It’s all about the journey, isn’t it? Lead on RA, lead on.

Standard

Steak, a Julienned baked (jacket) potato, green salad with Ranch dressing and a thick slice of Texas toast washed down with iced tea. I could imagine Richard Armitage eating such a meal (although my steak might be cooked a little more than he prefers). This is what we had for supper, courtesy of my sweet spouse. I think the Marie Callender pie and ice cream is going to have to wait a bit . . .  as well as the rest of that potato (like, tomorrow).

I didn’t feel great this afternoon so I took a nap and never did get anything posted here. Color me lazy.

247005_564066180299923_1129988238_n

I did finally get the video production business website and blog live today, hooray. Still work to be done there, but it’s coming along.

Let’s see, I now have two blogs, a website, three FB pages, two Twitter accounts (one of which I really need to do something with) and a Tumblr account which is a rehash of this blog but is steadily climbing in number of followers. My FB followers have jumped up by more than 70 people this week, I think.  And I used to be afraid to touch a computer.

I guess I have come a long way, baby! Although what I have accomplished seems a mere drop in a bucket compared to a certain actor I deeply admire.

268861_334472230015747_1076924245_n

943306_441786289251279_243567394_n

(courtesy of FB and Thorin’s Arkenstone)

And Mr. A has come a long way, too! After all those early struggles and disappointments. After almost giving up.  From winning so many hearts and starting his own army with his portrayal of the romantic hero, John Thornton . . .

BeFunky_2f

To turning what could have been a bog-standard cardboard cut-out villain into a complex, charismatic, intensely erotic anti-hero we loved, Sir Guy of Gisborne . . .

pizap.com10.96648948406800631364405941825

To bringing us Lucas North, a mysterious and alluring spy fractured by his years in a Russian prison, trying to reclaim his place in the present . . . and totally fascinating us all . . .

4688597166_568dd02ebb_bxx

To giving breadth and depth to role of a tough soldier with a tender side, John Porter, an alpha male seeking redemption and making us fall in love–and lust–all over again . . .

So many other roles, too, large and small, always making an impact. Always giving his best and making the most of the role.

Thank you, Richard. Little wonder you’ve wowed audiences all over the world with your amazing portrayal of the King Under the Mountain, Thorin Oakenshield.

BeFunky_Impressionist_1thorinO.jpg

It’s all added up, hasn’t it? The successes and the seeming failures from which you surely learned valuable lessons; the long hours of research and rehearsal and hard work you’ve put into your roles over the years, the commitment. The dedication. I sense you wouldn’t take anything for the journey, the experiences, the lessons learned along the way.  You’ve grown as an actor and, I believe, as a human being. Which has only, in turn, made you a better actor–or so I would argue.

It’s been an amazing journey thus far. And I can’t wait to see where it takes you next, my wonderfully gifted, deeply dedicated, beautiful Richard Armitage.

RAdenimdirectbw

Again, thank you.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

19 responses »

  1. This is definitely one of your best, dear Angie. You put into words the way I think most of us feel about Richard and what a glorious journey it’s been–and hopefully will continue to be. He has brightened many a dark day for me and I know many others; he is just a wonderful, amazing, magnificent being. I’m too tired right now to keep thinking up superlatives, but he deserves them all.

    • It’s funny, because I started out just catching you all up and then it sort of took on its own life. Which often happens. 😉 Just been thinking of him today in back of my mind as I worked on the website. I fear I sometimes use the same superlatives too often, but gosh–he IS amazing!

      • I think that may be how all the best things happen–you start out and somehow what you are doing just goes on to become a true work of art. I find this happens many times when I write–I may begin not at all sure where I’m heading, but on good nights, the pen rolls on and my hand can scarcely keep up with the flow of ideas. I also hope that Richard may sometimes glance at this little corner of the world and find solace and inspiration on those days that he is feeling not quite “good enough”. We know that he is and has only improved with time–I have read things that make wish he knew it as well.

