OT: Bless the beasts and those who love & aid them

Standard

I encourage you to take the time to read. This is a message shared by my fellow Humane Society member who has been working hard with our Trap-Neuter-Release program for feral cats along with other needs out in our county. This both breaks my heart and gives me hope.  The fact there are still good hearts and souls like my friend A and dear Miss G makes me feel better about humankind.  I heard another tale yesterday that spoke of greed and abuse and neglect, so I truly needed to re-read A’s message.  No, still no sightings of Jack, but our little “pig dog” Buddy is helping bring smiles.  God bless you all.

At H’s request I checked on an elderly lady with a cat
problem who asked for the Humane Society’s help, and found that 91-year old
Miss G
had 5 or 6 cats living in her yard that needed “fixing.” She was
feeding and petting them, says they’re her only companions and she loves having
them.

~~~

She doesn’t have much money, so she was feeding them cheap white bread
(large loaves at day-old bread store are only 25 cents & 50 cents) with a
little canned dog food sprinkled on top. K sent her a case of canned cat
food which was VERY much appreciated.

Godwin kittens - next youngest litter3
Miss G lives in a shabby, but clean and neat, farmhouse at the end of a rural dirt road.

Her closest neighbor is nearly a mile away.

She lives on her Social Security check, and has no air
conditioning and very sparse furniture. I was afraid she had an outhouse when I
first visited her, but she does have a tiny primitive bathroom in a closet off
the kitchen.

~~~

She has a pace-maker and is due for a replacement, but otherwise
seems to make do okay on her own. She sweeps her yard and porch, cooks her
meals, goes to the doctor & grocery store in Greenville. She has a shabby
old car and drives herself to town.

~~~

She’s never been married, so has no children
or grandchildren to help her. Her widowed “younger” sister (in her 80s) lives
several miles away and they check up on each other. Miss G is obviously a
“survivor” little old lady. When you don’t have much, and don’t have anybody to
help, you make do with what you’ve got.

The mama cats (who Miss G
calls her children) have presented her with 19 kittens.

I’ve caught 4  of the adult cats and had them spayed at the Alliance Clinic this week. One was
already pregnant again and would have presented Miss G with more kittens in
another month or so. I’ve set traps to catch the other cats before turning the
spayed ones back out.
~~~
Miss G wants to keep her adult cats and says
she’ll pay $10-$20 a month out of her Social Security check until she pays for
all the cats’ spaying. She says “I always pay my debts, I don’t want to owe
anybody money when I die.”  But she definitely can’t afford to keep — and feed
— 19 kittens.
~~~
I’ve picked up all the kittens and given them flea baths
and worming. They’re on antibiotics to clear up health problems; a few have
runny eyes that are already clearing up after just a few days of Clavamox. I’m
bottle-feeding the tiniest litter of 5; the young mama cat abandoned them under
Miss G’s house, where they mewed and mewed (as they starved) for two days
… which upset Miss G terribly.

Godwin kittens - next youngest litter4

She was crying when I got to her house
that morning. So, Sunday morning I crawled up under the G house with a
flashlight and pillowcase and got the kittens. Three kittens were huddled up
together and still crying; two were 30 feet away, cold and silent, but still
breathing. I got them home, warmed up, cleaned and fed them, and **amazingly**
all are alive and taking the bottle now. Dadgum tough little babies. They
shouldn’t have been born, but they’re here, and we weren’t going to let them
give poor Miss G a heart attack.

~~~

Almost ALL the kittens are yellow
tabbies. Some are darker orange; some are soft buttery yellow. Darling little
tiger cats. The older ones (6-8 weeks old) are cute and lively; the
bottle-feeding ones look terrible but they’ll look a lot better in another week
or so! I’ll take more and better photos as soon as I can, and send them to
H’s mailing list (Bubba, if you’re reading emails while on your trip, this
is the Godwin cats update).

