‘I got a Nikon camera, I love to take photographs . . .’

Standard

It’s packed away somewhere, that camera, my first “real” single-lens reflex, a gift to me from my parents for graduation. I took so many photos with that old Nikon, including tons of photos of my niece, Heather. She was my oldest sister’s first-born, coming into the world six weeks before I turned 17. I spent many, many hours with that child during school breaks and holidays, playing pretend games, plunking out tunes on the piano and singing to her, drawing pictures for her, reading her stories.  And taking her photo.

heathergrapevinesepia

Heather, intrigued by the scuppernong vine in her grandparents’ yard.

heathergrapevinecrop

Just had to crop in on that sweet little face.

heathercowcorner

Our  miniature Daisy Duke was fascinated by the cows. She tried to get bossy once or twice. “Hey, you cows–come here WIGHT NOW!” They paid little heed.

Heather Christmas 1982

A five-year-old niece is lots of fun at Christmas.

BeFunky_ASO_RAP.jpg

At age 10, Heather flew from Alabama with my sister and Mom to visit us in South Dakota. She was such a delight that summer–she’d get tuckered out, and then we’d arrive at a new destination and she’d perk up and be as excited as ever. Here we are in Reptile Gardens.

Angie & Heather c 1990

Me and the sweet child circa 1990.  I am so glad to have had those special times with her along with the Nikon (and Yashica and Canon and Minolta and Olympus) to document them along the way . . .

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

13 responses »

      • It’s ok, I’ve been once again using film cameras for several years now, you never know, it might be fun, as a matter of fact last week I did use a Nikon F 🙂

        • I am kind of an old-fashioned type at heart, it would be fun to go retro for a change. 😉 I worked for a newspaper 2000-2011 and early on we used film cameras,then switched to digital exclusively.

          • (I am still trying to convince you :D) you know the excitement you get when you get your roll finally developed, it’s like a mystery being unveiled, like unwrapping a Christmas present. Because most likely you wouldn’t remember what precisely you shot, not all 36 frames anyways 😀 Get off the computer chair and go find the camera, haha.

  1. Great shots, Angie. However, a friend of mine is a fine-arts photographer and she si lamenting that she cannot get Kodachrome anymore. She is having to learn digital photography, and even though she has a good digital camera, it is a trial to have to adjust to a completely new medium.

Leave a Reply

