Thorin Thursday–and a little bit of Lego/RA LOVE

Standard

4AF521D8-8F80-4F97-A7FB-7C164EED556D

I don’t think I will ever tire of this particular photo of Thorin and the many variations thereof I and others have edited. Oh! Those eyes . . .

476185360570066275ss_3utPWNYh_c

After three series of RH, little wonder our Richard was deemed “Best on Horseback” in The Hobbit. And he did, indeed, look magnificent!

BeFunky_Watercolor_1gggg

And I’ve got one in this character–and the man who plays him.

BIBXXoECMAEJnvBthorin

Looking a tad stroppy–and beautiful. *sigh*

BeFunky_BCOyUkMCAAQ98ihss

Again, I say–oh, those EYES!

enhanced-buzz-wide-26059-1354661874-5

*THUD* *WIBBLE* That is all.

Gotta jump in shower and get myself ready for the Honors Program. Catch y’all later!

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

23 responses »

  1. I’m loving the Thorin vibe! Such beautiful pictures. Love love love love that last photo! So cute, so boyish but oh so sexy! That broad manly chest casually on show. ….. Sigh! Now where did I put that Hobbit DVD? Oh yes, right next to the tv for easy access!

    • “Power of his eyes”. What a beautiful way to put it and so accurate! The “power” of them is what drew me to him when I first watched N&S all these years ago. After all the comments from naysayers when he was first cast as Thorin and Peter Jackson was adamant that “Thorin was in good hands” with Richard in that role, I’d love to hear what Sir Peter would say on the subject now after he, Fran and Philippa, have been so amazingly vindicated in choosing him!! Other than what he said about Richard at the Tokyo Press conference that is. 🙂

  2. Still Thorinized, can’t help myself. Like Nadia, I bet Peter Jackson saw that power and knew he had his Thorin. I love that Tami Lane let so much of Richard show, to leave his jaw free and to let his eyes be seen so clearly. I loved hearing that Richard would take Charmaine out to go riding on the weekends; I bet that mare was more than a little delighted to have Richard on her back. You know I think I love the picture where he’s holding the Lego almost as much as you do.

  3. Oh my dearest friend! You put my most favorite picture up!!! You know, the one with RA in it! (Actually it’s the Lego one). He is just so manly man in it. That hair, that chest, that smile, that just everything! I was just about to take a nap, now I have to take a shower, a very cold shower. I may have to borrow my Mom’s shower chair just so I don’t hurt myself when I swoon. (Dee–the Blu-Ray is by the TV–the wide screen is in the computer so I can turn it on with the head phones anytime I want and I don’t bother the family. Sometimes I just run it with captions in the corner while I’m doing something else. I retired N/S when Hobbit came out.)

  4. What a fantabulous selection of photos for Thorin Thursday, Angie–and thanks for reprinting the one of Thorin with his Lego so that I didn’t have to go hunting for it. I have a small copy of photo #1 framed on my dresser (among all the others) that my best friend sent me for Christmas in a lovely frame. If they didn’t mean for him to wind up looking gorgeous and sexy–they goofed!

    • They could have dressed him like a toad and he’d still be gorgeous. I think the folks were just perfect in making him a “young dwarf prince” even though he’s 160 years old. For folks familiar with Tolkien the length of the beard was based on battles. He’d really only had 2 major battles, the first when Smaug destroyed Dale and took the Mountain and then with the Orcs.

      • Just read a comment on one of the Pinterest pages that states “Psychologically speaking, a crush lasts 4 months”. And I’m going on 8 years? Well, I am nothing if not loyal and true blue.

        • Here’s the best one I’ve seen. “A crush is the instantaneous attraction for someone. A crush is when you think about someone all the time. Love is when you get to go out with your crush.”

          • Sigh–afraid that will have to stay in my dreams or personal fanfic for now. Hey, I’d far rather have him there than not at all, you know?

            • I prefer to think love is love. There are many kinds of love. I love Richard Armitage. I have no expectation it would ever be reciprocated, but it’s still love! LOL!

              • A woman after my own heart–I just love him. Period. Full stop. There it is, I make no apologies. I just love the man.

              • Love Richard Armitage. Love his work. Love his looks. Love his voice. Love the things I hear and see about him. Love the whole package of Richard Armitage. My husband Jon–I love him with every breath I take. Big difference. Don’t have 279 pictures of my husband as screen savers on my computer *sigh* *thud* ….crawling to the DVD box…..

              • I probably have that many photos of him collected over the years, including a fair number with autographs before they got up into the stratosphere, for which I am eternally grateful. Although, I do have one of the more recent ones of Thorin autographed–a Christmas gift from my best friend this past year.

        • Well, I think he looks amazing no matter what he does–I guess that doesn’t make me very discerning, but how can you argue with perfection? Before seeing him as Thorin, I kept wondering what my reaction would be to him almost buried under tons of hair and makeup as a dwarf–THUD!!!!!! Guess I got my answer to that one–it took all of thirty seconds when Bilbo opened the door.

            • Boy, you’ve got that right–still can’t wait for “Smaug” and am going a little nuts trying to figure out what his next project will be.

      • oh he really does! I like to imagine sitting behind him with my face resting on that pelt and my arms around his waist… ohhh here I am at my happy place tra la la la

        • Admittedly, having grown up watching tons of Westerns and horse operas as a kid, I’ve always been partial to a man on horseback–but the first time I saw Guy of Gisborne ride in on that magnificent black stallion they chose for him–talk about a smitten kitten. My tongue was on the floor.

Leave a Reply

