What are you like in your dreams?

Standard

BeFunky_IMG_20130609_0002.png

What are you like in your dreams? What identity do you wear in your fantasies?  I am almost always younger, invariably thinner, and certainly more healthy. No FMS, no osteoarthritis, no constant aches and pains and weariness. No jiggly parts that shouldn’t jiggle or ever-increasing cellulite. Young enough and fit enough for adventures. Young enough to perhaps catch a certain TDHBEW’s eye . . .and then dazzle him with my wit and charm.

After all, a girl can dream . . .

angiecropdream

Me at 40 on my birthday cruise. Although in my dreams I am in my early 30s–pre knee woes, surgery, lots of PT and FMS, the age I was in the top photo (also on a birthday cruise, seven years earlier).

 

In my dreams  I dance with him, in a way I in my klutziness have never danced in real life, with grace and verve, spinning, skirts flying in the air, laughing merrily. I feel light as a feather instead of weighed down literally and figuratively by the burdens of RL.

I am funny; I make him laugh, too. Big, geeky belly laughs. He sounds so gorgeous when he laughs.

 

BExuo13CIAA-kqHdd

What are you like in your RA dreams? What identity do you wear?

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

26 responses »

  1. In my dreams, I’m 30ish, healthy, strong, slender, and limber, with good skin, good teeth, and the same colouring I have always had. My hair is usually auburn, cut in a shoulder-length bob. I can dance, I can run, I can ride, I can sing again, all that. I am unencumbered.

    Then I wake up and realize that was AU.

      • Curiously, in my dreams, I am usually wearing timeless clothes, rather than any current fashions. I wear the LBL, the trenchcoat, the red tango dress, the cobalt blue evening gown, the pale pink fortuny-pleated silk peignoir, the Chanel suit with the silk blouse, a Starfleet Consulting Corps uniform, or even black leather with my sword at my hip. **giggle**

  2. Interesting question, Angie! In my dreams I am much the same, personality wise. But yeah – like most people I give myself a rather more attractive outside. (And I hate myself for that… how superficial!)

    • I’m sure for me it’s partially an issue of getting older (53 in Sept) and feeling so frustrated with health issues and all this excess baggage I am carrying around. Remembering when I was younger and not beset by all this–and looked more acceptable by societal standards. I have a relative who continually reminds me I “used to look good.” Thanks a lot, old boy. :-/ And I love old movies . . . so imagining myself as a character in a black and white film is quite appealing at times. Escapism. *sigh* Personality-wise, yes, I am very much the same, perhaps a little more courageous in my dreams. I would love to make that man laugh aloud . . .

  3. I’m afraid I’m really boring: asleep dreams I’m just me – I very rarely remember my asleep dreams at the moment – haven’t for a couple of years (don’t get a lot of sleep so when I do i totally zonk out) As for daydreams, well, I’m still just me except I’m In Erebor… (and I’m not trying to be funny here – I really am!) I don’t really imagine myself any different. Is that weird?

    • No, but you are still a cute young thing. That might have something to do with it. 😀 In my unhappy dreams, I can’t tell you what I look like in some cases, because all I seem to be aware of are my many frustrations. I can’t get the door unlocked/ find the dog/finish the coursework and so forth. If I am aware of my appearance, it’s is an very negative way. Someone is making fun of how I look, my hair/teeth falling out, my makeup case has disappeared, you name it. 😉

  4. well that’s not very pleasant! In my awake life I could rattle of a whole list of things I don’t like about myself (height, moody nose, hair etc etc etc) but when I am imagining things or I’m dreaming my appearance and self esteem don’t really come into it. (and for the record I think you are gorgeous!)

    • Thanks, sweetheart. Maybe it’s something to do with menopause but the dreams have just gotten wackier in the last couple of years. Obviously I have a lot of underlying anxieties, NTM an overactive imagination. And looking at these old photos probably isn’t helping. Oh, man, some of the fashions and some of my hairdos . . . I need to do a post on that! LOL

  5. I’m like Guylty. I’m pretty much myself. I must lack imagination. Then again, I don’t usually have dreams of Armitage that leave me feeling euphoric 🙂

  6. It depends on what I eat before I go to sleep. If I eat a Look candy bar I dream that it’s me and Mr. Thornton in Milton and Margaret is off somewhere with Henry. I can visualize the whole 1857s clothing and all. No mamas either. If I eat nuts, I spy with the spy guy. If I eat a Big Hunk…well, let’s just say there’s a whole lot of wiggling going on and not a lot of period clothing to get in the way. Although we do use the pelt if you catch my drift. Sword play, there is sword play, not Orcrist, either, silly. I gotta go check my Big Hunk stash now.

  7. Mine are mostly more real life–snuggling in front of a Christmas tree with twinkling lights and a fireplace while watching a Christmas movie (knowing me, probably “The Muppet Christmas Carol”–or maybe “The Bishop’s Wife”) while snow falls outside under a full moon. Listening as deep rich bells ring out across a country valley,then sitting on the floor near the fireplace to open gifts before we go to bed. I never really get as far as choosing the gifts–I think I’m far too busy watching Richard and waiting for the smile.

  8. I forgot–I think I look pretty much like the younger me (maybe in my 30’s) when I was thinner, before I wore glasses, my hair hadn’t grayed much yet, and I was still cute.

  9. Dreams or lack of them that I remember. We all dream, but I don’t remember them and when I do there just weird. I dream about work and just did over the weekend, nothing great just work and I am off for the next 11 weeks.

    Last summer I did have a nightmare, I dreamed that my arm was in the mouth of a snake (I HATE SNAKES) I woke up with my heart pounding so hard it was up by my neck. My husband had maybe been to sleep for a couple hours (in the summer he works different hours 12 hours on 12 hours off) and I didn’t want to wake him in case he could not get back to sleep, but boy was I scared.

    When I remember my dreams I am the same age and look the same. A couple years ago I even watched a show on PBS about dreams to try and figure out my lack of dreams, I learned nothing to help me. Maybe because my husband is an active dreamer I don’t remember much.

  10. *phew* Fedoralady, you were gorgeous in your 30s and 40s, and according to the self-portrait pic you posted a little while ago, you still are. The health problems sound miserable, but here’s hoping they will be resolved one day and then you can enjoy both good health and beauty unto eternity! Yours looks like the sort of face that will stay stubbornly, gloriously young!
    How do *I* look in my dreams? Like my leaping, dancing, mini-skirted 30-y-o self but with my 35-y-o self’s remarkable power over men. (The latter lasted a very,very short time, an infinitesimal blip, actually, and too brief for me to make much use of … but I am grateful that I had it!)

  11. In my dreams of RA I’m the same age as now (a few weeks shy of 40) but I don’t have a weak chin! I’m a little fitter, so less jiggly bits! Essentially I’m the same me but I’m actually able to talk to him, dazzle him with my wit and unique intelligence! I’m not clumsy as hell and I certainly don’t have tons of food allergies. And of course, most importantly, in my dreams, he loves me, the real me, the me I am when I’m not dreaming!

Leave a Reply

