Surely a son any mama would be proud to claim.

Standard

93477029rixhxard

A man with a pleasant disposition, kind, blessed with a sense of humor that is keen but never mean-spirited; compassionate, generous, well-mannered.

79-raandtamilane

A true professional who works hard, takes his craft  seriously and is appreciative of his co-workers–and shows it.

BeFunky_Tokyo-27

A man who is equally appreciative of his supporters.

600809_275002882636310_611813962_n

An attentive, patient listener.

BeFunky_untitled-91.jpg

Extraordinarily talented and gifted, and yet just as extraordinarily humble, modest and well-grounded about it all.

AussieIndie_37_RACWmk

Bright, witty, charismatic, thoughtful. A true gentleman–and did we mention he’s quite beautiful?

BeFunky_A97_aFJCAAAOq6ccF

Dear Mrs. Armitage, thank you so much for bringing such a special son into this world, and bringing him up to be the lovely human being he is today. You’ve shared with the world an extraordinary gift.  And I am so happy you are getting to be a part of some of the excitement as Richard’s dreams are realized. Enjoy the journey!

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

35 responses »

  1. Oh quite definitely a son to be proud of. Talented, dedicated, compassionate, thoughtful, intelligent, beautiful inside and out; thank you Mrs Armitage for the marvellous son you have raised.

  2. I just love that Premiere picture. The emotion on Mrs Armitages face… She’s almost bursting with pride and quite right too. The shy downward glance is very appealing too – it reminds me of someone else!

    • I know. The very picture of the proud mum. I couldn’t help getting tears in my eyes when I saw those images, imagining how she must have felt that night. *sigh* Re that glance, I think the apple didn’t fall far from the tree. 😉

  3. Oh – I’ve just had another look- she’s not actually looking down! (I’m blaming it on it being early here and I haven’t had caffeine).

    But she looks very proud- I got that bit right…

  4. Beauty is fleeting. Character stays. That’s what all parents need to remember. (Note to self *ahem*) Nice post for mother’s day, Angie!

  5. Beautifully done! Can we rip out Blondie’s hair now? Just joking. Sort of. No really I’m teasing. not. I’m not that mean spirited. Yes you are. No I’m not. Do you realize she’s the one that made him into Thorin? Well, yes, but does she have to get so close when he’s not in the chair? Oh quit being a poo dog, she appears to be quite a nice young lady. Right. She’s touching him. How nice is that for everyone else? Where was I? OH yes. Isn’t Mrs. Armitage a lovely lady? Do you realize she’s seen him in all his naked glory and as she threw him in the tub and soaped him up, all she was probably thinking was he tore a hole in his best britches.

    • LOL!! I don’t know if it helps any, but Tami Lane (RA’s makeup artist) is actually gay, so she’s not going to try to run off with him. Unless, of course, he really DOES have the power to convert people. 😉 I think it’s more a brother/sister relationship– they are obviously very fond of one another.

      Re RA’s naked glory, I still think of RA telling his mum he had a bum double for Between the Sheets. Liar. *giggle*

  6. Awww what a sweet thought for Mother’s Day! Yay, Mrs. A.!! And if, as suspected, she helps him with his fan mail, DOUBLE YAY!! We love Mrs. A.!! She did a fabulous job with her son. 😀

    • Glad you liked it. 😀 Yes, she went back to work so they could afford to send him to Pattinson’s, she helps with fanmail–she is a very supportive mum. God bless her!

  7. I was so delighted to see that pic of Mrs. A. at the premiere — she is known to be a bit shy in public, yet there she is, beaming proud for all the world to see. And has anyone else noticed that Richard is the spitting image of his mum? Thanks for the lovely post, and very well expressed sentiments. Mother’s Day in England was actually a few weeks ago, if memory serves, and I know he was home for that, bet he spoiled her rotten!

    • Thanks for the comment, and welcome, Ceallaig. Yes, there’s no mistaking that profile, is there? RA has mentioned he likes to spoil his parents a bit (which only makes me love him more) so no doubt he did something special for dear Margaret. 😀

  8. I remember the story, too,about her being so embarrassed to see his bare bum on the telly, so he told her he had a double for that shot (though he really didn’t). I laughed out loud–such an angel. He couldn’t understand why she’d be upset to see it on film when she saw it all the time when he was at home. I hope she’s justly proud of her son and his life..

    • Yes, he was trying to make his mum feel better, bless his heart. She was seeing him a way she’d never quite seen him before this time around!! I suspect she is very proud of him indeed–how could she not be??

