It’s gonna be alright, Jack. Really, it is.

Standard

Happiness is a warm, boisterous puppy. But what is it when you take the puppy’s mama away in a big carrier before dawn breaks and leave him behind?

Difficult.

Seabee, due to travel to Montgomery to be spayed today.  went into the borrowed Pet Porter without a hitch–such a sweet, trusting dog that one is!

But, oh–little Jack. His wiggly puppy body grew very still as he looked up at the carrier in the back of the Jeep, and then at me. Was it just my imagination in overdrive, or was there something accusatory in those beautiful, soft brown puppy eyes?

He didn’t whimper or bark or make any noise. He didn’t try to chew on my pajama legs.  Quietly, tail drooping in a most uncharacteristic way, Seabee’s son padded back onto the deck with his uncle Rascal, who soon made himself scarce. Rascal wasn’t taking any chances, it seems.

I brought out food. Jack ate as I sat there and talked to him and tried to explain it all once again. I know. He’s a dog, and just a puppy at that. Still, I feel compelled to try.

To ease my own heart as much as his.

It’s gonna be OK, Jack. Really it is. Just a few hours and you’ll see your mom again.

“Sigh*

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

19 responses »

  1. I think pets understand more than people think they do. I have always talked to my animals and most of them seem to get it. I try to think simply, with pictures. This can backfire, though, when there is a turkey in the fridge and I’m thinking about roasting it. “Delayed gratification” does not compute!

  2. He’ll follow you all day. Sometimes he’ll sit by the door. Been there done that. He’ll need extra attention ti” Mama 1.0 comes home. It’s ok. I’m sending you lots of positive energy for the whole house.

  3. Awww, poor guy! I often get those looks from Buddy! Every time I leave for work after a break he looks sooo sad! Bud’s sending him a nose kiss!

  4. Awww. puppy!! 😦 If my Angel were there she would cheer him up with a fast run around the yard! She is always so sad when I go to work but SO happy when I come home. Saying a prayer that all goes well with Seabee, too!

    • Thanks, everybody. ((hugs)) I will be checking on him periodically throughout the day. I don’t think few extra cuddles and perhaps an edible treat or two would go amiss. 😉

      Benny said Seabee was a wonderful traveler (it’s about 16 miles to drop-off location). Other than moving around in her carrier, she was quiet–no barking, whining or whimpering. Bless her sweet heart. Assuming all goes well, she is due back in Greenville by 4:30 this afternoon for pick-up at my cousin’s house.

      My cousin by marriage is the patron saint of local animals. I swear, Kandys has the biggest, most generous heart you can possibly imagine. She has a pet boarding business, but she also fosters many animals and serves as our no-kill shelter and base of operations for rescue groups and for animals being spayed and neutered at the Montgomery clinic. She’s done an awful lot for the homeless dogs and cats of this county.

      • Three cheers for Kandys!! Thanks to her and those like her who go the extra miles for our furry friends. Wow! I’m glad Seabee will be back this afternoon. I’m sure that even with all the cossetting, he misses his mum a lot.

        • Seriously. She is great! I am about to go check on Jack before I try to take a nap. Neither of us got much sleep and Benny’s already attempting to snooze a little. As far as I know, little Jack has never been separated from his mum before so I am sure he’s wondering what’s going on.

  5. The poor little guy. I think it’s normal that we talk to our pets. They may not understand our words, but I think they recognize the soothing, love filled tones we convey the words with. Hopefully the little guy does well until he can be reunited with his mama.

  6. Poor sweetie–it’s so hard to try to explain to them when you know that they really don’t understand. He’ll be fine, he just doesn’t know that yet.

  7. Poor guy…I’m sure he’ll be glad to see his momma when she comes home…even if she’s a little sluggish :). Fortunately, dogs seem to revel in the moment and forget the moment before.

    • Happy to let you all know that Seabee made it back to Greenville safe and sound if sluggish from her injection. She is now set up in the old cook’s house with some nice and soft old flannel sheets and a plush throw for bedding and fresh water. She and Jack got to see each other and Jack is a much happier puppy dog having seen his mama. She will need to stay there for 7-10 days while everything heals–no romping in the cowpond or rolling in the red clay dirt. 😉 Benny will check on her each morning and night and I will make visits in-between. Thanks for all your concern, much appreciated. 😀

  8. Redirecting positive energy to the old cook’s house for Seabee. Glad all went well!!! Puppy licks and waggy tales from Xander the Interstellar Hitbeast (my beaglador)!

Leave a Reply

