Hugging is good medicine & I seriously need one right now.

Standard

250447_612017698809763_1209781888_n

hobbitauj-0191501337

Right now, I really could use a big old hug from Thorin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Benny calls me out to the front deck this afternoon, and I find a puppy out there, but not Jack. Oddly, he looks as if he could be the offspring of Seabee and Rascal–white with black spots like Seabee, but with the look of a German Shepherd (or perhaps a Huskie) about him,  a pair of small, bright, greenish-gold eyes peering up at me.

He looks pretty well fed, unlike Seabee and Jack when they arrived, and he’s clearly affectionate. But where in the world did he come from? I ask him, but of course, he’s not telling. Did, as Benny suggests, aliens swoop in and take Jack and leave this one instead?

Rascal and Seabee seem flummoxed by this new addition. Rascal growls and snaps at him, sending the little fellow back under the deck briefly.  Seabee sniffs at him, stares and then averts her eyes, drawing her head away. “He doesn’t smell right. He looks a little like my Jack, but he’s not Jack,” she seems to say.  “Where IS Jack?”

Where, indeed.   We call and call. “Maybe he’s down at the farmhouse, you know he hangs out there a lot of the time,” Benny says. He heads down there, the puppy in tow and Rascal not too far behind him.

Seabee nervously darts from food dish to food dish, and then collapses in the center of the deck with a troubled sigh. We can hear Benny calling for Jack.  She looks at me with wide brown eyes. “I know, Seabee, I know,” I say softly. “He’s looking hard for your boy, sweetie.”

In a few minutes Benny returns, a puzzled expression on his face. Shaking his head, he shrugs his shoulders. “I–just don’t know. Maybe just rambling around.” He drops his eyes. “You know, could be a snake or coyote . . .”

“Oh–I hope not!” Seabee is looking at me again. I lean down and stroke her silky ears and press a kiss to the top of her head.

Praying. Praying for your little boy. Our little boy.

I really could use a hug.  Even better, a puppy kiss on the nose from a certain freckled lad.

Jack, please come home, safe and sound. Please.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

18 responses »

    • Thanks, everybody. I guess it’s too soon to panic but he normally shows up when we call like that. There are an awful lot of snakes about now–I weary of the number friends have posted photos of on FB–and that’s my no 1 fear. 😦

  1. I hope he shows up Angie. I know when Snickers went MIA for a few hours I was sick with grief. Sending virtual hugs your way.

  2. Sending prayers for Jack’s safe return and {{{hugs}}} to you. You have had enough pain and loss. You deserve joy. May it come to you soon.

    • Again, thank you Leigh and everyone. I really appreciate all your support. (((hugs))) It’s hard to respond to each of you because I am feeling quite emotional and trying to hold it together so I can get some work done, but please know I truly am grateful for your concenr.

  3. Oh Angie, I just got back inside with my little monster and only now saw your blog. I hope and pray your little dog returns home safely soon. ((hugs)) I cannot imagine anything worse than having a loved one missing. Sending positive thoughts.

    • Thanks to everyone again for your kind thoughts and prayers. Jack has still not returned. Buddy the funny cartoon puppy is still here, however, and he gives me a certain comfort. I was up in the middle of the night in the fog petting the little fellow. He’s not Jack–no one can replace Jack–but yes, he comforts me.

  4. I have everything crossed except my eyes that he will soon be home safe and sound–maybe he just got sidetracked or went visiting? Also sending many hugs and prayers your way.

  5. Just supporting my comment on fb, sure he will be home soon. Here are some welsh cwtches for you, these are extremely rare welsh hugs!

Leave a Reply

