It’s Richard Freakin’ Armitage! More of my photo edits.

Standard

I am really feeling very emotional at the moment. Someone upset me on FB–I stupidly made the mistake of commenting in the politics/religion arena, which I had sworn I would never do–and I paid the price. Anyway, we’ve kissed and made up, so to speak, but still feeling the after-effects.  Must dry my tears and spackle the face and try to be–well, not dazzling, but at least presentable–tonight for the graduation.

Thanks for all the fun and kind comments on the blog entries. I will try to get caught up over the weekend, but have to get ready for tonight’s commencement exercises shortly. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy some of my latest efforts.

Lucasbw

loverichardpolaroidRAangel

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

34 responses »

  1. The last time people combined politics and religion, people got burned at the stake. Based on my email name, do I need to start checking out my backdoor for angry villagers? Or do I need to start stirring the caldron my friend? I can do either or and will just for you my dear friend!!! xoxoxoxox

      • I make a heck of a Christmas wassail–does that work? And probably one of the best champagne punches you’ve ever tasted.

        • Sounds great. Also find myself thinking of the Milk of Human Kindness as offered by the Ghost of Christmas Present in the Albert Finney musical “Scrooge.” 😉

      • I’ve gathered the eye of newt, the dragon’s blood, and the twinkle in my Daddy’s eye. Gave it a shake, danced around the Thorin Oakenshield Lego man, sang “”Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle” . ╰☆╮¤°.¸¸.·´¯`»® poof ®«´¯`·.¸¸.°¤╰☆╮. It should work by the next full moon.

        • That is such a terrific quote, especially for this day and time. I have a wonderful stencil of it–some days, I feel like I should make up a ton of them, one at least for everyone I know. Except most of the people I know aren’t busy throwing rocks out of their glass houses.

            • No, we don’t–it helps to remember that on some days, everyone’s bootstraps can be a little too long to manage by themselves.

  2. Who ever came up with that “sticks and stones” thing could never have been on the receiving end of hurtful words. They are “wounds” that sometimes never heal even if we have been able to forgive the person who has hurt us in that way. Physical wounds may disappear in time but verbal ones seem to cut to the bone. Personally I have found that the words “forgive and forget” are not always compatible!

    On a brighter topic, these pictures are g.o.r.g.e.o.u.s!!! *sigh*

    • Glad you liked, darling! 😀 Yes, there are certain maxims I do not agree with: “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me” “time heals all wounds” and how difficult it can actually be to both “forgive and forget.”

      • Memories of harsh words can be very difficult to erase from your mind and heart–I find myself wishing that people on the Internet would take a bit more care with blasting other people they don’t even know (in many cases). Everyone is entitled to their opinion–Then, there is the tolerance factor–is that now just a line in the dictionary?

          • I tell my kids, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say it at all.” Obviously, that is way oversimplified, they are 5/6 after all. But the intolerance that is going on in many places in the world is causing horrible events to happen. It’s getting really, really scary out there! The Boston bombings, the poor soldier in London, this list gets longer every day.

            I, too, made a comment last year on a site and had someone verbally attack me. I had to learn quick to change my privacy setting on FB!

      • yes Angie! In my country people say that “suffering ennobles human beings” -bloody nonsence! IMO
        PS: I didn’t know that angels have such a beautiful backsides 😉

  3. Oh, Angie, I’m sorry you drew fire. {{{hugs}}} I keep wondering what happened to a country that embraced tolerance as a core value. Take heart; you’ll be great at the graduation.

    The pictures are beautiful!

  4. I don’t argue either one, or my housemate and I would have killed each other by now (she is very vocally political and I’m more the whatever type)–but it does amaze me that people get online and start blazing away, like you aren’t supposed to be allowed your own opinions on anything anymore. Sorry you got your feelings trampled upon, dear Angie–whatever it was, I wouldn’t let it get to you. Watch a few episodes of “Robin Hood” and let Sir Guy soothe you with his lovely smirk–that’s what I’ve been doing a good part of the afternoon.

      • Love, Love, LUV that movie–one of my all-time favorite Christmas films, I make sure to watch it several times every year. Can’t believe I didn’t connect this lovely vision of Richard with “Dudley”–wouldn’t he be perfect if they ever remade it? I can so see him in a romantic fantasy like this–he could probably play either role to perfection, but I’d far rather see him as the angel.

  5. You know, it must just be one of those days–I could use an angel myself at the moment. Thank God for the one ever in my mind, my heart, and sometimes in my dreams–bless you, Richard.

  6. So sorry that someone made you feel bad on FB. We should be able to talk politics or religion in a civil manner, because these are important subjects. I myself am quite political, yet I have many good friends of the other party. They teach me to temper my comments and to respect people who have a different opinion. This is hard to do when you feel strongly about something, and one must develop a wider understanding and a thicker skin.

    Nevertheless, politics and religion shouldn’t be off limits. I discovered Richard Armitage in North and South, a series that definitely had at its basis politics and religion. Same for Robin Hood, MI-5, Strike Back, The First Avengers, and The Hobbit.

    I hope you enjoyed the graduation.

    • I would say Facebook just isn’t a good place to have certain times of discussions. People get too worked up over what I would deem inflammatory images and words. Which is exactly what those originally posting hope for, I am certain. I prefer more civil discourse, one might say. I also have a somewhat different world view than some of my local friends. Some have never lived anywhere else, have never known people from other parts of the world. Not saying my way is better or worse, it’s just–different.

      The graduation went really well. Gorgeous night. Great speeches by the valedictorian and salutatorian. All the cameras worked fine. No technical glitches!

      • No technical glitches is good! I was trying to send some emails to friends this morning and I guess Yahoo was having issues again–took me forever to write a few, short emails! Sounds like the graduation was terrific and your business is beginning to do well–yaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyy!

  7. Oh sweetie, sorry you got bashed. They’re touchy subjects, but I think some people take things too seriously, and if they can’t come up with a convincing argument or something smart to say, they resort to name calling.

    • Unfortunately there are some very knee-jerk reactionaries amongst my local acquaintances–I love them, but they drive me a little crazy at times, frankly. This is why I do avoid certain controversial topics. It’s just NOT worth it.

Leave a Reply

