Yep. It’s warm & fuzzy time. Hope you don’t mind . . .

Standard

I am feeling all warm and fuzzy at present. I got that lovely message from Samm, our Make-A-Wish girl (in case you missed it when I posted it in comments, here it is, right below Samm’s photo):

photo from tumblr courtesy of DJ at Heirs of Durin

photo from tumblr courtesy of DJ at Heirs of Durin

I just wanted to stop by and thank you so much for your beautiful article. It warmed my heart beyond belief. I can’t even begin to form words to thank you and the kind people who commented on it. i am beyond words, you have brought my spirits up so much, I know I sound like a broken record, but thank you. 

 
~Samm 
Yep, I cried again. What can I say? I am a big, sappy, sentimental puddle of goo when it comes to stuff like this.
It’s been kind of tough around here the last several days–day after day of rain, hour after hour of steady drizzle with intermittent downpours and some pounding thunderstorms. It’s left us with soggy ground, lots of puddles, half-flooded roads and a raucous cacophony of frogs croaking outside our windows and patio door.  Haven’t slept well, catching ZZZs whenever I could, the FMS making things uncomfortable much of the time.  A sort of grey drizzle seemed to seep into and settle in my psyche.
 Finally saw some sunshine break through the layers of clouds in the sky today and hardly knew what to do with myself. So I took a walk. I almost felt as if I was escaping prison!  Free! Free at last!
 (What is that on the band on my hat? Did one of Radagast’s birds poo on me? Hmmmm . . .)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The world is green here. Our road on my return trek to the house.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I could imagine the couple below walking along it, hand in hand . . . just enjoying the outdoors and the joy of being in one another’s company.
harrygerribloomKVJa1E1g_1343722310
Which reminds me of another couple I happen to know . . . who happen to like each other an awful lot.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And speaking of blooms, I found various flowers growing wild along the side of the road on a recent walk (devant le deluge)  and gathered them for a small bouquet on my kitchen windowsill.
I liked it so much I had to photograph the flowers and then play with the images in editing. That little bundle of flowers gave me a lot of pleasure.
BeFunky_P7037938.jpg
And these thoughts have all gelled to remind me that this maxim is, quite often, true:
1045218_544277875629947_1155595083_n
And today I did some of these things–studied the clouds,  talked with a friend on the phone and not just Facebook,
made my own music by singing aloud in a robust soprano as I walked, luxuriated in a delicious-smelling spa soap in a relaxing shower, played with my cat, and yes, took a nice long nap . . .  none of which cost me a thing except time and attention and the willingness to simply–be.
angiesign
Thank you, Mother Nature, friends, my darling husband, music, books,sleep, all the things which give me pleasure and lift my spirits and remind me not to give up.
And thank you also to the lovely man who has given me immeasurable enjoyment over the past six years  . . .
403331533
Uhm–hmmmm.  In his various and sundry incarnations . . .
582066_362094553891761_855806846_n
Casualty-35edit
BeFunky_11
4u (4)[portah
ns4-332romanticdagg
Thank you, RA.  You darling, lovely, adorable man, you. Told you I was in a warm and fuzzy mood, didn’t I?
998139_586525691379244_1235931447_n

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

6 responses »

  1. Litttle Samm is just as cute as she can be. I pray she’s ok for a long time. As for your squeeze toy, he’s a keeper!!! Then there’s him. It doesn’t matter what character he’s in, there is something special about all of them. I think “OH! He’s my favorite!, NO, he’s my favorite…” I finally decided, of all the characters that RA has played….He’s my favorite.

  2. I’ve given up trying to choose a favorite, it just can’t be done. Thanks, Angie, for the great reminders about things we tend to forget when we’re feeling low (obviously NOT Richard) and passing on the lovely note from Samm. I hope she keeps in touch–I’d like to know how she’s doing from time to time.

  3. Aw. Nice, happy pic of you and hubs, Angie!!! Oh, and I lalalalalove that pic of RA with the fans. Never seen that before – how adorable, the enthusiasm of the girl, and RA happily going along with it. So sweet. As for Samm – total darling. The fact that she replied to all those messages individually says it all. I am getting a bit mushy here – much against my usual cynical self – but in her case, I can say for sure that all the goodness she has sent out will come back to her manifold. And well-deserved.

Leave a Reply

