Early RA roles: From Lifeguard Lothario to Edwardian Stagedoor Johnny

Standard

coldfeet_014lee

That shameless flirty-girty, fitness instructor and lifeguard, Lee Preston, in the final series of the popular comedy-drama “Cold Feet.” What this lad can do for a Speedo . . .

ilm_35cccc

Philip Turner, sportsman, philanderer and possible murder suspect in the episode “In Divine Proportion”-Inspector Lynley Mysteries.

marple_obi_011

Another Philip, Philip Durant, and another  fellow with an eye for ladies to whom he isn’t married in “Ordeal by Innocence,” a Miss Marple Mystery.

MA_021

RA plays the mustachioed Bill Chatford in the 30’s period piece “Malice Aforethought.” This time, he’s the one who gets cuckolded.  We do get to see him in a pair of handsome purple pajamas . . .

10fangelface

Watch out for that deceptively cherubic face of dashing man-about-town Percy Courtney in “Marie Lloyd.” Percy loves Marie, but he’s got a weakness for the good life and good-looking ladies–and quite a temper.

9 responses »

  1. These roles are all so well-crafted, so different, even if in the brief clips I’ve seen in the two that I haven’t in their entirety. You can see the gifted actor at work, making you believe each of them. I’ve just got to see those porple pyjamas.

    • Yes, they are all cut from the whole cloth. I can see why people who saw some of his earlier, smaller roles didn’t immediately recognize this was Sir Guy or Lucas, etc.–he so becomes his characters. LOL the purple PJs, I need to find a screencap of those. He’s not feeling very well in the scene, alas.

  2. Thank You for the picture of Philip Turner, the first RA role I saw him in. I still think all of you who saw in N&S or Robin Hood where lucky. I was to busy I think (it was a few years ago when I first saw the show 2005 or 2006, not sure. it was on PBS) watching Inspector Lynley at that time. But I still remember the show very well.

    • Yes, he left a memorable impression in that role. I just wish we knew for certain what the outcome was for his character (don’t want to say anymore re spoilers).

          • Come to think about it I also saw RA as Philip Durant and Bill Chatford before any other roles too. Thank you PBS. I also think there is just something that he does to make the characters more human. No matter how bad they are, in a way you feel for them. That is talent at it’s best.

  3. What I find surprising about Richard (or perhaps it’s something in me) but I have found that no matter what character he “inhabits” – as he always does – and whether I like or dislike that character – it never affects how I feel about him; whereas with other actors, if I dislike a character they play it can turn me off them in such a way that I have a hard time watching them in anything else! Ian Glen (Vaughn Edwards in Spooks) comes to mind. 😦 Poor guy! I thoroughly disliked him in Spooks, and didn’t like his character in Downton Abbey or Cranford and I’m still not sure what I think of him in GoT!!

    • I am the same. And truth be told, I can’t even despise the characters who truly behave in a reprehensible fashion, simply because RA always invests them with humanity that allows me a degree of empathy even if I hate their actions. I know what you mean about Ian, too. He’s a fine actor but ever since he appeared as the Miserable Vaughn I find myself drawing back just a bit when he’s on my screen–even though Joreh in GoT is considered a good guy!
      And we all know how I feel about Julie Graham. If you don’t, just know I am not a fan of the actress LOL

Leave a Reply