  2. All I can say is, “Hear, hear!” to both of the comments above. Well spoken. And gorgeous pictures – the Guy edit = wow! Well, the Lucas North pic too. Oh, but the Johh Porter one, the Richard pic…well, all of them, great job!

    • Thank you, JMP. 😀 I just looked through my rather *cough* extensive collection of edits. Good thing my husband doesn’t know just how many hours I have put into them all . . .

  3. Truly, madly, deeply. Richard makes me feel all this and more. Thanks for letting us tag along with you angie. A beautiful post, sensitively written. As said above one of your best posts. And guy! Oh yes definitely erotic! Especially in that edit! Oh angie what a touch you have on those pics. Oh Richard what an effect you have! I’d follow you anywhere, I suspect I’d be part of a large crowd of the most wonderful people! After all wonderful people attract wonderful people!♥

    • You know, I have a video to THAT song, too–“Truly, Madly, Deeply” by Savage Garden, that is. 😉 You guys can tag along any old time you wish. More than happy for the company, truly.
      He could be a veritable Pied Piper if he wished (he does play the flute, after all) a benign one taking us on unexpected and delightful journeys . . . yes, many wonderful people are part of his fandom. He seems to draw quality. 😀

      • Wow. I’ll have to look that one up–I love the song anyway and can’t tell you how many times it has been playing in the back of my mind when I’m thinking about our beloved one.

  4. I hope, FL, that RA consults your blog every time he needs a bit of cheering up – or when he is in that (frankly unfathomable) place where he thinks he is not good enough. Of course he is, silly man. You have compiled the milestones of the journey so well – oh, and illustrated, too (Guyyyyy *sigh*). Plus – I loved the quote at the beginning. The great hopeful start of every day – that’s me. :-))

  5. You are an inspiration! An amazing journey for someone who says they were afraid of computers. I suspect that you and our Richie boy have a great deal of artistry in common.

    My brain is fuddled every time I look at him in the background picture. I am sure he is looking straight at me and saying “come hither”. Okay, maybe it is my wishful thinking. lol

  6. I was sitting here sifting through the rather useless stuff called my email and then I saw that you had come to call and I pushed the button as fast as I could knowing you would brighten my day. As usual you have come at just the right time. Because I have MS, I also unfortunately suffer from the blues for no apparent reason and today is one of them. Seeing the beautiful pictures you chose of RA today and reading your incredible essay pulled me right out of that black hole. I just hope, as I think we all do, that every once in a while HE takes a quick peek at this blog. You could bring sunshine to a black hole.

    • Hope you are feeling better now (although Richard and Angie can make that happen faster than almost anyone I know). Sending you hugs as well–fibromyalgia sufferers also tend to have the blues for no apparent reason.

      • I am. I hate waking up staring out from the cliffs of Mount Doom. I made a key chain that has a dragon, a bird, a key, a keyhole, a ring, and a jewel (arkenstone) to see how it would look. I was happy with the outcome. Now my hands won’t work so I can make some more to sell. I’ll take a picture of it and put it on my blog. But I am doing much better thanks to fRAiends.

        • Sounds cool, would love to see it–have also been having some problems with my hands–they keep seizing up, the muscles will clamp and won’t unclamp until I massage the fingers and knuckles pretty extensively. If they ever both clamp at the same time, I may be in big trouble. Hurts like the devil, too.

          • Every so often, my hands will seize into “the claw”, thanks to FMS. I run a basin of the hottest water I can stand, immerse my hands, and try to break them open. Hurts like fury, but it seems to work most of the time.

  7. Angie, this is plainly wonderfully written and tells encompassingly and precisely about the feelings that you (and me and we!!) have for this exceptionally beautiful man that is Richard Armitage. Indeed, it’s a marvellous journey and I’m still sooo nosy and a bit fidgety about what’s coming up in the not so far future!

Leave a Reply

