Just had to share this with y’all.

Standard
943247_10151681633711005_538188820_n
This turned up on Facebook today–a posting originally made by one of the dog rescues our humane society works with to find families for homeless animals here in the county. This is my wonderful cousin by marriage to whom I have referred to in the past, and her equally wonderful assistant Tommy. And yes, they are definitely people who make a difference. God bless them!
**PEOPLE WHO MAKE A DIFFERENCE** I met Tommy when I was in Alabama. He helps Kandys with our dogs who are boarded at her facility. Tommy goes above and beyond f.or our homeless dogs (and cats). He puts in so many extra hours of overtime UNPAID! He does this because of his love for the dogs. He interacts with them which helps me write bios for petfinder. Tommy became particularly attached to this poor mangey american bulldog named, Petey. Petey was incredibly itchy. Tommy would take care of him. Although Tommy was sad to see Petey go into rescue, he still keeps in touch with his whereabouts. My favorite thing about Tommy is watching and listening to him interact with the dogs. He talks to them conversationally while he cleans their kennels. He’s just such a natural. People like Tommy are hard to come by, and we are so grateful for everything he does for the dogs.

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

10 responses »

    • Feeling sort of beat up. Not only feeling the repercussions of last night’s fall, but we’ve got a good chance of stormy weather today, so the barometric pressure is playing havoc with me, too. Thanks so much, my friend. 😀 I appreciate it.

    • Thank you. 😀 Kandys was the “K” I referred to who had been hurt badly by some comments made by another person involved in animal rescue and transport. Kandys is truly one of the kindest, most giving and tender-hearted individuals I have ever known–a regular earth mother–so it broke my heart to see her cry over that incident. Fortunately things have been patched up. We all have to remind ourselves we are doing this for the animals and get our personalities out of the way from time to time. And remember to overlook the difficult people as much as possible. 😉

    • I finally got to meet Tommy at our last meeting and he’s just a darling. His size and strength make him invaluable in handling the larger animals, and his loving nature obviously brings something really special to our no-kill shelter. As they said, you don’t find folks like Tommy lurking around every corner.

  1. That’s great! Thanks for sharing. I just took Buddy to the vet. He has a fever and a swollen ear. He said he has allergies. My vet is one of those people who cares about animals, too. He’s so gentle with them! Our world needs people like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