      • How could she not be, indeed? He has worked hard to develop his talent and has done magnificently–thank God he didn’t give up when he thought it just might not happen for him. In many ways, I guess I can see why he’s stayed so humble–another story that sticks in my mind was when he won the role of Thorin and they opened a bottle of champagne at his agent’s office. They only drank about half a glass, because there was still some doubt as to whether “The Hobbit” would actually get made. Months later, when Sir Peter finally got the green light–the one who asked if they could finally have the rest of the champagne was Richard. I do hope someone opened another bottle at that point–the first one would have been dead as a doorknob.

        • I think it the UK casting director who said she was so proud of Richard committing to the role even before they got the green light and how he boosted everyone else’s morale by doing so.

          • Not to mention the fact that he gave up another season of steady employment in “Strike Back II” to hang in there with “The Hobbit”. I can’t begin to imagine how hard it must have been for him to do that–and I’m so glad it paid off for him in such a huge way. The man is not only an angel, but a bit of a saint.

              • Forgot to mention earlier–wonderful pictures of our boy in this post. Loved every one of them!

              • Getting a little teary-eyed here (it’s been a really bad fibro kind of day, my entire body feels like it’s been hit by a MAC truck), but at the risk of repeating myself–such an angel. Was there ever another like him?–I think not.

              • I am sorry to hear it’s been a bad day for you. Very gentle hugs sent your way. I hope you will get some decent rest tonight. As for Richard, he is good for what ails us and, I think, one of a kind.

              • Thanks for the hugs–I am truly hoping to get some serious rest tonight since I think that has a great deal to do with how I’m feeling right now. As for our dearest boy–sadly, I think they broke the mold when they made him. I agree that there is probably only one–but at least, we have the one to love and adore. Good night, sweet prince–to sleep (I hope), perchance to dream (of you).

  9. I am just now getting my RA voice, but have followed your blog and enjoyed your fanvids. This post just about says it all about Mr. Armitage. Beautifully done! I was looking for a reason to tie Mother’s Day activities to RA-admiring (But, really, who needs a reason?). Anyway, thanks for giving me a great one!

    • Welcome, justmepurring, and thanks for commenting! Somehow I can always seem to find a link, however tenuous, tying RA to a special day. But as you say–who needs a reason? He is truly reason enough in himself. 😀

  10. Ah ha, the first pic I have ever seen of Margaret Armitage. Now I know from whence came that handsome nose and jaw!
    Thank you, Angie, for the beautiful picture. I lost my own dear mother to cancer six months ago, and yesterday was my first Mothers’ Day with no one to call and send flowers to. Fortunately I have a beautiful five-year-old daughter who expressed her love in numerous handmade cards and a well-chosen gift. I dare say RA chose well, too.

    • Oh, that first Mother’s Day without your mom is just so tough. *hugs* I remember trying to go to church a few weeks after Benny’s mom died for his first Mother’s Day without her. He just couldn’t make it through the service. It was too painful. 😦 As I said on the post I wrote about scent memories, I still miss my own mother every day. Don’t think that will ever cease.

      Glad your daughter gave you a lovely treat. Good girl! 🙂 Yes, RA bears a striking resemblance to his mum, without a doubt.

  11. Hi Fedoralady

    That is a lovely picture. As you know I was there at the premiere that night, In the last few weeks my dear Mother and my Aunt her sister sadly passed away. I will always remember coming home that night and my mum waiting up for me. She was proud and excited for me, just as Margaret Armitage was her son.

    • I am so sorry to hear of the passing of both your mother and aunt, a double blow for you. *hugs* Carry those memories–the happy, joyous ones–with you always, my dear.

  12. Another lovely post Angie! I’m the proud mom of two wonderful sons myself (plus three lovely daughters) so have an inkling of what Richard’s mum must feel about him. She must have been fairly bursting with pride standing there behind him as he was presented to Prince William yet there she stood, amazingly calm and composed – something she also passed on to her son? He certainly does bear a striking resemblance to her and I think he inherited those beautiful long fingers from her too. 🙂

    • Yes you can put yourselves into Mrs. Armitage’s shoes a bit better than I can–and I know how very proud I felt both of him and for him that night!! She seems an amazing woman herself–apple didn’t fall far from the tree. 😀

  13. Excellent points — all! Mama Armitage certainly can be proud of a job well done. And part of that job is choosing the right partner to share the parental duties with. Papa Armitage must also share some credit. 😉

Leave a Reply

