She’s my sweetie: A gal named Seabee

Standard

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This dog, who mysteriously appeared at our country home with her puppy one day, both of them underfed and ready to rely on the kindness of strangers, has completely won my heart.   Gentle, affectionate, lovely and loveable. That’s our Seabee.

She’s always been an attentive mother. I can only imagine what she’s been feeling in the week since Jack suddenly disappeared. You could chalk it up to my imagination, but I could swear I saw sadness and yearning in her eyes at times, and the question–“What happened to my boy?”

Oh, Seabee, I wish I knew.  All I can do is keep hoping and praying and doing my best to care for you, my beautiful canine companion. I ask you to bear with that boisterous cartoon dog Buddy and try to be patient. He looks up to you and his Uncle Rascal. And he has two wonderful role models in you–a true lady and gentleman of your species.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

17 responses »

  1. Seabee is truly a lovely girl. You know my thoughts are with you, wishing you joy of each other, solace, and hope.

      • Many thanks. Sunday morning here, cold and lonely. Cacophany of songbirds. Still no Lucky. Yesterday I felt silly as I walked around, asking construction workers and even the Guardia Civil if they had seen my cat, but I don’t care. I’ll make a little poster that a friend has agreed to print and put up where everyone in the village will see it.

        • You do what you have to do. He’s your boy. You know I wish you the best of luck. I think I am going to try to go back to sleep for a while. Fell asleep quite early for about five hours–I was barely coherent at that point–and woke up after midnight. Been watching some TV and surfing around on the computer. Snaffled a three-legged cat along the way and now she’s sprawled across my legs. It’s a bit warm for it right now but I appreciate the company. 😉

        • I’m so sorry about Lucky! I’m keeping good thought for all of you with missing animals. It makes my heart skip a beat. 😦

  2. Leigh – i didn’t realise Lucky was missing too. I’m so sorry.

    A lovely post, Angie. Seabee has such a kind face – i don’t blame you for falling in love with her. Hoping both Jack and Lucky come home soon.

    • Thank you, Bolly. Yes, I think our pets disappeared about two days apart. We’ve been trying to provide moral support for each other. Seabee does have a very kind face. Such soulful eyes, too. I fell for her and the boy so quickly.*sigh*

    • Thank you, Bollyknickers. Lucky ran away on Monday morning when I lost hold of his carrier, it fell, and the door sprang open. He has not been out of doors before, not since I adopted and weaned him. I have been looking for him, calling for him as I walk around with a tin of tuna in my pocket. I ask people if they have seen him, and one friend is willing to put up a flyer. There are so many hazards here in the countryside, I worry a lot; I can’t help it. I leave the downstairs window open, with food and water just inside, in the hope that he will come home.

    • I’m so sorry about Chi Chi. *sending hugs and passing the tissue box* You know when you need to do the right thing, but it is agony to lose someone you love. I’ve been though it, and practice does not make it any easier. Wishing you solace and comfort, Arkenstone.

      Thank you for your kind wishes for Seabee and Lucky.

  3. Poor Seabee! I wish I was there to give her a hug! She looks so sweet and gentle. All of these darling animals are such blessings and give us unconditional love! It’s heart breaking to hear of these sad stories. Buddy and I are sending love to all of the hurting people and animals — Seebee, Jack, Lucky, Chi Chi, Angie, Leigh, and Arkenstone!

    • She is a very sweet dog, altho she has snapped at Buddy several times–but I think under the circumstances it is understandable. He’s so energetic and full of beans and gets in her face a little too often. He means well, bless his heart. Benny said today maybe we should have named him “Exuberant.” 😉 Yes, the unconditional faithful love of our furry friends is a very special thing. Thank you, Laurie, for all your good wishes and heartfelt love.

  4. Poor baby–looking into her beautiful eyes just breaks my heart. I’m still hoping, for you and Benny and Seabee; also for Leigh and Lucky and for ChiChi and Arkenstone. I lost one back around Christmastime and he’d been ill for quite a while, but you’re never prepared.

Leave a Reply

