Good grief, what a day! Ricky, I need you.

Standard

Thursday has sort of been my Monday. Internet and phone went down, very likely due to a certain set of dogs, in particular a puppy fond of chewing on wires. *ahem*

Couldn’t get the DVD of the Relay Pageant to play on my laptop so I could listen to entire soundtrack and point out any issues for Benny. Well, tried repeatedly playing it in the DVD player and couldn’t get it to work there, either.  I hadn’t had much sleep last night so I finally gave in and did what this dude appears to be doing.

734665_10151361386094483_275413576_n

After a lot of tossing and turning and grumbling about Even Worse Knee, I DID discover I could hear the whole pageant DVD through the Surround Sound hooked up to the player. So I sat here tonight listening while I re-read some of my writing.

I read through what little of the revised version of The Lady & The Panther is actually on this laptop (got to find my WriteWay software!) along with a chapter or two of JP fic Truce and part of The Hazards of Love, an erotic vampire pirate tale I co-wrote with Applebeing at LJ several years ago.

Have decided I am not such a lousy writer after all. Just too many doubt fairies and certain RL issues bugging me, such as my unemployment compensation having run out. I love blogging, but it doesn’t pay all that well. 😉

Hubby late getting home having attended another POTR rehearsal.  He managed to finally get the internet back up by running phone lines out the window and directly into the utility box out there. We have signal!!

greenacres

Childhood memories of watching Eddie Albert as Oliver forced to make calls directly from the telephone POLE on Green Acres.  Things haven’t gotten quite that bad.

Now, of course, we have no regular phone service. And I need to pay the house payment, which I normally do by phone. Don’t like paying using the cell phone.
“Ah, but we have a set-up that allows you to use your cell phone through the regular cordless system,” Benny reminded me.  He also had to remind me exactly how it works, as I have reached the point in my life where something I don’t do very regularly can easily confound me.

OK. so now I think I know how to do it. Mortgage to be paid tomorrow. Won’t have to use those annoyingly teeny buttons on the cell phone. *phew* Internet working for now.  Cooler tomorrow (Yes!) with showers and thunderstorms on their way (No!). Weather Knee already kicking up a fuss.

Going to watch George Gently on my laptop now and enjoy the sexy complexity that is Ricky Deeming as portrayed by the fabulous Richard Armitage.

BeFunky_Impressionistricy.jpg

Tomorrow is Friday, and I suspect Guy will be making an appearance. Assuming my puppy can’t climb poles . . . *sigh*

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

10 responses »

  1. I am glad you Prince Charming came to the rescue! Hope you are feeling better and have no more pain. If you go by my blog, you’ll see what kind of week I’ve had. 😉 Sending you hugs.

  2. Boo to technology when it doesnt work! And, just as a side note, do you see how ferocious those koalas can be!? Terrifiying! They will rip your heart right out!

  3. I’m beginning to wonder if Mars is retrograde or something–between all the technology problems everyone seems to be having (every time I open the loaner laptop we have, I find myself praying) and now my phone is having issues as well–as someone I know well once said, technology is great when it works, but it’s just a pile of bolts and gears when it doesn’t. Hope you get yours sorted soon, Angie.

Leave a Reply