The kittens are here in my house, all 19 of
them. I don’t have any outside cat cages or pens where they can stay and romp
and play; these babies are ALL right inside the house with me and Robert. I have
three cat cages set up by my dining room table. The babies need more room to run
around, but I just can’t let that many kittens loose in the yard when I already
have 25 adult cats and three dogs. And I sure can’t let them loose in the house;
we’d be stepping on kittens EVERYWHERE.

We REALLY need to find places for
some of these kittens to board/foster at other homes. If you — or anyone you
know — could take 3 or 4 kittens each, so that we space them out between
several homes, it would be a BIG help.

I’m putting their photos with an
adoption notice on the Clay Hill Clinic bulletin board, and on PetFinder and
Adopt-a-Pet. We’ll do the “Summer Kittens Sale” adoption of $25, like we did
last year, so that HOPEFULLY we can get all these kittens adopted. That adoption
fee will include flea/worm/etc. treatment so far, and spay/neuter; rabies
vaccinations will be up to their new owners. (Kandys, the new jugs of “De Flea”
shampoo are on the way to us by UPS and should arrive in a few days.)

*I feel compelled to add at the rate at which we are spending to get animals spayed and neutered and to take care of their feeding and medical needs, our humane society which operates our no-kill shelter is spending more than it is taking in. We could be broke in a couple of months and are looking at all avenues to save without shortchanging the animals. If anyone out there knows of good grants that help with day-to-day operating expenses and not just capital projects, please let me know. Or great fund-raising ideas or ANYTHING that could help, outside of the proverbial rich uncle dying and leaving us a small fortune* 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Hi, I’m Buddy and I wish you could see my cute perky spotted ears, but oh well–you CAN see my happy sunny smile! The Blonde Lady and Tall Man have said I can stay with them in a fur-ever home. Makes me want to jump for joy. Oh, I do that anyway . . .”

39 responses »

  1. Aww! How adorable. I’m so glad that all of the kittens were saved and that Buddy has a new family. I wish I could see the little ones, but I’m a little far away. I’m just remembering how I found my own little Buddy about a year ago in my parents Humane Shelter. God bless all of the folks who take the time to work with them.

    • Yes, you are quite a ways away. 😀 This dear little woman with her love for her furry family put a lump in my throat. Good for my cousin-in-law K for giving her that flat of canned cat food. And for A for going above and beyond to try and help this kitties. So glad you and your Buddy found each other. ((hugs))

  2. Sometimes we can’t help the shelters far away, but that doesn’t mean we can’t help the ones close by. I find the ones that need the most help are always the ones who are found in the rural areas. My heart aches for Miss G and all her “children.” I wish I were closer to help.

    • We are a rural county here–our largest town has less than 8,000 residents–and we have some of the best-hearted people in the world, but they don’t have a lot of worldly wealth. Miss G is one of them. We have saved hundreds of animals through local adoption and through transporting cats and dogs through rescue groups. And yes, there is almost always an agency close by you wherever you live that could use your support, monetarily, through volunteering efforts, or through donations of food, toys, old towels and blankets, bleach, and more. I will get off my soap box now. Thank you! 😀

      • We have a group of dedicated people who work and volunteer at our shelter. I don’t but I try to donate food, toys, and money. One of those ladies is the gifted teacher at our school. She often has the kids working on a project for the Shelter. It’s a wonderful way to teach the little ones to care about animals.

        • That’s great ! It’s so important to teach children concern for animal welfare when they are still young. I have never been able to volunteer at the animal shelter because I would end up wanting to take them all home. I am just too soft-hearted and I know others are the same. So we all do what we can to help out our furry friends. 😀

          • I feel the same way. God Bless the folks who go in a care for them. I just can’t go in there without getting upset about all of those animals without homes.

            • Thankfully, now that we have the no-kill shelter set up at my cousin’s pet boarding site, we’ve been able to save some of the animals that would have been euthanized at the city/county shelter. A lot of the shelter animals that don’t get adopted are also taken by rescue groups in other parts of the country. Sometimes they get flown to their new homes by Pilots n’ Paws!

