My Mona Lisa Cat

Standard

BeFunky_null_1bwginger.jpg

BeFunky_gingerwindowlarger.jpg

This is Ginger, the funny, clever, energetic, charming tabby that showed up with her sister, Mary Ann, at the door to our Dayton townhouse one raw November night. It was windy and bitingly cold and the snow was beginning to fall. We invited the two kittens inside and they became part of the family.

Ginger lived to be nearly 2o, and over her lifetime shared our homes in three different states, proving to be an amazingly good traveler for a feline. This photo was taken with my old Yashica film camera at my in-laws’ house, where I discovered Ginger sitting in the window of the guest bedroom. It was a perfect “Kodak moment.”

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

21 responses »

    • Thanks! I enlarged it when I got the film developed and saw how well it turned out, and then matted and framed it to hang with some of my other photos and drawings in our living room. I love a good ol’ striped tabby cat. There are plenty of them out there, but I love that “classic” cat look. 😀

      • Are Tom is known as Handsome, Pretty Kitty. Tim Tom, Stripes and many more names. He maybe just a tabby but a very handsome one, and I think he knows it too. I love when he smiles, it is so cute. Now his brother BlackJack has a couple stops of white, hates his brother, loves to fight with anything. Under all that is a sweet kitty when he wants to be, can be moody. He reminds me of Sir Guy.

  1. What a wonderful picture of a beautiful cat. I´ve got two cats myself, they´re old ladies now (13 and 15 years old), but still fit. Hopefully they´ll have some more healthy years of life.

    • Ute, the great thing about cats is if they don’t develop some serious illness along the way there is a good chance they will live well into their teens (indoor cats, at least). Our FIL’s cat, Lucky, inherited from Benny’s dad, must have been close to 20 when he peacefully passed away one night. And thank you! 😀

      • You´are so right, fedoralay. But sometimes the problem is,they´re all around me (the life living cats) the whole night don´t let me sleep, like little babies. But I love your post, and it´s no longer belonging to this thread, but I`ve become a proud grandmother of baby “Emma Charlotte”, so be calm with.

        Seems I´ve totally missed the thread. It´s all okay right nowö

  2. And what a brilliant photo. Angie. Very well taken, very nicely composed. And released at just the right moment. The b/w version has much more impact than the colour one imho. Gorgeous! PS: I have a couple of cats, too, but they tend not to humour me with holding still for a picture 😉

    • Oh, thank you, Guylty! That really means a great deal coming from you. I was so fortunate to be in the right place at the right time. I think you are right about the B&W version. This is the first time I got to play with the image and I had great fun. Ginger used to pose in these wonderful poses that made us call her “the cat Bastet”–very regal and worthy of worship. And she could be equally silly. Such a love. 😉

  3. I love the Kitures! I didn’t get to have cats until I left home. Now I never have less than 2. Mom didn’t like them. Now she can’t function properly unless ChiChi is on her lap. ChiChi is going great on the meds by the by. Mona Lisa reminds me of the one replaced by ChiChi, Priscilla, the Transilvanian Princess (she loved to nip on you while you petted her, never hard, just love nips). —- You’re a great photog!!! Ever thought about getting in the business—hahahahaha….

    • 😀 We didn’t have indoor cats (or animals at all) growing up and my parents didn’t like having too many outdoor cats as they had a tendency to dig into the poultry houses . . . our main source of income. Once you get used to having them, though, the darned things can be addictive. 😉 Thanks, I have found keeping a camera close at hand and ready to go to offer you some great photographic moments, 😀

  4. It’s all been said before, but I’ll add my 2 cents. What a delightful picture of a gorgeous kitty! I love to look back and reminisce about old family members. Animals provide us with so much while they’re alive and many memories when they’ve gone.

    • You are so right, Laurie, all the comfort, companionship and fun they offer stays with us even after they’ve left us for pet heaven. I am glad you liked the photo. I swear my sweet Ginger is smiling from perky ear to perky ear up in cat heaven over all this praise. 😀

  5. What a beauty! My tabby Ziggy is 18 now but still in pretty good shape. He’s gorgeous but doesn’t have that delicate face Ginger had…

Leave a Reply

