Monet for a Sunday

Standard

BeFunky_Inkify_1monet

Richard was just lovely as painter Claude Monet in The Impressionists. Of course, you could say he is lovely in pretty much every role, but there was a special incandescence to his blue eyes here, along with the joie de vivre in those broad smiles and from-the-belly laughs. He did an excellent job of capturing the passion, the struggles and the triumphs of an artist in love with color and light and life itself.

monet color quote

moneteasel

monetlaughing

monetsplach

Must grab a quick bite and then head to town for the baccalaureate service. Kindergarten grad tomorrow night, a prospective daytime shoot of “The Wizard of Oz” one day this week and FDA graduation at end of week. PRP is busy!

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

9 responses »

  1. Good luck with all your ventures, and thanks painting a little sunshine into this fan girls life! What a lovely monet he makes!

  2. Richard’s Monet was a wonderful portrayal. He made you believe, made you see the beauty Monet saw. I can no longer think of Claude Monet without seeing how Richard personified him. I wonder if Richard has a favourite Monet painting, and if so, what it is.

    • I’m the same Leigh. I cannot think about the real Monet without picturing Richard. He was superb and I wish more people had seen it. It was shown on our local public broadcasting station several years ago and I emailed a request for them to air it again but they said they no longer had the license for it. I have the DVD myself (two copies in fact) but I thought it was high time more people were exposed to it. I may try again and point out to them that he is the same actor who portrays Thorin in The Hobbit – just in case some of them might be unaware of that fact! 🙂

  3. I have some wonderful artists in my family, so when the Impressionists came out it was a wonderful opportunity to get to see Richard and get an education. Thank you my friend for adding Claude to my collection of RArt. I’ve been meaning to put the film in the computer and catching some stills. Now I will for sure so I can share more. Good luck with the shoots, later and the kid herding tomorrow! xoxoxox lovies!

  4. Thanks for a lovely reminder of Richard’s extraordinary portrait of Monet. which I feel doesn’t get near the attention that it should–good luck with all of your endeavors for the rest of the day and hope your foot is feeling better!

  5. I’m ashamed to admit I haven’t seen The Impressionists, other than bits and pieces on You Tube and, of course, the audio files from it. This in spite of the fact that I adore both RA and impressionism. And no one seems to talk about that RA character much. After reading your post, I’m so wishing I had it to watch on this lazy Sunday afternoon. Thanks for the beautiful pics and for motivating me to move it up on my NetFlix queue. icepondwitch, I’d love to see your stills!

  6. I think it is telling of the quality of the BBC’s The Impressionists that the public channel of the French television, France 2, has used large parts of it in its Giverny documentary presenting Monet’s life and produced by the popular TV personality Stéphane Bern. It was broadcast on France 2 in 2011 and later worldwide on TV5 Monde, where I’ve seen it. (Richard was dubbed in French.)
    http://givernews.com/?2011/08/31/1201-monet-dans-secrets-d-histoire

Leave a Reply