          • I have never been able to for the same reason–I would want to bundle them all up and take them home with me. So I do what I can (which is how I wound up with 12 cats at one point)–because I can’t say no to those little faces.

  3. This so makes me wish we lived closer to your area so we could help–all of our cats are rescues, but they are all getting older and I’ve wished any number of times lately that we could afford to bring a kitten (or two) into the mix. Bless your little neighbor and her endeavors to keep her animals with her–many wishes that you find kind, loving homes for all the offspring.

    Buddy is adorable!

    • I wish you were closer, too–they are sweet little kittens. I find myself wanting to give that little Miss G a big old hug for her kindness to her furry friends.

      Oh, Buddy has wandered off somewhere since earlier this morning–I was going to get some more photos of him–and in looking for him I found a carcass down the road from here. I almost lost it because it was clearly a dog. I called Benny but he had seen it on the road earlier and says he is certain it isn’t Jack–a bigger dog and too decomposed to be him. I was on the verge of hyperventilating so I was glad to be able to be talked out of it. Now–if Buddy would just show back up . . . I get attached to them so quickly. *sigh*

      • I think all of us critter luvrs are the same–the photos of the kittens really got to me because they look so much like my BJ when he was found (after nearly being backed over with a car) and we’ve never been sure he would have survived the night had he not been found. As it turned out, his condition stunted his growth just a bit–but you would never know it to look at him now. Another kitten, slightly older, was also found with him–he was in better shape, but still not good–again, to look at him now, you would never guess. They’ve lived long, happy, healthy lives with me, but I never pet or look at either one without remembering that horrible, hot night in Chattanooga.

        • I am petting Thumper now–she was found by a Good Samaritan in a parking lot on a rainy day, sodden, struggling to get up after being attacked by a dog, split open stem to stern, her leg half-gnawed off, but not ready to give up. The vet amputated the leg and sewed her up, but didn’t feel very good about her chances. Someone nursed her back to health and then looked for a good home. And they contacted me. Fell in love the first time I saw her. She’s not been an easy cat at times, but so smart and very interesting. She’s only really started being openly affectionate in the last few years. Thumper Cat is one of a kind.

          It’s a blessing your kitties found a good loving home. ❤

          • It was always the same in those days–I’d find them or have them dumped on me (our house in Signal Mountain had a big deep ditch running parallel to the the yard right next to the road), take them home and clean them up with every intention of finding them good homes once they were back on their feet. They always found a home–mine. God bless them, every one.

            • Benny says that’s us, we always seem to keep them (although we did find homes for the puppies of a dog that showed up out of the blue and much to our surprise, had a litter under our house (she was this big, shaggy white dog and we couldn’t tell she was preggers under all the fur).

              • Something similar happened to my best friend in Tennessee–in the dead of winter, she and her beagle found a dog hiding beneath her house that had been terribly abused, so scared she wouldn’t come out. My friend put out food for her for a few days in a row and finally managed to coax her inside on a bitter cold night. The poor dog was pregnant and had all kinds of problems from the abuse she had undergone–but my friend got her fixed up and took her in and she lived a long and very happy life with Janice and her beagle, Robbie. Some stories do have happy endings.

  4. A lovely post, Angie, and one that gives me hope. As you know, I support a no-kill shelter in WA as best I can. Check out Meow Cat Rescue on the web for fundraising ideas. I am still heartsick and lonely for Lucky, hoping that he will come home.

    I sure hope that Buddy reappears pronto. And I’m glad that the carcass wasn’t Jack’s. You have had so much grief, it’s time you had some comfort and solace.

    • I thought others would appreciate this, too. And I do know about your support of the no-kill shelter. 😀 I know how much you miss your little boy and keep hoping for the best. *Hugs* I went out and looked and called a half hour ago but didn’t see anything of Buddy. I think the other two are hanging out at the farmhouse, as that’s where they came from earlier. Hoping he shows up a little later.

