Well, y’all know I love me some dirty Guy . . .

Standard

BeFunky_P5137232.jpg

Jack already knows me pretty well, doesn’t he? 😉 Take one curious, energetic puppy, add a digging expedition in the Alabama red clay dirt beneath the back deck, and toss in a heavy dew on a cold May morning, and–you get a dirty dawg! And a great little photo-op.

BeFunky_P5137234crop.jpg

BeFunky_photofacefun_com_qaD9zn_1341655186

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

10 responses »

  1. I don’t know about ‘bama red clay, but the only way to get Chesapeake Bay mud off things (including the dog) is to let it dry thoroughly, then brush vacuum carefully, brush, and send it to the cleaners. Xander wants to know if Jack can come bay running.

    • Jack would love to come along, he’s always ready for an adventure! 😉 It was quite chilly this morning here, so hosing him off wasn’t really an option, and that red clay would have turned to mud. I think the brushing out is going to be best option.

  2. Once upon a time, our red setter would get really muddy. If the mud dryed, it was awful trying to get it out of his flags and tail! I would put down newspapers on a path to the bathroom, get him into the shower, and give the command “up.” He would put his paws on my forearm while I worked him over with the telephone shower. Then I’d let him down and lather him up with good doggie shampoo, give the command again, and get him thoroughly rinsed. Four big dog towels to dry, then clean up the bathroom and the newspaper path.

  3. Oh, he looks so cute, even all muddy and grubby–I used to walk a friend’s Golden Lab, who would find the biggest, deepest muddiest puddle he could when I let him off leash and dive in headfirst. So I got to spend the rest of the day showering and cleaning him off.

  4. Your dog was better behaved than mine have been Leigh! We have a shower in our laundry and both our dogs have had to be wrestled in there for baths. Fortunately it’s only a twice yearly event – city dogs don’t get the opportunity to roll in disgusting things so they get washed when they start smelling like dogs!

    There is something very special about that puppy, isn’t there?

  5. How about kitten+cups of seeds/sprouts that my kdg. kids planted. Buddy got up on the counter and sent 9 of the 20 cups of soil, seeds and sprouts flying onto the carpet yesterday! (I bring them home on weekends so they don’t dry out.) Out comes the shop vac to get the wet mess cleaned up with a set of big green eyes peeking around the corner. So today I had to tell the kids why I didn’t bring their plantings into school. (They all laughed like good little darlings!) This evening I planted 9 more cups. Hopefully, we won’t have anymore playing in the dirt this evening!

  6. Ahhhh…puppies…mischief, mess and cuteness all go hand-in-hand don’t they? We take one look into those huge eyes and pass on the scolding. Somehow, it doesn’t seem worth it.

Leave a Reply

