Thorin Thursday: Thorin Goodness from Around the Globe

Standard

1001320_590908474274299_1086769209_n

Unfinished artwork by Bohemian Weasel

Unfinished artwork by Bohemian Weasel

1045081_659293790750839_1808054508_nThe dwarves as minions as seen in the “Despicable M”e films. Thorin cracks me up every time I look at him. Even as a minion, he’s fierce.

Courtesy of the evil pickle at tumblr. A proud uncle holding his baby nephew. Awwww.

Courtesy of the evil pickle at tumblr. A proud uncle holding his baby nephew. Awwww.

Not sure to whom we should attribute the brawny half-naked Thorin, But I thought you might enjoy him.;)

Not sure to whom we should attribute the brawny half-naked Thorin, But I thought you might enjoy him.;)

Pardon my French, but it IS funny. ;)

Pardon my French, but it IS funny. πŸ˜‰

What if Thorin texted??

What if Thorin texted??

BeFunky_loonapix_13640511842198169932.jpg

The mighty smithy. . . is mighty hot.

The mighty smithy. . . is mighty hot.

Just some things I’ve gleaned from FB and one or two of my own.Β Hope you will get some chuckles (and perhaps a few sighs) from the collection!

About fedoralady

I'm an LA native--Lower Alabama, that is. My husband of more than 30 years and I live here on a portion of my family's former farm with two gorgeous calicos and a handsome GSD mix. My background is art education, and over the years I've been a teacher, department store photographer, sales associate and a journalist. My husband, his business partner and I have Pecan Ridge Productions, a video production company, for which I shoot & edit video and stills and manage marketing. I also still write part-time for the local paper. I love movies, music, art, photography and books, and my tastes in all of them are eclectic.

60 responses »

  1. Thank you very much, fedoralady for this fantastic Thorin Thursday post. IΒ΄m still *lol* *lol* about the dwarves as minions. You really make my day. Am I allowed to share this pic on FB?

      • Just got the excellent news about the reprint of “Staged” and do NOT want to miss out again–do you still have the email address or regular address you used to order your copy? I never received any responses to the emails I sent out before, so am not sure I had the right contact info.

          • I emailed Angie, too, hoping she still has it somewhere; I also went ahead and emailed it to the address I had before in case it was the right one but they just weren’t responding after the discs sold out. I’ve had other people tell me that it’s on this website or that website, but have been unable to track it down.

              • Inundated could be a good thing, maybe they’ll print a whole bunch this time. Hey, if there’s a market (which there obviously is), why not?

                A note of interest: I just found out the other day that there is a second version of “North and South” starring Patrick Stewart out on dvd. There was no year listed, and as we all know, there is only ONE John Thornton, so this was a complete surprise to me. It was listed for sale in the new issue of the Acorn catalog.

              • Yes, April73 has a copy of it and says she is enjoying it. It was made back in the mid-70s by the BBC. Obviously didn’t cause the stir that Richard’s version did or surely we’d have heard much more about it years ago. I knew there was a previous version with PatStew but it was not available until now.

              • I get the Acorn catalog all the time and this was the first time I’d seen it in there, so it must just have been released. Wow, 1975–no wonder I hadn’t heard of it.

              • I think because of the stir RA is making there might be a bit of a “hop on for the ride.” Advertise “North and South” someone buys it (not paying attention) thinking it’s RA and is a bit shocked to find PS staring out at them…not that I would mind after a bit, but still…

              • I suspect that certainly didn’t hurt things. πŸ˜‰ Actually, the way the photo is set up on the front of the DVD jacket is very similar to RA version–Patrick as JT looking stern and sober in the foreground and Margaret in the background, albeit not wearing a hat and facing in opposite direction. There are three reviews at Amazon for 75 version, one 4-star and two 5-star reviews.

              • You have a point there–hadn’t even thought of that. And the cover art on the PS version is almost identical to the cover art on the later version, which now makes me wonder if they did it on purpose since apparently it’s never been available on dvd before.

              • I’ve watched the 4 episodes of “North and South” 1975 with Patrick Stewart yesterday. Finished at 1:00 am in the morning, lol.

                I love this version too. Patrick Stewart is a great Mr Thornton. πŸ™‚

              • But he (and the actor who played Higgins) speaks fast, to fast, lol. I didn’t understand everything.

                Fortunately, they were English subtitles. πŸ™‚

              • They offer different versions depending on where you live, I think, Stephanie. You wouldn’t need the subtitled version. πŸ˜‰ April is in Switzerland, I think, if I have my facts straight.

              • Should have thought of that, but this is what I get for trying to communicate at this hour of the morning after being awakened at 3 AM by a huge thunderboomer complete with torrential downpour (I have a metal awning outside my bedroom window, so when it rains really hard, it sounds like Ricky Ricardo is out there beating his conga drum). I may watch it sometime–but after being so totally mesmerized by Richard’s Thornton, I don’t know about seeing someone else in the role. I like Stewart, but he’s never been one of my major favorites.

              • My sympathies. I haven’t been able to sleep at all, too much on my mind. It’s actually NOT raining here right now, which is a rarity of late. I got caught in one of those torrential thunderboomers Wednesday going to town. I really had limited visibility and could feel my whole body tensing up like crazy . . . don’t like driving in the rain at all. Hydroplaned on a bridge once and that’s what wrecked my knee initially. 😦

              • Youch–I was going home from work at 2 AM once after a snow-and-ice storm (my boss refused to close in spite of the horrible weather), hit some black ice and slid into a curb–the only thing that saved me was the fact that it was so late and so awful outside. Unfortunately, then I had to crawl up an almost perpendicular hill almost on my hands and knees to get to my house–normally a five minute walk took me almost 45 minutes because of the ice. Needless to say (probably), I called in the next day.

              • It’s right, I come from Switzerland.

                I’ve buy the UK dvd of “North and South” 1975. The dvd has English subtitles, but you can put them on “off” if you prefer when watching the serie. πŸ˜‰

              • Wow, I’m shocked! I’ve already received a response from the producer’s assistant–so excited, I can hardly sit still! Thanks again, Angie–looks like I will get a copy this time.

            • I”ve always like PS. He’s one of those handsome bald guys. I loved him in ST-NG and He’s my favorite Scrooge. His is always the first of the 25 or more Christmas Carols I watch, just before the Muppets’ one. I think he has one of those “give me tingles” voices. However, and it’s a big however, there are no PS pictures running through the screen savers on the Arkie PC, never has been…

              • I’ve always liked him, too. LOVED him as Captain Picard. He’s got an amazing voice, as well and yes, he is a man who carries his baldness very well. But no, no PS pics on my computer, either.

              • I think my favorite Scrooge, other than Michael Caine in the Muppet version, is George C.Scott from the gorgeous tv movie version that was done back in the 70’s (I think). Another one I watch without fail every year.

Leave a Reply