  5. Angie, it is so great what you do. As for the kittens, have you thought about going on facebook? I am assuming a kitten cam is out of the question. I have been a regular watcher of two cams and all of us watchers try to help out with donations for litter, food etc for the kittens. I could send you the link, so you’d be on everyone’s radar as well. I don’t know if this will work, but it might be worth a try.

    • Our humane society has a FB page and A just sent me a PDF file with photos of the little ones on it. I could ask A if she’d consider a kitten cam, too. And hey ya’ll Buddy’s back this afternoon! I got a little worried earlier. I think he was off having a sound sleep–and he doesn’t actually know his name yet, of course.

        • Yes, I was so happy and sort of overcome with emotion I was laughing and crying at the same time. I think he might have been sleeping soundly earlier and of course, he doesn’t know his name quite yet . . . anyway, he’s just as exuberant as ever. 😀

      • So glad to hear he’s back and okay (I was worried!) Also, if we wanted to send something to help out with the kittens, should we send it to you?

        • Yes, you certainly can, anything would be much appreciated. Our president is out of the country right now–on a “sentimental journey” to England and France–so I am taking care of some things for him. Checks should be made out to Butler County Humane Society and earmarked for “Godwin kittens.” All the mama cats were spayed, by the way, so Miss G and her furry girls can live in peace and harmony together without worrying about kittens.

      • Yay on Buddy being back. 🙂 Still no sign of Jack? Hopefully I just missed the news??

        As for the kittens: Another thing might be to open a wish list for the things needed most on Amazon, so people could have stuff sent directly to whoever cares for the kittens. Post the link to the wishlist on the facebook page. That’s how the kitten cam donations work.

        • Sadly, still no sign of Jack. Just having Buddy back safe and sound meant so much after all we’ve been through this week, though. He’s such a happy little dog. That’s a great idea about Amazon, too–thanks, Bryni! We also thought about getting some of our local businesses to let us set up grocery carts with a list of needed items like Clorox, paper towels, kitten and puppy food (we get a pretty good amount of broken bags of dog and cat food from local retailers, but rarely ever puppy and kitten food).

          • I am glad that Buddy is giving you joy. Any little bit helps. My fingers are still crossed for Jack and his safe return.

            The grocery cart idea sounds great. Hope it works. Maybe put up a cardboard sign with the story and some pictures beside the cart, so people know who and what it’s for. I find that people are much more inclined to help if they know the cause. And this would be something local, wouldn’t it? So that might weigh in as well.

      • Could you please give us the link your Humane Society Facebook page ? I found many Humane Society pages on Facebook and I don’t know which one it is. Thank you. :-9

  6. I got my rag doll Maine Coon from a shelter. It was not a No Kill shelter, but they did keep them as long as there was always room. I actually don’t know what I would do without her. Had a recent scare that turned out to be nothing. (She gets in fights with the cats outside) I fell in love with him the minute I saw her. But I avoid going to the shelter for just that reason. I’m not a crazy single cat lady yet, but I could see how it can happen. Cats may keep to their own, but when they do love it is genuine and isn’t always about “feed me”. I love dogs too, but there is no way I could keep them. I am the go-to-girlfriend who house and dog sits while friends travel. That’s enough dog time for me.

      • I’ve also been a dog walker/pet sitter at different times over the years–one of the jobs I’ve had that I actually loved.

        • I think I would find that enjoyable, too. We did some cat sitting for our upstairs neighbors when we lived in an apartment complex in Omaha before moving to a house.

    • Oh, I love Maine Coons! My sister and brother-in-law have had several, the regular, not the ragdoll kind. Beautiful, beautiful cats. I always feel as if I have quite accomplished something when I win over a cat. I remember my dad being so excited when our Smokie–who was very selective about just whom she bestowed her favors upon–begin jumping up in his lap when we visited them and curling up in his lap to settle down with a friendly squint and a purr. “Me and Smokie are friends now!” It was so cute.

Leave a Reply

