more ferocity and maybe they’d stop asking.

Looks as if he’s still keeping a safe distance from the whole Richard III project. And we now know he’s a fan of Gotye (one of my little fantasies is to sit down with RA over an cup of coffee and talk music, films, TV and books. A very large cup of coffee . . .).

Here’s the link to the transcripts at Richard Armitage Central: http://t.co/TgHZLeGJkX

Go to the news page at http://richardarmitagecentral.co.uk/news/ for a link to the audiofile.

jamie edwards and Rich playing table footie

My gosh, but I like this photo of Mr. A playing tabletop footie with Jamie Edwards of Magic FM.  Apparently, Rich’s footie skills are rusty, but I’d say his form is just–dandy. The boots, the hands, the long, long legs in those jeans . . .  lots to love.

Richard will be in what we can assume is a pre-recorded interview on Steven Wright’s show on BBC Radio 1 at 2 p.m. Monday UK time. Wonder if he gets the circus question yet again? Bless his heart.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

10 responses »

  1. HI Fedoralady aka Angie! I have been a fan of the wonderful Richard Armitage for a while now, since North and South and those smouldering looks really! Lately though I would say my fandom is becoming more time consuming! I trawl youtube looking for clips and ways to hear that voice, replay my North and South DVD, bought and watched the Robin Hood Series (all of them!) within 3 days and am sat here eagerly awaiting the arrival my The Hobbit DVD!
    I found your wonderful YouTube compilations very early on – wow! particularly love the ones with the screencaps, very much my thoughts exactly! And have more recently found this site! I have spent many happy hours catching up on all the previous news and photos, and just when I thought I couldn’t love this man anymore …I find I do! Yes he’s gorgeous, but more fascinating still is his intelligence, his humbleness and his humanness and of course his talent! Thankyou so much for making sure his fans see him as more than a pretty face! My 10 year old daughter is just getting into acting and I’m hoping if I’m a really good girl, and I wish hard enough she’ll get the opportunity to work with him and I can chaperone! Thankyou again and long may the luscious, talented, heavenly and human man reign!

    • Hi, Denise and welcome to the blog and the world of “Richarding.” 😀 It’s very important to me we celebrate all facets of Richard. If he were only a good-looking, fit fellow, I would never have started this blog. It’s everything else he offers that make him the complete package. As you say, his humility, modesty, kindness and all the charisma and talent come together to create a wonderful human being, beautiful inside and out. That’s what has brought so many into the fandom and kept them there as loyal admirers.

      Good luck with your daughter’s career. I can imagine no better actor with whom to work. I believe you could learn a great deal from him and also have an amazing experience. Vive Richard! 😀

      • Thanks for the lovely warm welcome Angie! Thanks also for the good luck wishes for my daughter, very very early days for her here, lucky enough to appear in the six nations promotions for Wales over here in blighty! Proved her worth by being polite, kind and friendly at all times and went from general kid in promos to actually having lines! Auditions come and go, some more successful than others. I think she can quote RA quite well now as I often use things he has been quoted as saying or seen in interviews to keep her going!
        I think he would make a lovely on screen dad to her, and of course real mum would need to be close by!
        Oh and yes, he looks wonderful playing table footie! I’m off now to watch my newly arrived Hobbit! I’m justifying the time by saying I need to check the suitability of it for my youngest daughter (another wonderful little cutie) but of course I’m just after an excuse to watch the film multiple times in the first few days of owenership!

  2. I really really love “his humility, modesty, kindness and all the charisma and talent (that) come together to create a wonderful human being, beautiful inside and out” He is an amazing person. But please just indulge me for a moment as I scream “OH MY GOD HOW HOT DOES HE LOOK PLAYING TABLE FOOTBALL!!!” Thanks. 😉

  3. Thanks for the great post! Just seeing RA’s impossibly long gorgeous legs in those drool-worthy jeans made my heart have instant palpitations — bring the crash cart ladies!!!! Or actually bring Dr. Alec Track please and thank you! Cheers! (Btw, is anyone starting the BeardWatch or BeardCountDown?)

  4. I love the pictures of your contestants, especially the top one–the exuberance of the little girl in the middle cracks me up. I know Richard is tall, I just hope he doesn’t throw his back out again at that very short table! But he looks gorgeous anyway, as always!

  5. I laughed at child no.17 – with her hands on her hips and her severe expression! I somehow feel her heart is not in the pageant scene!

    RA…long legs… Is it hot in here?

Leave a Reply

